We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for young families wanting to chill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera Blu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riviera Blu to your Saves list
Hotel Riviera Blu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale del Tirreno, 15 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tirrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for young families wanting to chill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

For us, this location was perfect at the end of a trip in which we'd already visited Venice and Florence. Here we wanted to see the Leaning Tower and just chill on the beach with young (teenage) kids. Less touristy, the bus was right outside the hotel, the beach a short walk. Owners really helpful - a family-run place, and they looked after us great. Lent us bikes to ride into Tirrenia for meals, very approachable. Facilities immaculately clean. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Proprietario at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Client
first of all i want to thank you for your nice review, for us it is always a pleasure to look after our clients and make sure that their stay is more than comfortable.
I hope too have you hear again as our guests,
thank you again, take care.
Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    75
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
50
90
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This hotel is 12km from Pisa. We booked it believing it was in Pisa, or in a close-by surburban zone, and made the mistake of not checking on the map to find out exactly where it was. Our bad. The proprietor refused to cancel our booking so we were obliged to stay or lose 50Eur.
That said, this is a very basic hotel. Our room was so small, if you put your bag on the floor you could no longer get round the bed, if you open the bathroom door, you could no longer get round the bed... you get the idea. The bathroom was clean but the towels were those Italian table cloths and tea towels. Not that pleasant when you come out of the shower really.
There was no restaurant available for the evening. We had wanted to eat out in Pisa, but being on a motorbike, we didn't want to trek back 12km into town along unlit country roads in the chilly winter weather. We were recommended somewhere a good walk away which turned out to be excellent. The only excellent point of our stay in fact.
The breakfast was extra, and definitely average, made up of industrial pastries with a platter of meat and cheese, and yoghurt.
It wasn't so cheap that it didn't matter. At 62Eur without breakfast, it was definitely overpriced, especially out of season.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Owner at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Client
first of all we want to kindly inform you that our clients considerations are always welcome because we think that they are useful
to improve where it is possible.
In respect of your review we would like to respond as follows:
at your check in, after receiving the request for cancellation at 6 pm, our receptionist could not do better than offer a discount for cancellation (€ 50.00 instead of € 63.00). Your answer at this proposal was to stay overnight at €50.
This is not 'correct' especially towards the other customers of the hotel.
However booking a hotel in an unwanted position was not your only mistake.
At your check out you were suprised that with the price you booked did not include breakfast.
After this further disappointment 'maybe 'you forgot you had fresh pastries and home made cakes and so on....
a wise suggestion if you allow me, next time pay more attention before making a booking, instead of feeling free to criticize
a structure just because you are not allowed to do what you want.
Kind regards.
Cristiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcugnano, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here only because we were coming in from out of town for a dinner at a restaurant in the center of Tirrenia which worked out to be about 1600 meters down the road.

Do NOT stay here if you think this is Pisa. I haven't figured out why their web page has pictures of the Tuscan countryside and the leaning tower. You are at least a 15 minute drive to central Pisa.

This hotel is perfect for access to the beaches which are directly across the street. Also perfect for avoiding the noise in central Tirrenia, as this hotel is a bit removed from the party atmosphere in the summer, and the cluster of restaurants.

Rooms are comfortable and clean with big windows and shutters that can block out all the light if necessary. Color scheme is blue, which I suppose goes with the name. Bathrooms are spartan, but have everything you need. This isn't a design hotel with posh euro furnishings. You'll get a clean comfortable room and a good night's sleep, which is exactly what we were expecting, and what we paid for.

We didn't pay for breakfast in the rate, so we can't review that service. However we were pleasantly surprised to be offered coffee in the morning at checkout, expertly prepared by our host.

Room Tip: request a room on the back side of the hotel to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Owner at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind review. I would like to point out the advantage of our location..we are inside the district of Pisa that is why we have the tower in our logo and the reason of photos of the tuscan countryside (Chiantishire) are on the web because , thanks to our strategic position, can be reached in only 30 min.
I hope ti have you back as our guest soon,
Best regards
Cristano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cudgen
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is approx 13 Klm from Pisa. As we were there in October, it as very quiet, so if looking for rest and quiet, can highly recommend this hotel. Not much to do here in the quiet months, we went for a swim and the sea temp was about 21 degrees. Very weak wifi in the room, but fine in the downstairs lounge. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast is continental only, with good choice . I must admit I missed a good fried egg and bacon breakfast. Staff always helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Owner at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest
thank you for leaving your review.
I'm sorry about the poor wi-fi signal during your stay, but in that time there was a problem with the router wireless.
This service is mainly for the bedrooms.
If you come back to our hotel we will be pleased to provide you your special ' egg and bacon'.
Thanks again.
Kind regards.
Cristiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Beautiful place with warm family like atmosphere and good friendly staff
Interiors are decorated with love and good taste
Very nice terrace to have a cup of coffee with cigar on evening
Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Owner at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for taking time in writing a review on our hotel.
Your feedbacks are very appreciated and valuable to us.
Hope to welcome you soon in our hotel,
kind regards.
Cristiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

When a flight cancellation causes an unexpected delay in our trip home, we had the opportunity to spend one night here! The owner and his family were very gracious and welcoming! The hotel is immaculately clean and has very beautiful grounds. While the room and bathroom were small, they were very clean and comfortable. There is also a lovely patio to enjoy an afternoon tea. And the breakfast was exceptional with fresh baked croissants and other pastries, as well as an excellent selection of sliced meats, cheeses, fruit, boiled eggs, etc. The only negative was the distance to downtown. We did not have a car, but I understand that normally there is regular bus service (just not during our stay due to transportation workers strike)! Molto bene!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Owner at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your pleasant review, i'm sorry you found bus strike that very day!!
usually there is an efficient bus service both to Pisa and Livorno (every 30 min).
I hope to have you back as our guest.
take care
Kind regards
Michela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pokane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a lovely, quiet, exceptionaly clean and friendly hotel. This was our second stay and we will go back as often as possible. Parking is so convient. The staff is wonderful and so very helpful. Breakfast is outstanding. the garden and outdoor patio is perfect for a break, drink or for eating. The beach is accross the street and just a twenty minute walk to the center of town. We have looked at many hotels in this area and The Rivivera Blu tops them all. Trully and wonderful place. Close to Pisa, Florence,Cinque terra and many more beautiful sights. rooms are so nicely decortated and inviting.
Rosalee and Dennis McElveen

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Owner at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Clients
we're so grateful for your awesome review, we truly look forward to have you back as our guests.
Best regards
Cristiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Riviera Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera Blu

Address: Viale del Tirreno, 15 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera Blu 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Blu is a modern 3* hotel, recently refurbished. A new management that assures a warm welcoming in a friendly and familiar atmosphere. Our main priorities are: kindness, clean and comfortable rooms, efficient service.Our hotel is a small building, in which we have invested more than ever, to create a place where you can feel at home. The hotel is located in a small village near the sea called TIRRENIA, only 11 km from PISA.Here you can enjoy our mild Mediterranean climate.We are inside Migliarino San Rossore Massaciucoli Natural Park, here you can find peace and quietness for your relax.A good reason to choose our hotel is also because of our strategic location, you can reach the centre of Pisa in only 15 min by car or 30 min by bus, there are bustops to Pisa and Livorno at only a few metres distance.We have a private carpark inside the hotel, but you can also park outside on the street in front.This is also an advantage compared to the difficulty of the city center where the few car parks are pay and display.From our hotel you can easily reach many other places in Tuscany.We have a shuttle service for arrivals and departures to/from Pisa Airport and Train station and also to/from Livorno train station and port. This service has to be requested in advance and is available every day from 8:00 am to 00:00 am.Free WI-FI coverage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Riviera Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Blu Hotel
Riviera Blu Tirrenia
Hotel Riviera Blu Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riviera Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.