We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tirrenia
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

After reading other people's opinions, I was really worried about this hotel and area. But we loved it. Hotel, rooms and pool area really clean. Great choice for breakfast, staff really helpful, clean towels at the pool or beach every day. No problem sleeping at night, really quiet. Tirrenia is only a small place but has some great resturants, never had a bad meal. If you want a lot of nightlife this is not the place for you. We loved it and would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for room nearest to sea, with balcony. We were few doors away from gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    112
    64
    20
    14
See reviews for
80
86
5
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, South Carolina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We selected this hotel based on reviews. The hotel refers to itself as a resort hotel and that is true in that it is on the ocean and is set up similar to other resort hotels with activities for guests. You cannot compare this hotel to an American style resort hotel. Aside from being on the ocean, the location was questionable. Poor parking. If you can't parallel park in European sized spaces you may never find a spot. The other side of the street in front of the hotel is lined, day and night, with vendors selling junk. The rooms are relatively small and well worn. The swimming pool is gigantic. I've never seen one so large at a hotel. Breakfast was great. It is out on an elevated terrace with a view of the ocean. The variety and quality of the offerings on the buffet was very good. Since this was a business trip I didn't get to experience all that the hotel had to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I love this place and can't wait to return. My family had a great time at the beach and there are many good places to eat within walking distance. The rooms are a nice size and clean. The pools are really clean and huge. I love that they had a playground for kids and some play toys at the beach as well. The gym could use a little work.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hotel is in a great area, hotel staff mostly friendly as long as you don't ask them to go out of their way. Lost my laundry, tried to explain to staff who just weren't interested. No follow up,on what happened to lost laundry, basically did not care. I have stayed at this hotel several times for business and they have been ok. Suppose it depends own who is on duty at the time than again its quite common to lose things in Italy and their probably use to it! Rooms are nice but you can here people talking on balconies all night which sound like their in your room which can be annoying

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2,115 helpful votes 2,115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I (29 and 27 respectively) stayed for a week in the Grand Continental Hotel from 1-8 June 2013 for our dream week holiday travelling and exploring some of Tuscany's most famous sites. I have broken down the review as follows:

Staff - 10/10

Incredibly friendly and very helpful. The reception staff were very welcoming and I can have no complaints. Helped us to arrange car hire and were always very helpful over any issue.

Entertainment - 2/10

Non-existant. What were we expecting? The hotel had the general ambience of an episode of the Chuckle Brothers (nothing wrong with that but I learned from an early age, the Chuckles were the only two people about town) - the hotel for the majority of the week was empty. It's June... the piano in the reception concorse was supposed to be staffed all the time, it was staffed once all week for about 20 minutes (from what we saw).

On the Saturday night we had dinner accompanied by two singers and piano - they were good. What happened? one night only and nothing more for the rest of the week.

Hotel bar - unstaffed during the day, if you wanted a drink at 2pm you had to ask reception to send someone to serve you - not good. Pool bar - unstaffed throughout the entire week. They might argue it's not peak season, it's June!! June is holiday period, please staff this in future! As paying guests, we expected a fully functional bar.

Facilities - 7/10

Olympic pool, you can't argue with that but the water was too cold. Maybe I'm being a wimp but it did feel like you were jumping into a block of ice. No complaints about that silly swim cap rule, it's annoying, but it didn't bother me (for most part the pool was empty anyway).

There is no gym.

Bedroom - 6/10

Reasonable. It was clean. We did have two singles pushed together to make a double - little bit weird, but ok. Air con - atricious. The air con lets the room down massively, too hot and too stuffy. We had it set to 5 degrees but it felt more like 25 degrees. The walls are quite thin but generally we didn't hear much and got a decent nights kip. Room also fairly clean.

Food - 8/10

We stayed half board and the food was close to excellent. We were really treated. Evening meals consist of a buffet starter (usually a wide choice) then you get two courses where you choose from 1 of 3 options - always exceptional variety (for meat lovers, not great if you're a veggie) and the dishes were cooked fresh, throughout the week they were all prepared to good quality. A fussy point, meal times start at 7.30pm and go on til 10ish - I would have preferred a 7pm start.

Clientele...

Suitable for older couples, there wasn't much doing for us youngsters ;-)

Predominantly other European nationalities, a fair amount of Germans and mostly couples over 40 with young families.

Location - 6/10

It's a 25-30 minute bus trip to Pisa - buses come on the hour and then every half-hour. They are reliable and they are cheap (2.30 Euro per trip) - reasonable. However, if you want to see the sites consider a hotel in central Pisa- this is more central for the connections (i.e. rail etc). If you want to go Florence, Siena, Lucca, San Gimignano by public transport you have to get the bus to Pisa first then get a train from there.

To get to Florence from this hotel will take 1.5 / 2 hours door-to-door (depending on your connections) - Lucca, roughly the same time. San Gimignano, we were told 4-hours by public transport (similar for Siena) - we did this by car (1.5 hours).

Resort - 3/10

Felt like an old town out of Back to the Future. In need of a facelift. Very Italian and most of the shops close for afternoon siestas. The restaurants around are few and far between and overall there is not much in Tirrenia. The bars lack any real ambience and the town is fairly sleepy at night. There is one bar/club which is where the majority of the locals seemed to frequent - but not much for tourists.

Overall -

We wouldn't stay at this hotel or resort again because it was a little on the quiet side and too many things in the hotel were left unstaffed. The air con in the room was awful but the food was lovely and the staff v.pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

we stayed at the grand hotel continental in tirrenia tuscany for our honeymoon last september, we stayed for 2 weeks, the hotel was amazing and the staff so helpful, we had an amazing sea view and could see the beach from our room and also all the way down to livorno, sitting on the balcolny drinking red wine and looking out to sea was amazing, with beautiful sunsets. the food at the hotel was first class, a different meal every night during our 2 week stay, tuscan night was amazing, there was so much choice of food and desserts. the pool area was so clean and the olympic sized pool was total out of this world, the whole area was amazing and we will certainly be going back to tuscany, the weather was amazing for the 2 weeks we were there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I arrived here with a colleague in early September at the late afternoon, no where to park! Thankfully being two of us he managed to get the hotel to open the underground car park which had plenty of room.

The hotel look grand and the rooms are large. For a business traveller it was okay, it had working wi-fi which was sometimes hit and miss and often you had to evacuate to the lobby to guarantee it was going to work.

Breakfast was the usual Italian fare, not very much but enough. If you expect something substantial you're not going to get it.

The room rate was pretty good considering there were still some late holiday makers there.

It was okay as a business hotel, perhaps a little much, if you're on a higher budget it would be pretty good for nice short holiday in Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tirrenia
Grand Hotel Continental Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.