We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera Blu

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riviera Blu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riviera Blu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale del Tirreno, 15 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Tirrenia
pokane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a lovely, quiet, exceptionaly clean and friendly hotel. This was our second stay and we will go back as often as possible. Parking is so convient. The staff is wonderful and so very helpful. Breakfast is outstanding. the garden and outdoor patio is perfect for a break, drink or for eating. The beach is accross the street and just a twenty minute walk to the center of town. We have looked at many hotels in this area and The Rivivera Blu tops them all. Trully and wonderful place. Close to Pisa, Florence,Cinque terra and many more beautiful sights. rooms are so nicely decortated and inviting.
Rosalee and Dennis McElveen

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Owner at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Clients
we're so grateful for your awesome review, we truly look forward to have you back as our guests.
Best regards
Cristiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    63
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
77
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very nice hotel with friendly personnel. Bathroom small but clean and fresh.. with very good quality towels :). Breakfast is for sure strong side of this hotel - plenty of tasty things to choose from... and no limits ;). Close to the sea.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Owner at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Client,
So very greatful for your review.
I hope sincerly to have you back as our clients.
Best regards.
Cristiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near san francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

we loved staying here. the staff were kind and went out of their way to help my son find another place to stay since they has no room for him. the hotel is a short distance from the main part of tirrenia where we found food restaurants and outdoor vendors. we also found a nice laundromat next door to a small market with delicious fresh produce, bread and cheese.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Proprietario at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Client,
thanks a lot for your review.
I’m very grateful.
Best regards.
Cristiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Beautiful and extremely clean family small hotel at wonderful location, close to the sea. Good place for trips to Pisa, Lucca, Livorno. Nice garden and good breakfasts. Possible to borrow bikes, perfect for travelling among beaches

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Owner at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Client,
thanks a lot for your review.
I’m very grateful.
Best regards.
Cristiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We found the hotel to be a wonderful place - we visited it at the end of our 1 month in Europe and meant for it to be a relaxing place to unwind and have some beach time after all the museums. In fact, it was exactly what we'd hoped for. You do, as other reviews point out, have to pay to use one of the private beaches as there are no public use beaches around, but we found the price quite reasonable for the three of us (2 adults and a child) at 16 euro for an entire day (comes with 2 chairs and an umbrella). The hotel itself doesn't rent beach space, but has a partnership who they can recommend. The hotel itself was clean, comfortable beds, and we found the breakfast to be fabulous. I'm not sure if things have changed since some of the more negative reviews, but there was a wide variety of fresh homemade pastries available, a good variety of fruit, meat, cheese, cereal, fresh juices, and even cappucino made to order. We found the front desk very helpful - I needed to print out some travel documents and they graciously did it for me! If we come back to this area, we will certainly stay here again. I found it better than we expected overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Owner at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Client
I would like to thank you very much for your review.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I would give 2 and a half in my rating instead of 3.

The hotel is walking distance from the beach. You can benefit from a 1.50€ discount at one of the close beaches to rent sun beds and parasol.
We were given a room without balcony on the first floor where we stayed for 2 nights. The room wasn't noisy.
In general the hotel is clean, there is a good shower in the room.
I will agree with the previous comment on the fact that it might not be a 3 stars hotel (even if the rooms prices suggest so) and I agree with the comments on the breakfast. I have been in another 3* hotel in Rome and they served similar breakfast, so maybe that's the standard in Italian hotels, to be precise the following were not offered on the breakfast buffet: eggs (I asked if it was possible to have eggs cooked on any way but that wasn't offered), no juices (there were two types of flavoured waters, a kind of water with squash), too many industrially wrapped bakes and pastries, no fresh vegetables (for example tomatoes or salad...etc). There was however cereals, fresh pastry (a sweet type of brioche and on the first day there was also a croissant), coffee or tea on demand, bread, Salami, yelow cheese, yogurt, different types of jams, honey and nutella.

So here is the list of criteria a standard 3 stars hotel should have and whether Hotel Riviera Blu has them:

- rooms with shower/WC or bath tub/WC: Yes, room with shower
- Daily room cleaning: Yes
- rooms with colour-TV together with remote control: Yes, there was not much choice of non italian channels though.
- Table and chair: Yes
- Soap or body wash: Yes, there was a soap
- Facsimile at the reception: probably, didn't have chance to check
- Publicly available telephone for guests: Yes, there is also a phone in the room
- Beverage offer in the hotel: Yes - there is a bar on the ground floor
- Deposit possibility: didn't check
- Breakfast buffet: Yes - I already gave my opinion about the breakfast
- Reading light next to the bed: Yes
- Bath essence or shower gel: No - there was only a soap
- Bath towels: Yes
- Linen shelves: Yes - there is a wardrobe
- Offer of sanitary products (e.g. toothbrush, toothpaste, shaving kit): No
- Credit Cards: No - we couldn't pay with American express card
- Reception opened 14 hours, accessible by phone 24 hours from inside and outside, bilingual staff: Yes - I agree with the previous comment that the receptionist can be more helpful and needs to be pushed a bit
- Three piece suite at the reception, luggage service: didn't check
- Beverage offer in the room: there was no beverage in the room, no fridge
- Telephone in the room: Yes
- Internet access in the room or in the public area: Yes, there was Wifi everywhere in the hotel
- Heating facility in the bathroom, hair-dryer, cleansing tissue: No
- Dressing mirror in the room: No, there was a mirror but not a dressing mirror
- Place to put the luggage/suitcase in the room: No - the floor maybe
- Sewing kit, shoe polish utensils in the room: No sewing kit, but there is a polish utensil
- Laundry and ironing service: didn't check but I don't believe so
- Additional pillow and additional blanket on demand: didn't check but probably yes
- Systematic complaint management system: does Tripadvisor.com count?

So based on the above (European Stars classification criteria for a 3 stars qualification), there are few things missing in the hotel to be a complete 3 stars, or prices should reviewed for lower.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Riviera Blu is a small pensione in Tirrenia. Unfortunately we booked a room without terrace. The room was tiny with barely enough room to move around. With windows open at night the traffic noise is significant. There is no elevator and we hauled our heavy luggage up to the third floor. The young lady serving at breakfast is charming and makes good cappucino, but the food is almost entirely plastic wrapped industrial fare.. We were offered fresh pastry on our last day.
The more senior manager is very nice, the younger fellow has an attitude and is helpful only if pressed. All in all, not a great stay. The place is well-kept and very clean but a 3 star rating is surprising.

Room Tip: Apparently a room with terrace is a must, preferably on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRivieraBlu, Direttore at Hotel Riviera Blu, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Mr Jeff...,
Thank you very much for your recension , even if it is not positive, we do agree to receive criticism , cause it help us to give better services in the future.
We would like to punctualize some things:
It is real that our hotel doesn't dispose of a lift, but in the same way the reception has the peremptory order to offer to all guests free luggage transport service. Besides, we want to specify that our Hotel has only 2 up floors over the ground floor.
Concerning our breakfast, everybody has its personal ideas of it. Our is a buffet breakfast, and on our buffet there're fresh products like ham and salami, cheeses, yogurt, fruit, bread, cakes etc, and of course some packaged brioches. Fresh briosches are offered to all our guest everyday, and we usually dispose of a bigger number of fresh brioches than the number of our guest to avoid that someone doesn't find it. It is possible that our breakfast maid didn't explained that well.
Thanks again for choosing us.
Best regards
The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riviera Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera Blu

Address: Viale del Tirreno, 15 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera Blu 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Blu is a modern 3* hotel, recently refurbished. A new management that assures a warm welcoming in a friendly and familiar atmosphere. Our main priorities are: kindness, clean and comfortable rooms, efficient service.Our hotel is a small building, in which we have invested more than ever, to create a place where you can feel at home. The hotel is located in a small village near the sea called TIRRENIA, only 11 km from PISA.Here you can enjoy our mild Mediterranean climate.We are inside Migliarino San Rossore Massaciucoli Natural Park, here you can find peace and quietness for your relax.A good reason to choose our hotel is also because of our strategic location, you can reach the centre of Pisa in only 15 min by car or 30 min by bus, there are bustops to Pisa and Livorno at only a few metres distance.We have a private carpark inside the hotel, but you can also park outside on the street in front.This is also an advantage compared to the difficulty of the city center where the few car parks are pay and display.From our hotel you can easily reach many other places in Tuscany.We have a shuttle service for arrivals and departures to/from Pisa Airport and Train station and also to/from Livorno train station and port. This service has to be requested in advance and is available every day from 8:00 am to 00:00 am.Free WI-FI coverage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Riviera Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Blu Hotel
Riviera Blu Tirrenia
Hotel Riviera Blu Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riviera Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.