We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Golf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Golf to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Golf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dell'Edera, 29 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Northampton
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great service, good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

5 star service, 3 star hotel, but spacious, good location and great views of the sea. Close to town. Hotel food average. Breakfast was a continental breakfast: boiled egg, meat, cheese, yogurt etc, but quite a good range.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    75
    72
    43
    22
See reviews for
59
93
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel fitted our needs perfectly: location quiet, pool lovely, table tennis & tennis court; the terrace for drinks & food is lovely, staff so friendly & helpful, easy walking distance to our favourite restaurants plus the clean beach with deck chairs showers restaurant 10 mins walk away. The fair for the kids close by was a bonus (for the kids anyway). The hotel may have old fixtures & fittings but it is comfortable. The WiFi worked in the public rooms only, which was good enough for most needs. Our apartment was spacious but bathroom small. The aircon is excellent & quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Dated both inside and out! Concrete outside. Location fine for Florence and Pisa as public transport is brilliant. Not an area to go back to! Furniture and rooms are like something out of your Grandma's house! Staff are fine, the hotel just needs a complete makeover. Pool area ok. Beach busy as August but not pretty.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel is ideally situated overlooking a beautiful Forrest
That seems to go on forever and a couple of golf courses
The main area where the restaurants are is
Only a 10 minute walk away.
The pool and garden area is very nice and
Quite relaxing
The bar and foyer area quite nice but the two
Big problems were the breakfast which was
Totally inedible. I am not a fussy eater but
At breakfast I could not find anything to
Eat
The other thing which was poor was the
Bedroom which was not too dissimilar to
A prison cell . The decour was discussting
Tv did not work shower was positioned in
The middle of the bath so every time anyone
Took a shower the bathroom got
Flooded the air con was something else
Tried not to touch anything electrical
In case I got electrocuted and the room
Key not a modern electrical card but
A stupid key attached to a golf
Ball

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

A hotel that was probably the splendor of the 50's, 60's and 70's hasn't changed much in that many years. Large high ceilinged rooms with 50 year old bathrooms, broken tile and ripped linoleum in the halls, off-mark products fora breakfast buffet with very limited choices do not warrant the room cost of a 4 star resort. A 12inch TV in the room that only received 5 channels and pillows 1 inch thick. Again , no longer up to 4 star quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

On the whole we think the hotel provided good value for money. The room was ok, although we did get a lot of mosquito bites ( no air con). The pool was nice, as the hotel was only a quarter full. The breakfast was ok, but could be improved (poor juice, coffee, croissants), and exactly the same choice every day. The hotel staff were helpful.

We were a bit disappointed with Tirrenia. Not a lot of restaurants, and expensive. The restaurants need to provide more tourist menus at set prices. We only managed to find one, 15 euros for 2 courses (whereas in Florence and Pisa you can get set menu from 10/12 euros). We had trouble finding a supermarket, but eventually found just one.
You have to take bus to Pisa (30-35mins, fare 2.30 euros each way) in order to see other places (Florence, Lucca, Viarregio, etc).
You cannot take a bus along the coast direct to Viarregio etc, you can only go to Pisa one way, or Livorno the other.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

After realising that the weather over half term looked terrible in England, I decided to have a quick look on Easyjet holidays and came across this place. I checked the reviews and decided a bit of 80's decor didn't really matter, what mattered was a bit of sun, a pool for our 6 year old and an easy and quick flight from Bristol.

When we arrived at 10pm The reception staff were welcoming and kind. The room was spotless and just as expected. The breakfast lets the hotel down which is a shame, but a quick trip to the supermarket meant we could miss breakfast if we wished. The pool was wonderful, warm enough and not another soul around. Our son spent many hours leaping in and out - although it was too deep for him to stand up in. The beach is actually a 10 - 15 minute walk away and is around 8euro a sunbed. However the free beach is perfect, just buy a cheap umbrella and away you go!
It was remarkably cheap to get to Pisa on a 20min bus - €2.30 return and free child. The leaning tower only takes children 8yrs and older though,something that we learnt whilst in the queue!

The local restaurants were good, nice pasta and pizza starting at €6. Brilliant waterpark by the beach, worth the entry fee of €40 for our family.

A special mention must go to the barman Michael, as my son said "my favourite Italian person". He was fluent in English, very interesting and wonderfully helpful - telling us info on how to get to Pisa, making snacks for my son, drawing on our map each of the restaurants and generally being very good company of an evening.

Such a perfect place for a quick 5 night break, look past the dated decor and see a place fully commited to looking after you and making your stay happy and enjoyable.

If you are after a stunning hotel with no character then this isn't the place for you, but if you are looking for a friendly peaceful atmosphere then this is the right place. I would give it 4 stars based on staff/atmosphere but have given it 3 as I think it's too basic for a typical 4 star.

Absolutely planning on returning once my son is old enough to climb the leaning tower! He enjoyed our stay so much that he had to say goodbye to everything in the room, including the chairs!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirrenia
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#4 of 7 in Tirrenia
3.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
1.8 mi away
Green Park Resort
Green Park Resort
#1 of 1 in Calambrone
3.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera Blu
Hotel Riviera Blu
#1 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,935 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#7 of 7 in Tirrenia
3.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Golf

Address: Via dell'Edera, 29 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa
Grand Hotel Golf Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.