We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation but friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Golf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Golf to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Golf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dell'Edera, 29 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation but friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Chose this hotel as it was cheap (comparatively) and located in convenient area. Room was clean, with big bathroom. Decor is dated, i.e. 1970s/80s style but as we don't spend much time in our room when on holiday it didn't bother us. Bed was rather hard. We asked for a room with a sea view and got Rm 705 which was fine. Air con was efficient (didn't have to pay extra for it). Staff were really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was acceptable buffet style, if they ran out of something they would replace it upon request. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening, choosing to go into Terrenia instead.
Easy walk to the beach (or drive), but be warned everywhere charges ridiculous amounts for use of deck-chairs (yes I do mean deck-chairs) and even more for sun-beds, so a day at the beach can be quite pricey. Beach is sandy and well maintained. Food at the cafe was quite good, although little English spoken (but menu does have English interpretation).
Would stay here again if going to the Pisa area.

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance of arrival and request a room with a sea view e.g. Rms 704, 705, 706 alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    72
    68
    39
    21
See reviews for
55
91
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is in need of some TLC however the rooms, staff and communal areas are relaxed and friendly. The pool is a delight and kept clean and sparkling. The reception staff are multi-lingual and friendly, the rooms are cleaned every day and the domestic staff are friendly and willing to help. Tirrenia is a wonderful base with lovely beaches and restaurants. I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I suppose since there is been nor enough richer tourists neither any decent hotel miles around the hotel has had no need of any investment.
The hotel looks grand from distance,little less in the lobby, friendly receptionists are helpfull,than you open the door of the room and...my God welcome to 1990. All the rooms on the floor the same,we checked them when cleaning lady left the door open.
Depressing terribly old furniture,dirty walpaper,very old bathroom,even no proper single bed but a deck-chair for children ! On other hand very solid mattrasse on double bed and clean linen,one with old stains.
We were offered to move into an apartment which is part of the hotel.
We got cheap looking one where we felt like in a sanitarium with older kitchen,deck-chairs again at least suitable for adults and bad smell (something rotten in water pipes),with A/C on no problem.TV was 25 years old worth 5 Euro which we better never tried.A/C worked but one of two had to be turned off due to terrible noise.
Shower was absolutely disgrace,shower head sprays towards the wall only...bathroom in hotel room very old,in the apartment solid, quite new.
Breakfast average, every day the same ,poor coffe (sad in the country with best capuccino).
Parking was safe,walls in the hotel are newly painted,swimming pool ok (who needs that by the sea),gym smaller and even piano near breakfast room.
Internet slower,using computer in the lobby very uncomfortable.
The atmosphere of the hotel remindes Miami some very long time ago.
The sandy beach is very clean,about 7 minutes walk from the hotel,dining room on the beach very old cheap looking and pricey (fast food 12 Euro).The sea is not crystal blue but clean and very warm.
Italien people are very nice and friendly.Very,very few tourists around during high season.Why ? Quality of sea resorts in France is different planet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Was here visiting my dad as he was staying here for work. We had room 210 and it was perfect with a lovely balcony above the pool. The pool was very clean and the perfect temperature. The bed was very big and comfortable and the room was cleaned every day. Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, Essex
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Checked in Grand Hotel Golf on Sunday 26th May 5 nights. We had room 306 and must admit that it was better than I expected after reading the other reviews. Admittedly it was like walking back in time but it was probably one of the largest hotel rooms we've had in a long time. The bed was huge and we had a balcony with two chairs and a small table. The bath was dated but spotlessly clean and the shower over the bath was powerful and hot. We had clean sheets and towels every day. The tv was small but who wants to watch that while on holiday and there was a small fridge. There was no noise during the night but the hotel was not very busy.

Breakfast - three choices of cereal not top quality but edible, cheese, ham, prunes, pineapple, rolls, toast and croissants. A choice of several jams and honey. Two choices of juice and various teas and coffee. All in all in good choice and perfect start to a day.

Our cab from the airport was 45 euros. We used the bus over 3 days to travel backwards and forwards to Pisa? Don't forget to buy you tickets from the tobacconist (there is one in Tirrenia - it has a large T over the door) a three day ticket is 10 euros. We used the bus back to Tirrenia and then got a cab to the airport for 10 euros.

We could not fault our stay in Tirrenia or at the Grand Hotel Golf.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
367 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Grand Hotel Golf has been in Tirrenia for many years. it is showing its age, but remains a nice place to stay. The staff is very responsive and friendly. They are also multi-lingual. The location is excellent, only a few minutes walk to any place in the Tirrenia downtown. Despite it's proximity to the town center, it is quiet, leafy and relaxed. The Golf offers some excellent value, particularly in the off-season.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the ocean if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I booked this hotel last minute whilst on a road trip to Pisa. On arrival at the hotel, at gone midnight, they had no evidence of our booking and even though I was able to show them the confirmation email on my phone, they were reluctant to give us a room. After I left my boyfriend to deal with the issue, a very annoyed receptionist eventually gave us a room, who then in anger left the front desk and stomped outside to have a cigarette!
I have to admit the room was lovely, very spacious with plenty of cupboard space if you needed it. The views were not great and showed that the hotels facilities are in definite need of some TLC. Breakfast was average as far as continental breakfast goes.
There was ample parking at the hotel and the drive back in to Pisa was quite pretty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirrenia
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#3 of 7 in Tirrenia
3.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
1.8 mi away
Green Park Resort
Green Park Resort
#1 of 1 in Calambrone
3.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera Blu
Hotel Riviera Blu
#1 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#4 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,884 reviews
8.0 mi away
Abitalia Tower Plaza
Abitalia Tower Plaza
#13 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Golf

Address: Via dell'Edera, 29 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa
Grand Hotel Golf Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.