We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential to be great, let down by staff and food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Tirrenia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Potential to be great, let down by staff and food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed 2 nights after a fabulous 2 week self-catering holiday in in-land Tuscany, to treat ourselves to a nice hotel and the kids to a beach break before flying home from Pisa. Sadly disappointed by hotel, which had so much potential but was let down by so many cumulative little things.

First, the good things. Spacious family room, lovely beach, nice pool. Table tennis and children's playground, nice garden area. Sadly, reception staff were neither welcoming nor helpful. Having struggled to find the hotel, when we finally located it I popped in to ask where to park while husband and young children waited in car outside. Hotel car park is mentioned on website. Firstly, receptionist told me she could not give me this information until I had handed over all passports and filled in check-in paperwork - I tried to explain that we would park up safely and then all come in to do this, but she said this wasn't possible. Registering took ages, about 20 minutes. Then she said we could park outside for free but risk towing as there was a local event on the next day, or pay 15E per day for the hotel car park. When I queried this, as their website hadn't mentioned a charge, she immediately waived the charge and gave me a permit. We parked according to her map and the next day received a demand for payment from the hotel on the windscreen. Not ideal! Went back to reception who said to ignore this.

We requested quiet room on check-in, because of young children, and were assured it would be very quiet. Unfortunately it overlooked the street outside, where the local event proved to be a sports tournament accompanied by loud throbbing beat music from 6pm-1am. Didn't manage to get kids to sleep till midnight as so loud.

Breakfast looked nice, tasted horrible. Doubt fruit juices had seen much fruit, tasted more like orange squash from bottle diluted with water. Plastic cheese. Worse coffee (from machine) ever, poor show for Italy.

Charged tourist tax on check-out rather than check-in. As we were heading straight from hotel to airport, and charge was unexpected, literally had to count out payment in small coins which visibly annoyed receptionist. Fed-up with the eye rolling, I politely suggested that it might be a good idea to tell people about the charge when they checked in - this was just intended as a helpful comment, but unleashed a torrent of ranting in response. With the money lying on the desk, and no end of the rant in sight, I literally had to say, look, it's all there, check it if you want but I need to leave for the airport. I got another rant about foreign tourists, so just quietly walked away. Not how anyone wants to leave a hotel! Could have been lovely, but very badly let down by staff. We won't be back.
This is the only negative review I've ever given on Trip Advisor, and I'm mainly doing it in the hope that the management get the staff to buck their ideas up so others have nicer time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    95
    59
    19
    12
See reviews for
69
81
5
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is very central for beach and restaurants and unfortunately for the bars. Check in was fine, staff fairly friendly. We had 2 rooms interconnecting so the kids had their own area..great you say.. not really.. it was directly over the bar which meant music was blaring til at leqst 1am.. there was no remote for the tv, air conditioning didn't work , the wall light didn't work and the lamp beside the bed was dangerous-wires, bulb and lamp loose from base. There was a bulb missing from the other room and hair dryer was broke. I emailed the lady alessandra who had made the reservation for me and she immediately called the room.. so I was impressed with the comeback - thank you. She had all the fittings fixed and did offer us other rooms but we had settled and too much hassle to move (should have really taken up her offer as I had forgot how loud music was on the evening) .

Restaurant staff were attentive especially pietro who was kind to change an order at last minute. The hotel is dated although rooms are a good size.

Swimming pool large but kids pool is a bit small especially if theres a few kids in it. You are given towels and caps for the pool. Caps must be worn by everyone when in the pool. Beach is nice and the hotel includes umbrella and deck chairs. Bar prices are reasonable.
You have to pay a 50neuro deposit for parking out front free of charge but its returned at end of stay.

Markets outside all the time.

Pisa airport and town is 20mins away.

Probably wouldnt stay here again as there's not much else to the resort, I woukd try further up the coast line.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greve in Chianti, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel Continental in Tirrenia, we will not stay there again.
Incredibly snotty staff, totally uninterested in their guests.
Sighs and rolls their eyes when you ask questions about parking, etc.
The hotel needs to be updated, it's not fresh, everything feels old. The pool is very cold.
Breakfast is ok, but very few tables on the terrace.
We got no information during our stay regarding facilities, garage, the town etc.
In the evening it was very load music and noicy around the hotel until late night.
This hotel was probably very nice when it was new, but now, the price is way too high for a hotel that is living now on what was good 15 years ago....
Booring town, nothing to do here.
Bad internet, very small shower.

Room Tip: Bad internet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you plan to sleep well, don't stay in this hotel. The beds and, especially, the pillows, are extremely bad. Hotel staff was, in general, somewhat un-friendly, except the pool staff; they were helpful and very friendly.

The location is quite okay, and so is the hotel beach. The hotel garage is 15 Euros per night. Breakfast is average. The hotel is clean but quite worn.

All in all: Our first and last stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the beautiful pictures without any consideration for proximity to the train station. Since we were touring Europe by train we thought this would a central location to hold our luggage while touring Pisa, Florence, Elba and other nearby locations - this is not the case. When we arrived in Pisa and started looking for trains to Tirrenia, we realized that we had to bus or taxi it - since we did not understand the buses, we took a taxi. This first taxi ripped us off for around 70 euro (we found out later this was not a good/average deal). The hotel and location were beautiful, but they were located too far away from the train for us. We did eventually figure out the bus stop outside of the hotel to take us back to Pisa but the buses do not run late at night.

The hotel and staff were nice but the restaurant is only open at certain times - the entire city appears to be this way. Good luck finding food between 3-6pm especially. We still used the hotel mainly to hold our bags so we didn't get to enjoy the swimming pool or much of the beach - but we were there at the end of May so the water was cold and choppy off the shore anyway and the weather was mostly cloudy and sprinkling rain. Across from the hotel there are sidewalk booths where they sell knock-off name brands and other trinkets like in Mexico. The beach side has ice cream shops, small item shops and what appeared to be a type of casino. When we went inside the "casino" it was few slot type machines but appeared to still be under renovation - nothing special.

The hotel was beautiful but a bit overpriced for the storage we used it for - I think out of 5 days we only spent 1 actual night at the hotel. Our biggest complaint is the inconvenience of getting to the train station. We were informed the hotel does offer a shuttle to the train station, but it is not included in room rate (it is NOT free) - they charge 25 euros per person and since there were 2 of us, that would be ~50 euros. We found out that an honest taxi will take us both to the train station for ~40 euros so we do not understand the shuttle. The bus will take you to the train station for about ~2 euros per person if it is running.

The hotel is beautiful and seems like a great deal if you have a car - although on the weekend the pier gets really busy and appears as though all parking spots are taken as far as the eye can see.

Room Tip: If I were you, I'd avoid the balcony street view of the knock-off vendors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

From the outside the hotel looks a bit austere and in need of some aesthetic improvements but the level of customer service was generally very good. The facilities were of a good standard and the swimming pool great but.................. why is it necessary for guests to be forced to wear a swimming cap before being allowed in the water? The pool area looked a bit too clinical and would benefit from being decorated with flowers and plants to give it some colour and character.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Although this hotel looks aged and nothing special from the outside, inside it`s completely different. OK so a good old 30 minute makeover was required in the room to drag it into to 21st century but everything else is very good. the Olympic sized swimming pool was a little cool but very accessible, and the beach was only a matter of minutes away with plenty of lounges readily available for usage by holiday guests. Only issue was the fact the hotel is 10 miles away from Pisa and cost 35 euros from the airport! (cost 2.90 euros on bus to Pisa centre) Overall a very nice alternative to the usual sun/sea weekend breaks, especially as we went in early June when it was 30C+

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Continental 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tirrenia
Grand Hotel Continental Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.