We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a last minute getaway.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Golf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Golf to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Golf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dell'Edera, 29 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Tirrenia
Bath, Somerset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a last minute getaway.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

After realising that the weather over half term looked terrible in England, I decided to have a quick look on Easyjet holidays and came across this place. I checked the reviews and decided a bit of 80's decor didn't really matter, what mattered was a bit of sun, a pool for our 6 year old and an easy and quick flight from Bristol.

When we arrived at 10pm The reception staff were welcoming and kind. The room was spotless and just as expected. The breakfast lets the hotel down which is a shame, but a quick trip to the supermarket meant we could miss breakfast if we wished. The pool was wonderful, warm enough and not another soul around. Our son spent many hours leaping in and out - although it was too deep for him to stand up in. The beach is actually a 10 - 15 minute walk away and is around 8euro a sunbed. However the free beach is perfect, just buy a cheap umbrella and away you go!
It was remarkably cheap to get to Pisa on a 20min bus - €2.30 return and free child. The leaning tower only takes children 8yrs and older though,something that we learnt whilst in the queue!

The local restaurants were good, nice pasta and pizza starting at €6. Brilliant waterpark by the beach, worth the entry fee of €40 for our family.

A special mention must go to the barman Michael, as my son said "my favourite Italian person". He was fluent in English, very interesting and wonderfully helpful - telling us info on how to get to Pisa, making snacks for my son, drawing on our map each of the restaurants and generally being very good company of an evening.

Such a perfect place for a quick 5 night break, look past the dated decor and see a place fully commited to looking after you and making your stay happy and enjoyable.

If you are after a stunning hotel with no character then this isn't the place for you, but if you are looking for a friendly peaceful atmosphere then this is the right place. I would give it 4 stars based on staff/atmosphere but have given it 3 as I think it's too basic for a typical 4 star.

Absolutely planning on returning once my son is old enough to climb the leaning tower! He enjoyed our stay so much that he had to say goodbye to everything in the room, including the chairs!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    62
    60
    34
    20
See reviews for
49
76
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

Is like going back in time. The hotel is huge, has everything, but they haven't changed anything. Same all furnitures, old rooms and what's old= smelly.
I paid 52€ so is a good price, i would give the hotel 3 stars.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This hotel was rather amusing - spotlessly clean, all the facilities you need yet very dated in terms of the furniture and ambience.
The room was spacious and clean yet basic, the bathroom was fine - constant hot shower with good water pressure.
The pool area was probably the most modern area of the hotel - nice sun loungers and a clean, relaxing pool.
We didn't try the restaurant - it was very quiet and we preferred to walk into Tirrenia to try the local restaurants.
Location was good - 30min bus drive into Pisa, 5 min walk to the restaurants and bars and beach in Tirrenia.
I would come again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

From the grand marble staircase to the fact they made me feel like they knew me and missed me while I was away. This place was amazing. The breakfast was good buy MAAN the coffee is strong. After several days of traveling I needed it good and strong though. Immaculatly clean! Older hotel but for the price well worth it. In walking distance of the beach shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Our room was bigger than that of other family members but they had doubles and we had a single
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Like many Italian hotels that we have visited over the years this 4 star hotel would be best described as a 3 star hotel in France or in the US.

The hotel is old and the amenities show their age. The room was clean and the room cleaning was very well done on a daily basis.

However, the room furniture, the bathroom, and the entire building furnishings probably dates back to the sixties or seventies. Their is nothing modern about this hotel. The TV was a puny 10'' CRT that we did not even turn on during our entire stay... But then if you have a kid that watches too much TV on a regular basis, this might be a welcomed feature... ;)

We chose this hotel knowing what to expect due to our previous experiences in Italy. We knew based on the price that we paid that we were not going to get a real 4 star hotel and that the amenities would be outdated.

Overall we had a very pleasant experience considering .

Beware that if you are choosing this hotel for the tennis; the court is old and uneven and there is a fee to pay for the court use which is not advertised on their site.

Wireless internet was not working and it remained broken for the length of our stay. Their is a PC available for internet use but you will have to wait your turn... I have a feeling that they were in no great hurry to fix the wireless network, so do not go to this hotel if you need to stay connected to the rest of the world.

Also beware that there is no poolside towel service so bring your own beach towels unless you want to use the bath towels provided in the room... But that was a hassle for us as we had to manage our towel use and rotation to make sure that we had dry towels when bath time came around...

But again, this hotel was the "cheapest" choice that we found for the type of amenities that we were looking for: pool, tennis, breakfast included with the room, an within 10 minutes walking distance of the beach.

So we believe that we got what we paid for and we did have a very pleasant vacation.

The Hotel is located in Tirrenia close to Pisa. We made day trips to Florence, Sienna, Lucca and San Giminiano. All located within 1.5 hours of hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We got a really good deal on this hotel, about 9kms out of Pisa. Tirrenia is a lovely town with great transport links to Pisa and beyond.
The hotel is old BUT spotlessly clean, fresh towels every day. Nice big room with balcony - it could do with a lick of paint in parts.
A suggestion would be that the hotel provided extra towels for the excellent pool which is there to relax in after a hard days sightseeing.
The breakfast was great but the coffee was horrible - and I do like my coffee in the mornings!
My friend and I had a great time and for a base we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Grand Hotel Golf Hotel is easily accessible from Pisa through taking the bus from the Pisa bus station. Takes about 30 minutes to get to Tirrenia. My boyfriend and I stayed here over Spring Break and it was very nice. Some things are outdated or need some fixing up as in our floor tiles were cracked, burn holes in the comforter. But the only thing that grossed me out was the mini bar has something empty in it. I wonder what else they didn't clean if they didn't clean out the fridge? Anyways, it would good enough for our 3 night stay and we enjoyed lots of time at the beach. It's not as close to the beach as it seems, it's probably a good 8 minute walk. Also many shops closed in Tirrenia before 5 when we were there but maybe it was because it was off season. The most gorgeous views of the sunset over the sea from our balcony though. We watched them every night together.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Golf

Address: Via dell'Edera, 29 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa
Grand Hotel Golf Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.