We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Golf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Golf to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Golf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dell'Edera, 29 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Tirrenia
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just what you need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This hotel was rather amusing - spotlessly clean, all the facilities you need yet very dated in terms of the furniture and ambience.
The room was spacious and clean yet basic, the bathroom was fine - constant hot shower with good water pressure.
The pool area was probably the most modern area of the hotel - nice sun loungers and a clean, relaxing pool.
We didn't try the restaurant - it was very quiet and we preferred to walk into Tirrenia to try the local restaurants.
Location was good - 30min bus drive into Pisa, 5 min walk to the restaurants and bars and beach in Tirrenia.
I would come again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    65
    61
    35
    21
See reviews for
51
80
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

From the grand marble staircase to the fact they made me feel like they knew me and missed me while I was away. This place was amazing. The breakfast was good buy MAAN the coffee is strong. After several days of traveling I needed it good and strong though. Immaculatly clean! Older hotel but for the price well worth it. In walking distance of the beach shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Our room was bigger than that of other family members but they had doubles and we had a single
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Like many Italian hotels that we have visited over the years this 4 star hotel would be best described as a 3 star hotel in France or in the US.

The hotel is old and the amenities show their age. The room was clean and the room cleaning was very well done on a daily basis.

However, the room furniture, the bathroom, and the entire building furnishings probably dates back to the sixties or seventies. Their is nothing modern about this hotel. The TV was a puny 10'' CRT that we did not even turn on during our entire stay... But then if you have a kid that watches too much TV on a regular basis, this might be a welcomed feature... ;)

We chose this hotel knowing what to expect due to our previous experiences in Italy. We knew based on the price that we paid that we were not going to get a real 4 star hotel and that the amenities would be outdated.

Overall we had a very pleasant experience considering .

Beware that if you are choosing this hotel for the tennis; the court is old and uneven and there is a fee to pay for the court use which is not advertised on their site.

Wireless internet was not working and it remained broken for the length of our stay. Their is a PC available for internet use but you will have to wait your turn... I have a feeling that they were in no great hurry to fix the wireless network, so do not go to this hotel if you need to stay connected to the rest of the world.

Also beware that there is no poolside towel service so bring your own beach towels unless you want to use the bath towels provided in the room... But that was a hassle for us as we had to manage our towel use and rotation to make sure that we had dry towels when bath time came around...

But again, this hotel was the "cheapest" choice that we found for the type of amenities that we were looking for: pool, tennis, breakfast included with the room, an within 10 minutes walking distance of the beach.

So we believe that we got what we paid for and we did have a very pleasant vacation.

The Hotel is located in Tirrenia close to Pisa. We made day trips to Florence, Sienna, Lucca and San Giminiano. All located within 1.5 hours of hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We got a really good deal on this hotel, about 9kms out of Pisa. Tirrenia is a lovely town with great transport links to Pisa and beyond.
The hotel is old BUT spotlessly clean, fresh towels every day. Nice big room with balcony - it could do with a lick of paint in parts.
A suggestion would be that the hotel provided extra towels for the excellent pool which is there to relax in after a hard days sightseeing.
The breakfast was great but the coffee was horrible - and I do like my coffee in the mornings!
My friend and I had a great time and for a base we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Grand Hotel Golf Hotel is easily accessible from Pisa through taking the bus from the Pisa bus station. Takes about 30 minutes to get to Tirrenia. My boyfriend and I stayed here over Spring Break and it was very nice. Some things are outdated or need some fixing up as in our floor tiles were cracked, burn holes in the comforter. But the only thing that grossed me out was the mini bar has something empty in it. I wonder what else they didn't clean if they didn't clean out the fridge? Anyways, it would good enough for our 3 night stay and we enjoyed lots of time at the beach. It's not as close to the beach as it seems, it's probably a good 8 minute walk. Also many shops closed in Tirrenia before 5 when we were there but maybe it was because it was off season. The most gorgeous views of the sunset over the sea from our balcony though. We watched them every night together.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Hotel is located next to a golf course - probably busy during weekends. Provided you have a car - ideally located for sightseeing at Livorno and Pisa. The hotel is shown as 4 star but its current state hardly deserves a 3 star rating. The large rooms are comfortable and clean. The furniture and bathroom fittings are worn and need repair and/or replacement. Very friendly staff and very nice 'continental' breakfast buffet

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We travel to Toscany Pisa about 3-4 times a year because we have family members living in Pisa. You wont find a "cheap" and good hotel in this area especially during high-season, because this is TOSCANY after all with lots of Tourists. Most of the hotels are located in "old" buildings and as well the Grand Hotel Golf in Tirrenia. But we were offered a great deal so we can not complain about the price performance ration. The room was clean with working air condition. But you can see everywhere that the building is OLD! We had a wonderful view from our balcony - just dont look at the cracks and holes in the cement. The pool was nice and clean and we always found deck-chairs available. The standard is definitely not as a 4 star hotel, but much better than most of the other hotels in this area. The stuff was friendly and helpful. Parking was avaiable along the street as well. The location is very good, about 8 minutes walk to the beach and to the main street with all the restaurants and bars. There is a small amusement park right next to the hotel and so we had quite some noise on Saturday evening until late at night, but we did not mind. The walls must be very thin because you can hear your neighbor flushing the toilet. The bad was not very comfortable. But after all and giving the fact that you are in Toscany - this hotel is absolutely OK and if you get a good price it is definitely better than most of the other hotels in this area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Golf

Address: Via dell'Edera, 29 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa
Grand Hotel Golf Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.