We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beach. Adequate hotel. Good location. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely beach. Adequate hotel. Good location. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Get the best of Pisa, beautiful private beach, bus right outside into tower area of Pisa €2/15 mins, lots of restaurants nearby, few shops, coffee and ice cream bars (with wifi). Feels safe. Pool requires swimming hat and is a bit sensible but lovely to sit around and bar/beach side lovely. Free wifi (not great). Rooms basic but clean. A bit worn but then I didn't pay 4/5 start prices! Staff very helpful and friendly. Train from Pisa central to airport (bus) or Florence (or Siena) straightforward. €8 to Florence. Use machine at Pisa station as translates to English. Luggage storage at Pisa central also great.

Stayed June 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    121
    76
    21
    15
See reviews for
88
92
7
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited hotel in June. Found location fantastic and a great base to visit Pisa and Lucca. Parts of hotel a little run down but facilities excellent. Loved the pool, exercise classes around pool for the brave!, the umbrellas and deck chairs on beach, all first class.
Staff friendly, very clean
Only disappointment for me was I would have loved fresh fruit, not tinned fruit at breakfast. Wouldn't put me off, definitely due another visit

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Stayed on the hotel during a package trip. It is all right but not what you expect of a four star hotel. Furniture and style is outdated. Wifi in room was very unstable even if room was close to the reception. Breakfast OK, but not with many homecooked parts. Dinner in the restaurant OK too, though often with long time between the dishes. Swimmingpool is huge!!!

Room Tip: Single rooms do not have balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Attended a conference and stayed at the GHC in Tirrenia and was impressed for the most part. First of all, the reception and the service were fantastic. All of the staff at the front desk were very friendly and greeted us with smiles. Went to the pool, albeit briefly, as it was in May and not heated. Of course, the good folks from Northern Europe found it to be comfortable. The location was near to the beach and myriad restaurants, so one really does not need a car. The rooms were large and clean but lacked outlets. An ample breakfast bar was available and their bar was cozy. The only thing I would suggest would be outlets and better WiFi. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are on the courtyard side. Rooms that face the water can be a bit loud due to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

What a disappointment! Especially booked because of huge swimming pool, open at arrival at 14:00, but CLOSED at 17:00. Son crying and sad. Officials the polis open until 19:30. Receptionist lying that it's closed because of the weather, rain. BUT IT'S JUST A LITTLE CLOUDY. (Only to give the pool man half a day off.) I hate lying. Shame on the hotel staff.

A horrible end of a great trip with my son to Tuscany.

Never ever again. Avoid this hotel. Avoid it!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

It is perhaps unkind to say that our stay was surprisingly good- but given all the comments online I was not sure whether I had done a mistake in booking this hotel so much out of the way from Pisa centre just to save a few quid.

Plusses: great location for the beach, evidence of a once-great hotel, well connected to Pisa by a regular bus service, very near a beautiful sandy beach, great seafood restaurant next door.

Minuses: cannot drink tap water! (Maybe that's a Tirrenia issue, not just this hotel), everything looks 1990s, Lots of noise from outside the hotel till late in the night.

Staff: We are very thankful to Alessandra for sorting out our booking problem and finding us a quadruple room as originally booked with hotels.com.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

I always read Trip Advisor reviews mainly for location and to see if there are any really bad issues that are re-occurring, This one seemed in a reasonable location and as we went B&B i wasn't too worried about the food reviews.
we arrived on 6th Sept about 8.30pm, check in was very quick, we were given our key and a map to the beach, on that score we were pleasantly surprised as some reviews had said the beach chairs were chargeable and some had said they were included, I had contacted the hotel who had confirmed an 8 Euro charge, but with this card we got free use of two chairs and an umbrella on the private beach, so impressed. We didn't use the pool as i sat on the edge one day and dangled my feet and it was freezing, so we preferred to swim in the sea as that was warmer!
The cleaners were always around and towels could be changed each day if they were left on the floor and the beds made each day.
I had asked for a balcony and we got one overlooking the front, which was nice as we could see the sea and watch the boats, there was a row of market stalls opposite the hotel so good to watch the people milling about, there was a bar that played music quite late, but we enjoyed sitting on the balcony listening to the singers as there was not much nightlife in the area,
breakfast was usual continental, the rolls were very nice and there was a good selection of jams, spreads, ham & cheese as well as donuts & croissants, there was also fruit, yoghurts and eggs, would have been nice to have something a bit different as it was the same every day. We didn't eat at the hotel as we liked to try the local restaurants which were very nice and we had some really lovely food, the only thing you need to know is that they don't open till around 7.30, we went out on our first night around 7.15 and nowhere was open!
we did try to get a drink at the bar on our first night to be ignored, the lady behind the bar served someone then we waited and she walked off, so not a good impression! we didn't bother trying again.
we got a bus to Livorno and also Pisa, you need to go into the Tabaconist to buy a ticket as it is cheaper than buying a ticket on the bus, it was only a couple of euro's each way and fairly regular.
as i said there was not much to do in the evening so after we had eaten we would go for a little walk then watch the sea with an ice cream as there was a lovely Gelateria just outside the hotel!
There is a computer set up with a printer as we had to print our boarding passes, so that was convenient and we had no problem using internet in our room.
staff we found to be helpfull and answered any questions we had and arranged our taxi to the airport cheaper than the one we got from the airport to the hotel.
the rooms had a hairdryer, as well as complimentary shower gel, shampoo & shower caps, there was also a fridge with mini bar - expensive so we took out the items and re-filled with our own drinks. did know already that there was no kettle so i took my own, but i really think they should provide tea / coffee facilities.
would advise that the majority of guests were German, had no problem with this but we did tend to find everything was more geared towards them.
could also have done with a few more English channels on T.V we were limited to news channels!
Weather - I always like to see what weather people are getting! the first few days it was lovely and hot and reached the early 30's dropping to mid 20's on an evening, we had a day of torrential rain and thunderstorms then the warm weather again and up in late 20's, so couldn't complain too much, last day was a bit overcast but still warm.
we paid around £100 per night for B&B so not cheap, but then Italy isn't a cheap place! although we found the restaurants very reasonable.
All in all a very nice holiday but a few improvements would have made it much better.

Room Tip: Balcony's were either overlooking the pool or the road, we preferred the road as more to look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tirrenia
Grand Hotel Continental Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.