We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely needs updating but good enough for me!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Golf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Golf to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Golf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dell'Edera, 29 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Definitely needs updating but good enough for me!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Grand Hotel Golf Hotel is easily accessible from Pisa through taking the bus from the Pisa bus station. Takes about 30 minutes to get to Tirrenia. My boyfriend and I stayed here over Spring Break and it was very nice. Some things are outdated or need some fixing up as in our floor tiles were cracked, burn holes in the comforter. But the only thing that grossed me out was the mini bar has something empty in it. I wonder what else they didn't clean if they didn't clean out the fridge? Anyways, it would good enough for our 3 night stay and we enjoyed lots of time at the beach. It's not as close to the beach as it seems, it's probably a good 8 minute walk. Also many shops closed in Tirrenia before 5 when we were there but maybe it was because it was off season. The most gorgeous views of the sunset over the sea from our balcony though. We watched them every night together.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Hotel is located next to a golf course - probably busy during weekends. Provided you have a car - ideally located for sightseeing at Livorno and Pisa. The hotel is shown as 4 star but its current state hardly deserves a 3 star rating. The large rooms are comfortable and clean. The furniture and bathroom fittings are worn and need repair and/or replacement. Very friendly staff and very nice 'continental' breakfast buffet

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We travel to Toscany Pisa about 3-4 times a year because we have family members living in Pisa. You wont find a "cheap" and good hotel in this area especially during high-season, because this is TOSCANY after all with lots of Tourists. Most of the hotels are located in "old" buildings and as well the Grand Hotel Golf in Tirrenia. But we were offered a great deal so we can not complain about the price performance ration. The room was clean with working air condition. But you can see everywhere that the building is OLD! We had a wonderful view from our balcony - just dont look at the cracks and holes in the cement. The pool was nice and clean and we always found deck-chairs available. The standard is definitely not as a 4 star hotel, but much better than most of the other hotels in this area. The stuff was friendly and helpful. Parking was avaiable along the street as well. The location is very good, about 8 minutes walk to the beach and to the main street with all the restaurants and bars. There is a small amusement park right next to the hotel and so we had quite some noise on Saturday evening until late at night, but we did not mind. The walls must be very thin because you can hear your neighbor flushing the toilet. The bad was not very comfortable. But after all and giving the fact that you are in Toscany - this hotel is absolutely OK and if you get a good price it is definitely better than most of the other hotels in this area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PB2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

My husband and I have just returned after spending a week at this hotel and it was amazing. The staff couldn't be more helpful especially at reception and at the bar. I had previously e mailed the hotel for directions on public transport from the airport and they e mailed me back with details of what bus to catch. The gardens are so beautiful and it was a pleasure to sit by the pool and admire the abundance of flowers. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the towels and bedding pristine white. We stayed on a bed/breakfast basis and there was so much choice at breakfast. The bus service into Pisa is every half an hour and costs 2 Euros. There is also the bus into Livorno for 1.80 Euro where there is an Italian market. The beach is about a 5 minute walk away from the hotel and the hotel is surrounded by forest- so relaxing.. We booked with EasyJet and it was so reasonable. It was such a lovely holiday

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed here for one night having booked it on the internet as a four star hotel which it certainly was not. On arrival, the male receptionist did not welcome us to the hotel, simply presented us with our bill, and handed a key with a golf ball hanging from it, no word of breakfast, where it was served or at what time, no mention of checking out, took passports and stated to come back down for them later. Breakfast disgraceful and unedible, same rude reception staff on checking out, will never return here again. Needs customer care training. There is little to do in surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank festerandthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tirrenia hotels

Maribor
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We just got back from the Hotel Golf and we are really very dissappointed. We stayed for one night. First the price on the internet does not match the price in the hotel, the staff was very unkind, dirty bedding, the door did not lock from the inside, appliances in the bathroom were safety hazard and the furniture from the 70's. Then we asked the recepcion people to please give us another room. The second room was the same with the exeption of a bathroom that was renovated. It was late in the night and we have been traveling for a few days all over the Italy ,so we gave in. We would never consider going back and we strongly advise against it. Four star hotel????!!!!!!!.......Please !!!...... Not even half a star!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lea-Z-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgolftirrenia, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Golf, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Dear Sir, we regret that you have encountered many problems during the few hours of your stay. we have done to improve many of the things you reported, we are sure that if your stay was longer than we could show you all our kindness and professionalism. Thank you for your thinking that has helped us to improve the residence of other customers.
Sincerely.
Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Rooms are spacious, bathroom was amazing.
arrived at night, so when we opened the shutters in the morning and looked out - what a stunning view on the balcony in the sunshine!
pool and tennis court area looked good although we were there out of season so it was closed off. i imagine in summer it's nice.
there really isn't much within walking distance but Pisa isn't too far away.
Don't think we even spoke to any staff - it was very quiet and no one was really around. As i say, it was off peak.

probably a bit too pricey for what we go. I agree with other reivews, it's not really a 4* but i don't have any major complaints. probably wouldn't stay again as i'd look to give somewhere else a try.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keep-on-exploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirrenia
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#4 of 7 in Tirrenia
3.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Green Park Resort
Green Park Resort
#1 of 2 in Calambrone
3.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
8.9 mi away
AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera Blu
Hotel Riviera Blu
#2 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Golf

Address: Via dell'Edera, 29 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa
Grand Hotel Golf Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing