We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Italian Get Away!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Typical Italian Get Away!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for a bit of sightseeing, beach/relaxing holiday this is a hotel for you. The hotel is on the main area of Tirrenia, right next to hustle and bustle of restaurants, shops and market stalls. There's also bus stops at the top of the street, where there are buses to Pisa every 15-20mins throughout the day.
The hotel is a bit outdated but it just gives out traditional Italian feel to it, the other guests were mostly Italian families with young children to teenagers. Hotel is quite big so I didn't feel overcrowded. Even at the pool, which is a massive Olympic sized pool, there was plenty of sun loungers always available and plenty of room for people to splash about. Also there is a private beach with more sun loungers so we didn't have to worry about getting up early and getting spaces.
Breakfast was good, plenty of food arranging from continental to some cooked breakfast (scrambled eggs & bacon, sausages). Enough to feel you up til dinner time.
Only thing about this hotel was that at weekends it can be quite loud as it's quite closer to the centre of the town and also air conditioning can be loud at night when you are trying to sleep.
Overall, it's not a luxurious hotel but it's ideal for family and a good base if you are travelling surrounding area (ie.Pisa & Florence). Also, the restaurants and gelato places in Tirrenia are quite reasonably priced compared to Pisa/Florence!

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    140
    91
    27
    16
See reviews for
106
110
7
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was quite an expensive holiday for a 4 star hotel in August compared to last year's holiday in Menorca. We paid an extra £500 per person for this holiday but can't work out what we got for the additional cost. The hotel room was very basic and disappointing. We requested another room with a balcony and we changed room after 3 days. Although we got the balcony we requested the room it's self was little better.
Pros: very clean throughout the hotel both inside and outside, all the facilities were immaculate. The pool is a definite plus along with the sun loungers and daily pool/beach towels. The beach is private and again with allocated parasol and sun loungers. The restaurant and menu was good with the evening menu being Al a Carte. All the staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: most hotel guests were Italians, with a few Spanish, French, Germany and only one or two British. The majority of Italians appear to bring their dog on holiday with them and surprisingly some bring their dog into the restaurant in dog bags! The front of the hotel is rather tired looking as are the rooms. The entertainment was random and not publicised or promoted in the hotel, so hit and miss. This was such a pity as one evening a rather excellent female singer gave a wonderful performance to only a handful of people. Beware of the the Mosquitos, I had several nasty bites and noticed I wasn't the only one. Despite spraying regularly with repellant, they seemed resistant.
Overall 3 star hotel with a 4 star beach and pool.

Room Tip: Request a balcony as not all rooms have one. Our first room was like the black hole of Calcutta with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived about 10.30 at night and proceeded to spend the next 20 minutes trying to find a way in to this massive hotel resort. Finally found a small gate having been directed by a local restaurant.
The room was ok but for a four star hotel, disappointing. Only a very small number of channels worked on the TV, tiny shower.

The restaurant within the complex was lovely - reasonable prices and serving beyond 11pm so it was a great first night meal but then on finishing, even the small gate into the hotel we had first found was locked and I had to throw my daughter over the gate to get help to let me in (no bell!).

The breakfast was the worst we have had in italy.Rubbery egg, under ripe fruit.

The pool is huge ( like lots of places in italy you need a swimming hat) but by 9am already had 5 songs being played very loudly on a loop. My daughter enjoyed the water slide. It is right by the sea and has a private beach. The beach side restaurant is also lovely but not cheap.

All in all whilst the beach and the situation (20 mins from Pisa airport) are brilliant I can't rate the hotel highly.

Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our 3rd.time here,friendly hotel with a Big pool & and private beach!Nice restaurants,loung,bar!Superb breakfast.plenty activities for children(club)Hotels is the center Of the small town! We will come back most probably next year!☀️

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World city
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 13 nights as family and all had a good time. Hotel is looking dated, but was clean and staff were helpful.

Pros: Excellent pool and beach (what we came for), WiFi good in our room, kids club good (speaking English), bus stop outside (every 15 mins to Pisa at 2 euro fare) - this stops by train station in Pisa and you can see Tuscany cheaply by train (English ticket machines), close to airport (20mins 40 euro cab), helpful staff, clean hotel, our room was quite, excellent A/C.

Cons: Quite expensive, poor evening entertainment, dated looking, Triennia itself is OK but no Nice or Monaco.

Tips: Ask for room on upper floors away from Karaoke bar, no need to have dinner package in hotel - there are 20 restaurants directly outside all good value (5 euro for pizza; pasta 8 euro, litre of wine 10 euro). Don't buy beer from pool bar (small can 4 euro), use adjoining beach restaurant (big 500ml beer 5 euro) and sit on balcony with excellent sea views. If on budget, plenty of cheap takeaways nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for room on upper floors away from Karaoke bar and ask for balcony; these don't come as stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel itself is very well situated close to very good restaurants. However the rooms are somewhat basic. Although the room was relatively large they need updating and the shower is strangely very small for the size of the bathroom. Air Conditioning is a little weak and likely needs to be serviced. Mosquitos are a problem for the area of Tirennia and the hotel could benefit from citronella candles; although the rooms were mosquito free. There is wifi throughout the hotel but requires login every hour. All in all not recommended for business stays.

In terms of the facilities the conference rooms are a good size, lunches (buffet) were very well prepared (with good veggie options), breakfast was OK, the staff are very pleasent and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing away from the car park which can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for three days in April and while it was adequate and the staff very friendly, it was like entering a 1970's time warp.

We also missed that the pool was closed, it was on the web site but in tiny print.

We didnt eat at the hotel but went into the samll twon and had a good pizza.

i would say this is a 2-3 star hotel not the 4 as listed.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirrenia
1.9 mi away
Green Park Resort
Green Park Resort
#1 of 1 in Calambrone
3.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera Blu
Hotel Riviera Blu
#1 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Abitalia Tower Plaza
Abitalia Tower Plaza
#13 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 938 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Golf
Grand Hotel Golf
#6 of 7 in Tirrenia
3.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tirrenia
Grand Hotel Continental Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.