We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay again!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol

Hotel Bristol
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tirrenia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bristol
Save
You added Hotel Bristol to your Saves list
Via delle Felci, 38 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tirrenia
Swanage
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay again!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My family and I returned to the Hotel Bristol for probably the seventh or eighth time at the beginning of August and everything was as lovely as always. The hotel is beautifully clean, rooms cleaned and towels changed daily, AC in every room, wonderful breakfast (my son managed 4-5 pastries most mornings!!) and great staff who put the finishing touches to a fantastic holiday. The hotel is within easy walking distance of beaches or you can borrow the bicycles at no charge and cycle to other beaches in Marina di Pisa only 20 minutes away. The local bus service to Pisa or Livorna and then the train onto Florence or Lucca is easy to use so a car isn't necessary.

We will definately be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
20
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seubersdorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I have been several times, but this was our 2nd "Family trip" to Tirrenia, Italy. We knew what we wanted, shopped around and we weren't disappointed!

First of all, this is a "Beach Town" for tourists...just know that before you get here. Don't expect the "beautiful Tuscany countryside" because you aren't going to get it...If that's what you are looking for, then Tirrenia isn't for you.

As for the hotel, this is a small, family run hotel that is very clean and with great service. We were a bit skeptical at first because we would have preferred to stay a bit closer to the beach, but our first impression and impression throughout was that the hotel staff wanted to make us feel comfortable which put our minds at ease.

We are a family of 4 (kids 7 and 3 yrs) and the apartment was perfect for us. The two kids slept in the living/dining room and my Wife and I slept comfortably in the bedroom. No issues at all with the room as the AC worked correctly in both rooms and room service did a great job daily.

The downside to this hotel is that you will have to drive to one of the beaches and pay 12-15 Euro daily (none are included with this hotel as it is with many others) for use of an umbrella and chairs. And it's not near the middle of Tirrenia for the restaurants and nightlife, but that turned out as a plus for us.

As previously mentioned, a family with younger chidren so a 15 min walk to and from dinner was actually a nice way to end a long day and get back to a nice, quiet place to sleep. What we gave up in convenience and maybe even savings, we more than got back in comfort and relaxation.

We would definitely recommend this hotel...at least I know where we will be staying in the future!

Room Tip: Our review was based on our stay in one of the 2-room apartments. For a family wth young children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Our family of 5 stayed at the Hotel Bristol in June 2011. Being a family of 5, we opted for one of the hotel’s apartments rather than two rooms in the hotel. This seemed more practical since we wanted to stay together and the apartment was equipped with a small kitchenette. The apartments are also closer to the swimming pool, although none of the apartments open directly to the pool.

Our intent was to stay at the hotel for nine nights, but reduced this to six nights based primarily on the condition of the apartment. The apartment was comprised of one bedroom, a living/dining/kitchen room and one bathroom. A small paved area in front of the apartment was provided with a plastic table and four chairs that appeared to be purchased at a flea market. Two of the four chairs were broken and everything was dirty and discolored. We tried to clean it ourselves but eventually gave up realizing it was a lost cause. A tablecloth that we purchased ourselves helped moderately. It should be noted that the one descent table and chairs located at the swimming pool was often occupied by the owner’s mother and father who live in one of the apartments.

In order to accommodate sleeping arrangements for 5 persons, two single beds were placed in the living/dining/kitchen room. The one bedroom provided sleeping quarters for the other three guests. As a result of this arrangement, there were no sofas or seating arrangement where we could sit together and play card games or just talk over soda and wine. A rectangular sofa placed in one corner of the living/dining/kitchen room was more appropriate for a household pet.

The bedroom was the only room equipped with an air conditioning unit, and it was positioned so that the cold air blew directly upon the head of the queen size bed. The remote control was removed from the apartment on the fourth day for no apparent reason other than a technician saying that the apartment needed to be balanced. It didn’t matter at that point since I was already sick from having cold air blown on my face for four nights. The last two nights were miserably hot and uncomfortable.

The bathroom was also poorly configured although it appeared to be newly remodeled.
On a positive note, the Hotel Bristol is fairly clean, the swimming pool is inviting, breakfast is simple but good, and the location is a short walk to beach.

Before implementation of the Euro currency, travelers who went to Southern European destinations assumed and expected that the overall standard would be slightly lower than their northern counterparts. This was acceptable because of the lower cost for hotels, rental cars, food, etc. However, the Euro has leveled the playing field and it’s no longer a value to travel South except for the consistent hot summer weather. For this reason, expectations are naturally higher but we were disappointed. To make matters worse, we were charged an extra night penalty for leaving early and for playing tennis even though never informed that there was a cost associated with this activity.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

This hotel is small but so excellent. It is owned and operated by a wonderful family who all speak English, as does all of the staff. It is a bed & breakfast set-up with a lovely continental breakfast in a beautiful, sunny room. The rooms, while not extremely large, are en-suite, many with balconies, and there is a comfortable family room style bar on the main floor. We were caught in the Iceland volcanic ash fiasco and there was no problem at all with extending our stay. A wonderful place to stay!!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

We were to stay four days here, and found the hotel excellent. It was spotlessly clean, towels changed every day, breakfast good and generally very satisfactory. After two days I had a medical problem, and we had to return home unexpectedly. The proprietor and his staff were extremely helpful, and I cannot praise them enough.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

I spent a very relaxing night in a clean, comfortable, and quiet room. The fact that not only the rooms, but the entire hotel is smoke-free, made my stay that much more pleasurable. The availability of internet access is certainly a plus. This is a family run hotel that offers outstanding service and a very good complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Stayed 10 days, although the weather was `changeable` about 4 massive thunderstorms found this little resort most pleasing. Adequate number of pretty good restaurants and bars. The sea is some way off from the front through parks of pine trees etc. The actual front is a bit of a disappointment, but on the odd day we managed to get on the beach, deckchairs and sunbeds all in lines, with bathing huts. Most civilised. Hotel Bristol was v good value for money, lovely swimming pool, hotel was maintained well and v clean. Helpful and friendly staff. The superior rooms are indeed very nice with good big beds and modern decor. Very good breakfasts, with fresh fruit, pastries and meat and chees. Everything you wish for (except an English fry up). The area is lovely with lots of different pines, very green everywhere and perfect for trips to Firenze, Sienna, Pisa and Lucca (lovely). Trains work very well, the only down side beint the awful bus service from Tirrenia to Pisa. But all in all a smashing place, a little old fashioned but that's alright!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Via delle Felci, 38 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tirrenia
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.