We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Golf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Golf to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Golf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dell'Edera, 29 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Tirrenia
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Before we went to this Hotel we read the reviews and were a bit worried as people has left negative reviews but when we arrived it was more than adiquite. The staff were very friendly, the whole place was very very clean. Our room was huge with a balcony, mini bar, large TV, wonderful view and great bathroom. The buffet breakfast was delicious. Yes the décor was 70's but hey isn't retro all the rage now. My only real complaint was that you could hear noises from the other rooms, especially above which did wake me up several time a night but my husband and son slept through it all. Overall we loved it.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    60
    59
    34
    20
See reviews for
48
75
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

when we booked we were not told after 30th september the hotel restaurant is closed and the pool is also closed, also air conditioning, we booked 3rd week of october using last minute.com . quite frankly, if it said that in the booking we would have chosen a different hotel without question, not because we did not like it' but it was not honet with us, we feel we have been taken for granted.

Out of season its a bed and breakfast, nothing more, yet it advertises full bells and whistles on the local website, be careful. its a shame because some people in the hotel (staff) are friendly and work hard. it appears the management / communiction to guests about these important factors to your holiday is taken for granted, you are just expected to 'understand its out of season'. why did you not tell me when i booked? .

Room Tip: choose a b+b in pisa, its no different but you would have far more places to choose for evening meal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We were not going with high expectations, but it was a great hotel. Brilliant location to walk to restaurants and bars. The beach was very crowded, but it was August! and we used the hotel pool, which was very clean and quiet. We wanted to use the hotel as a base for exploring the area, Siena, Firenze, Pisa are all within day trip distance...Very relaxing.

Rooms were very clean, balcony looked a little risky, and if you have small children I would keep them off it as would be very tempting to use for climbing! Shutters were amazing, perfect if you want a lie in as room was totally dark, and toilet flush should be on the antiques roadshow but worked really well. Shower was powerful and hot, bath had lost a lot of its enamel but all part of the vintage charm.

Breakfast was ok, nothing too special but coffee, tinned fruit, yoghurt, scrambled eggs, ham, cheese and cakes..etc

Lady on reception, very helpful - thank you.

We would recommend the hotel, as great base free parking and enabled us to explore and relax.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We booked into this hotel understanding that it is a 4* establishment with a private beach.
The hotel would struggle to get 3* as it is very very shabby. Our room had peeling paint on the ceiling, wet patches on the walls, moldy grouting on the tiles and rusty taps. There were 0 toiletries available and no coffee making facilities. The breakfast was quite poor and the private beach is actually 10 min walk and a cost for a day is 16 Euro so one may as well use any other private beach available and there are plenty.
On the plus side the receptionists were helpful, the rooms are large and the hotel is well located for the beaches, buses to Pisa and Tirrenia centre. The pool area is also nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirby Cross
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We went to Pisa and booked this hotel along with the flight through British Airways.
What a disappointment. The room we were offered stank of cigarette smoke with a generous covering of air freshener. There was an ashtray on the side and the shutters rolled up to a tiny balcony overlooking the concrete tip. Went to complain and were given a second room. This was dirty, the walls had damp patches, the bathroom was filthy, the phone was broken in half and there was a further view of the concrete tip but with a slightly larger balcony. We phoned BA to complain and they were utterly brilliant, finding us a good hotel in Pisa. However, it was late and we had to spend a night in this hole. Next morning we discovered that the shower/bath did not drain away, it trickled away so we were standing in our and others filthy water.
Avoid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venray, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

old style and furniture.

Service in restaurant is very bad ! Discrimination by the service in the restaurant . Nice Beach .
No bicycle to be rent in the hotel.
A little bit far from beach , but threre is a nice swimming pool in the hothe .

Room Tip: old style and less service . Small TV ,old door and lock .Less safty feeling .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nice clean hotel staff friendly and do speak English,Stayed here this July 14 found hotel very clean and tidy,breakfast was typical continental very easy to find something to eat. Only seem to do breakfast as part of your stay but evening meal is there if you wish to reserve a table with reception.
Hotel could do with updating its decor very much stuck in 70s era... but its very quiet and off main road area plenty of places to eat within 5-10 min walk must like fish and pizza seems too be most menus out there nice Chinese at top of road,beaches mostly private and cost 16 euros for two beds and parasol. Beaches are set well away from road so there's no walking along beach after dinner. they sandy and clean with changing rooms too at a cost.

I did find eating out to be expensive in all places in Italy. though that's the euro!!!

I would stay again if i went there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Golf

Address: Via dell'Edera, 29 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa
Grand Hotel Golf Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.