We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not renovated for the last 20 years. 2* max” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Golf

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Golf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Golf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dell'Edera, 29 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Tirrenia
Roma
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not renovated for the last 20 years. 2* max”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, clean and spacious rooms, helpful staff, low price.
BUT
the hotel has not been renovated for a quarter of century. Too old furniture, smell of old structure, sealing full of spots, unacceptable condition of the bath equipment - see the photos. The breakfast was very poor, with the cheapest ham and cheese and only one kind of croissant. Coffee machine was awful.
Deserves 2* at max

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    66
    62
    35
    16
See reviews for
40
65
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
barnsley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed at this hotel for four nights in early October.We arrived at the hotel late at night and our check in went very smoothly.Simone on reception spoke very good English and the room she gave us was very good with a golf course view.However on realising some rooms had sea views I asked if there was any chance of moving to one.She moved us to 506 with no problem or extra charge.The balcony was quite large with a table and two chairs and the view was exceptional .We saw the most amazing sunset each evening before going out.

The bed was six foot wide and very comfortable. The room was a good size with plenty of wardrobe space ,mini bar ,telephone and the bathroom had a bath,shower and bidet,The one thing it was short of was tea and coffee making facilities so bring your own.The best sea view rooms are numbered 06,07,and 08 the floors being numbered up to 7 so 506 is on the 5th floor.

The breakfast is typically contintental with bread rolls ,ham,cheese ,choice of cereals, fruit, cakes ,tea,coffee and juice and is buffet style so you can eat enough to last until dinner.The foyer of the Hotel as a series of very comfortable settees and chairs. There is a decent size swimming pool and a tennis court.Car parking is tight but there is plenty of room just outside the main entrance. The Hotel could do with a lick of paint externally but don't let that put you off.

Tirrenia has a very long sandy beach and the buses to Pisa and Livorno are at least every half hour and incredibly cheap if you buy your ticket at the shop near the main bus stop. Buses take 30 minutes to both cities.It will take you around ten minutes to walk to the centre from the Hotel. Miracle square in Pisa is unmissable, the buildings are incredible and it will cost you fifteen euros to climb the 300 steps to the top of the leaning tower but the views are worth the effort and cost.Trains from Pisa to Florence cost 7.3 euros each way and take one hour and twenty mins.Buy your return ticket at Pisa as Florence ticket office is very busy.

All in all a very good value Hotel in an excellent location for seeing Tuscany.

Room Tip: Dont be afraid to ask to change your room or ask for balcony furniture.The staff are execcent and wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The good points of this hotel was that there was a large breakfast, adequate parking, elevators, and generous sized rooms. Still, I thought it was grossly over-priced. No wifi or internet access (except in the lobby- which never worked), old bathrooms with crumbly walls, no deadbolts on the doors, a nice balcony but with no outdoor furniture and only one desk chair so only one person could go out at a time. The bed was uncomfortable and the room smelled musty to me. There was water damage and broken floor tiles in the hallway. It seemed dodgy and old. I would stay elsewhere if at all possible. It seemed that they mostly catered to large groups (as we were one as well). Our room overlooked the parking garage and so I would think it would be much cheaper, but it was the same price as everyone else's.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days in September. It might have been 'grand' 60 years ago and is over due for a revamp. The room looked over the golf course and was a good size but tired and dated. The bathroom was the size of a double bedroom but awful shower over the bath with a shower curtain that needed replacing. Very hard bed but that seems standard in Italy! This is the first hotel I've ever stayed in that they change the linen everyday....Impressive but hardly necessary.
The pool was lovely, nice loungers and umbrellas. Staff were nice, helpful and professional.
(Please clean out the fish tank guys!) Breakfast was OK but uninspiring. Wifi not available in the rooms.
Can't comment on the restaurant ... too many in the town to choose from.
Loved the little card tables ... I guess they will go if it gets a makeover.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My partner and I got a last minute break here so did not get a chance to check out any reviews but it is most definitely a hotel in need of a complete makeover . It is 3 star at best and I believe it is only the pool & golf course that get it the 5 star rating. It is stuck in it's only little time warp of the 70's for it's fixtures and fittings. However having said all these negatives some positives are it is clean , spacious rooms and a good location. Also all the staff were faultless , very friendly and very helpful. Had we paid a lot of money for this we would have had cause for complaint but as we got it at a very cheap price we felt we had value for money, do NOT pay 5 star prices to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

5 star service, 3 star hotel, but spacious, good location and great views of the sea. Close to town. Hotel food average. Breakfast was a continental breakfast: boiled egg, meat, cheese, yogurt etc, but quite a good range.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel fitted our needs perfectly: location quiet, pool lovely, table tennis & tennis court; the terrace for drinks & food is lovely, staff so friendly & helpful, easy walking distance to our favourite restaurants plus the clean beach with deck chairs showers restaurant 10 mins walk away. The fair for the kids close by was a bonus (for the kids anyway). The hotel may have old fixtures & fittings but it is comfortable. The WiFi worked in the public rooms only, which was good enough for most needs. Our apartment was spacious but bathroom small. The aircon is excellent & quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Golf

Address: Via dell'Edera, 29 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Golf 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa
Grand Hotel Golf Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.