We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, just for a night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tirrenia
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ok, just for a night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed one night on in December 2013. Dinner was acceptable, breakfast was ok. Rooms were clean enough. Recommend one takes Lysol and bleach wipes just in case. The bathroom was small, kind of dingy, and the shower tight for one person only. Water drained slowly, so shower quickly. The staff was wonderful. Staff also had a great map of Pisa to help one plan their time. Olympic sized pool and Jacuzzi looked interesting. It was nice looking from the balcony to the beach. I was about a two minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    111
    63
    20
    13
See reviews for
80
86
5
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bamberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed one night on a bus tour to Rome from Germany in December 2013. We were two buses with over one hundred tourists. Dinner was acceptable, breakfast was ok. Rooms were clean enough but the toilet had a scratch which made it look like someone just used it. That's always disturbing. Room carpet should have been changed two years ago. Pool was a non-issue since it was winter. The hotel looks like it was elegant a couple of decades ago but no longer. I would go back to the hotel based on price and not expect too much but a clean room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a really nice room for the price with sea view and the reception staff was really friendly helping us getting reservations for restaurants, etc. HOWEVER do not use the hotel restaurant. The chef de service was arrogant and totally unfriendly. We had to sit at the worst table in the whole room with the service table just beside our table (so the service staff passed our table every few seconds to get or bring back the menus, cutlery or cheese for the other guest, not something you would expect in a restaurant of a four star hotel...), even if half of the restaurant was empty. Apparently all tables were reserved but most of them remained emptly until we left at after 9.30 pm.... the food was really not good, we even had stomach problems afterwards.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel looks like its best days have already passed (in late 80ties) but it still has a great attractions like:

- an Olympic-sized swimming pool
- a private beach (a bit crowded though)
- good location close to the restaurants and on the beachside
- impressive breakfast

The interior is weary and needs renovation.

The overall we enjoyed our short stay as we appreciated the above mentioned attractions

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just returned from a week here.Had a great time.Hotel could do with a bit of a facelift, however, Staff helpful & friendly, Pool excellent, great to have towels provided for pool or beach use. Restaurant good, although some days the choices were a little to be questioned. All in all a great place to be based to explore the surrounding areas of Tuscany, Buses every 15mins to Pisa and then a good train service to Florence, Luca and many other towns at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for a week, half board & couldn't have asked for more in terms of the quality/selection of food available & the service provided. The rooms could do with an update but the olympic sized swimming pool & nearby beach are ideal for relaxing. The hotel is a great base for visiting Pisa, Florence & Lucca but Tirrenia itself doesn't have a lot to offer. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vicenza
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The location is lovely, right on the beach and in the center of town. The pool is huge, with lots of sun chairs and umbrellas. Breakfast was nice...you could even eat outside on the patio overlooking the ocean. The hotel, however, seems a little run down. The room was a nice size and clean, but the furnishings seemed worn. Our wing also smelled stongly of cigarette smoke. The room was quite expensive, so I found value for the money to be somewhat lacking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tirrenia
Grand Hotel Continental Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.