We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally clean & friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera Blu

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riviera Blu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riviera Blu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale del Tirreno, 15 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Tirrenia
San Bruno, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceptionally clean & friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Riviera Blu across from many beach amenities and close to lovely and interesting Pisa. The property was of a high caliber and meticulously clean. The rooms and baths were spacious and most comfortable. We especially enjoyed breakfast in a charming dining room where the bread and meats were so appetizing and fresh. Our vehicle from Hertz Italia was negligently not filled with petrol. The owner of the Hotel Blu came out and took a photo of the petrol gauge to show that we had just received it empty and only barely made it to the hotel. He then sent this photo to the airport Hertz to a friend that he knew. The place just has a nice feel about it. Many thanks, we will come again. Tom & Nuala D.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Proprietario at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,
I just read your review and am so pleased that your stay in our hotel was nice. We do our best to make you feel at home and help out in all kind of tourists disadventures (like yours with the petrol).
I hope you managed to sort it out. I really look forward to have you back al Riviera Blu.
thanks again
My warmest regards
Cristiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    63
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
77
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hotel is very nice. Absolutely spotless when it comes to cleanliness.
The owner and his son are friend;y and very helpful. It is close to the Beach and center of Tirrenia. You can use a bike from the Hotel and that is very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Proprietario at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for spending time inserting your nice and so appreciated review!
It's so satisfying to receive reviews like yours, hope to have you back.
Best regards
Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After touring the usual Northern cities it was lovely to use this wee hotel for a chill out by the Med.
The three of us ( husband, wife and 21 year old son) thought that this cheap hotel fitted the bill perfectly. Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, bar prices were very acceptable e.g. brandy, Laphroaig and a cappuccino 8.50 euros., and breakfast was also very good with endless coffee and reasonable selection of meats and sweets etc
The hotel is opposite numerous bagnos across the road.
The owners had used all the space available on a small site to provide parking, outside tables and a small bar and lounge area.
The real plus is that every area is spotlessly clean and tidy.
The air conditioning was effective and most importantly quiet!

Room Tip: Rooms at rear do not have balconies but are probably quieter although in June traffic noise was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Direttore at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Antonio
thank you very much for your nice review,
Receiving reviews like yours makes me so pleased, we put a lot of passion and energy in what we do so people like you make everything feel so WORTHWHILE!
thanks again and hope to see you soon
Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel is located on the coast road just North of Tirrenia. It is surrounded by its own small but well maintained garden and other large private properties. If you are looking for sea views you will be disappointed. The road itself is quite noisy during the day but reasonably quiet at night. Opposite are a series of entrances to different privately owned beach facilities. At the nearest (Paradiso), hotel guests can enjoy a 16% discount on food and beverages if they present a discount card available from the hotel reception.

The rooms are relatively basic and the bathroom facilities a little dated but, as other reviews mention, the hotel really is spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent: plenty of choice in a spacious dining room (which unusually has a table pre-allocated for each room).

The hotel was notably quiet with only a few rooms occupied when we stayed (midweek in early June). Other guests seemed to be business travellers more than tourists. The beach was also pretty much deserted (but covered with many thousands of parasols). I guess a weekend in July/ August would be an entirely different experience!

Room Tip: Our room (202) seemed to be a good choice as it only caught early morning and late evening sunshine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Proprietario at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for spending time and writing your nice review.
We always try to do the best we can to satisfy our clients.
Warm regards.
Cristiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

For us, this location was perfect at the end of a trip in which we'd already visited Venice and Florence. Here we wanted to see the Leaning Tower and just chill on the beach with young (teenage) kids. Less touristy, the bus was right outside the hotel, the beach a short walk. Owners really helpful - a family-run place, and they looked after us great. Lent us bikes to ride into Tirrenia for meals, very approachable. Facilities immaculately clean. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Proprietario at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Client
first of all i want to thank you for your nice review, for us it is always a pleasure to look after our clients and make sure that their stay is more than comfortable.
I hope too have you hear again as our guests,
thank you again, take care.
Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This hotel is 12km from Pisa. We booked it believing it was in Pisa, or in a close-by surburban zone, and made the mistake of not checking on the map to find out exactly where it was. Our bad. The proprietor refused to cancel our booking so we were obliged to stay or lose 50Eur.
That said, this is a very basic hotel. Our room was so small, if you put your bag on the floor you could no longer get round the bed, if you open the bathroom door, you could no longer get round the bed... you get the idea. The bathroom was clean but the towels were those Italian table cloths and tea towels. Not that pleasant when you come out of the shower really.
There was no restaurant available for the evening. We had wanted to eat out in Pisa, but being on a motorbike, we didn't want to trek back 12km into town along unlit country roads in the chilly winter weather. We were recommended somewhere a good walk away which turned out to be excellent. The only excellent point of our stay in fact.
The breakfast was extra, and definitely average, made up of industrial pastries with a platter of meat and cheese, and yoghurt.
It wasn't so cheap that it didn't matter. At 62Eur without breakfast, it was definitely overpriced, especially out of season.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Owner at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Client
first of all we want to kindly inform you that our clients considerations are always welcome because we think that they are useful
to improve where it is possible.
In respect of your review we would like to respond as follows:
at your check in, after receiving the request for cancellation at 6 pm, our receptionist could not do better than offer a discount for cancellation (€ 50.00 instead of € 63.00). Your answer at this proposal was to stay overnight at €50.
This is not 'correct' especially towards the other customers of the hotel.
However booking a hotel in an unwanted position was not your only mistake.
At your check out you were suprised that with the price you booked did not include breakfast.
After this further disappointment 'maybe 'you forgot you had fresh pastries and home made cakes and so on....
a wise suggestion if you allow me, next time pay more attention before making a booking, instead of feeling free to criticize
a structure just because you are not allowed to do what you want.
Kind regards.
Cristiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcugnano, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here only because we were coming in from out of town for a dinner at a restaurant in the center of Tirrenia which worked out to be about 1600 meters down the road.

Do NOT stay here if you think this is Pisa. I haven't figured out why their web page has pictures of the Tuscan countryside and the leaning tower. You are at least a 15 minute drive to central Pisa.

This hotel is perfect for access to the beaches which are directly across the street. Also perfect for avoiding the noise in central Tirrenia, as this hotel is a bit removed from the party atmosphere in the summer, and the cluster of restaurants.

Rooms are comfortable and clean with big windows and shutters that can block out all the light if necessary. Color scheme is blue, which I suppose goes with the name. Bathrooms are spartan, but have everything you need. This isn't a design hotel with posh euro furnishings. You'll get a clean comfortable room and a good night's sleep, which is exactly what we were expecting, and what we paid for.

We didn't pay for breakfast in the rate, so we can't review that service. However we were pleasantly surprised to be offered coffee in the morning at checkout, expertly prepared by our host.

Room Tip: request a room on the back side of the hotel to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Owner at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind review. I would like to point out the advantage of our location..we are inside the district of Pisa that is why we have the tower in our logo and the reason of photos of the tuscan countryside (Chiantishire) are on the web because , thanks to our strategic position, can be reached in only 30 min.
I hope ti have you back as our guest soon,
Best regards
Cristano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riviera Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera Blu

Address: Viale del Tirreno, 15 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera Blu 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Blu is a modern 3* hotel, recently refurbished. A new management that assures a warm welcoming in a friendly and familiar atmosphere. Our main priorities are: kindness, clean and comfortable rooms, efficient service.Our hotel is a small building, in which we have invested more than ever, to create a place where you can feel at home. The hotel is located in a small village near the sea called TIRRENIA, only 11 km from PISA.Here you can enjoy our mild Mediterranean climate.We are inside Migliarino San Rossore Massaciucoli Natural Park, here you can find peace and quietness for your relax.A good reason to choose our hotel is also because of our strategic location, you can reach the centre of Pisa in only 15 min by car or 30 min by bus, there are bustops to Pisa and Livorno at only a few metres distance.We have a private carpark inside the hotel, but you can also park outside on the street in front.This is also an advantage compared to the difficulty of the city center where the few car parks are pay and display.From our hotel you can easily reach many other places in Tuscany.We have a shuttle service for arrivals and departures to/from Pisa Airport and Train station and also to/from Livorno train station and port. This service has to be requested in advance and is available every day from 8:00 am to 00:00 am.Free WI-FI coverage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Riviera Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Blu Hotel
Riviera Blu Tirrenia
Hotel Riviera Blu Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riviera Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.