We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault this Hotel at all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tirrenia
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Could not fault this Hotel at all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hi travellers, Me and my husband recently stayed here for 8 nights as part of our honeymoon we got back yesterday and i must say i couldn't fault it one bit!
It was amazing, friendly staff, always said good morning to us.
The rooms were lovely bathroom, bed and a safe which to be honest is all you need if your visiting Pisa and Florence because you wont be in the room at all!!! Pretty quiet outside at night, but it got busy at the weekends we stayed in 109. They have free Wifi too just ask at reception for the password.
Breakfast was brilliant, tons of choice yoguts, cereals, toast, eggs, Tea, coffee, juice, fruit and it was always replenished when stuff ran out and you could eat outside for breakfast which is a treat.
The beach was fab and empty most days! so definatly go off peak, you didnt get none of that people getting up early and saving thier beds and chairs it was just stroll down and no one was there! It was so peaceful, even by the pool! You do ahve to wear swimming hats which reception supply just for hygiene reasons which was no bother at all as everyone was wearing them.
You could have dinner at the hotel but we chose not too, we had dinner at a different restaurant every night, Toscana and ChiChiBoi are fabulous and inexpensive aroud Tirrenna even the pizzera right opposite the hotel was lovely. we also went into Pisa for dinner too. The most we paid for dinner was 50 euroes ( it was my husbands birthday though)
The bus station was directly by the hotel, 3 euroes each to get into Pisa and sometimes we didnt even pay because the bus driver ran out of tickets.
Take some insect repellent with you though, as it was at least 30 everyday and they like to come out at night!
Any thing you needed at the hotel they got for you, they had maps and bus timetabels, a nice bar, which was cheap enough 2.50 for pot of tea.
Its great that you can just hop on a bus to Pisa or go out to dinner, there is a marina which is about an hours walk. Really beautiful, we walked up there saw the Sunset had a nice dinner and strolled back, if your not a walker you can hop on the bus too as it stops there on the way to Pisa.
All in all a really great faimly, couples or even solo and friends holiday bit of beach and major sightseeing too! Absolutley fantastic would recommened to any one who wants to see the sights and relax too. Florence was only an hour away by train and cost us 7.00 euroes each, its more expensive to get into london these days so take advantage of it.
Also take a pack of cards or some crosswords for the evening and spend some quality time with whoever your going with.
Im sending my mum and dad there to experiance it and i me and my husband said we will go back for out 1 year anniversary.
Please dont listen to bad reviews, people can be fussy these days, if you just want to see and experiance italy and have some FUN this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    111
    63
    20
    13
See reviews for
80
86
5
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here for a week from 1st September 2012 with my 2 daughters age 16 and 21. Nothing to do in the evenings at all zilch! Local restuarants but no pubs/music anywhere. Great location for visiting Pisa but that is about it. Pool was freezing not heated at all - and you have to wear silly swimming hats which is a pain in the backside. It was a nice break but certainly wouldn't be returning. Apartment was spacious but dated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

A very nice hotel in a lovely Italian resort. The beach was beautiful, the swimming pool is amazing!! The entertainment staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had a fantastic holiday! The resort is small with a limited number of restaurants but the food was excellent in all of them.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abertillery
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a week from 1/9/12. booked a room with balconey. The room given had no balconey was dingy very small with no view and overlooking a shopping mall. Was informed that we would be able to change on the Tuesday this did not happen and was offered a family room which was no differant. DO NOT believe the photo of the room in the brochure or on the site as there are only a few in the hotel. The hotel is built within a shopping complex and the area is very run down without any charm whatsoever. The pine woods are 2 small parks with benches? The food was very average and not up to 4 star standard. Very dissapointed with the standard of the hotel room and resort. It is ideal for getting to Pisa and Florence HOWEVER I WOULD NOT GO BACK OR RECOMEND THIS HOTEL OR RESORT!!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure that you have a room on the 2/3 floor with a balconey
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My partner and I (both 35) recently spent a week with Thompsons at this hotel. If you are looking for a great hotel with ambience, good food, lovely surroundings and a relaxed bedroom then STAY AWAY.

This hotel is a 2 star – it’s not had a refurb since 1970 – everything is rusting and there is NO green grass/a palm tree anywhere – only concrete (even by the pool). This is a small list of issues:

1. Bedroom – basic, basic, basic – no luxury whatsoever. A bed, TV, chair and a curtain. That’s it. Think Travelodge – find for one night but not longer. And a great view of a crumbling concrete building opposite (which should have been knocked down 20 years ago)
2. Pool – good size –however, surrounded by concrete and no trees, grass, shade
3. Beach – only has chairs, no sun loungers. You need to pay an additional 8 euros per person PER DAY to have a sun lounger on the beach
4. Food – breakfast – dreadful – terrible coffee (hard to do in Italy!), no fresh orange juice, no fresh fruit, no pastries, no choice
5. Dinner – basic buffet of salad and choice of 5 main courses all covered with the same tasting sauce
6. Entertainment – none – not even some background music after dinner outside for three of the evenings – totally dull, nothing to do, no atmosphere at all
7. No wifi - except for a charge
8. Area – awful – like an old British seaside resort desperately needing to be rejuvenated. You fill find lots of concrete parks, concrete paths and that’s it

For the £900 we each paid, it was terrible value for money – even £350 per person would be a lot.

Stay away unless you are using it as a base only – however, given the location it’s not a great place.

I have never written a review, but I didn’t want anyone else to have the same experience as we did – we are not snobby, just normal English people who wanted to have a nice holiday in a nice hotel as a treat.

Room Tip: Ask for one opposite the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from a lovely week in Tuscany - booked through Thomsons. Had half board option - good variety of food each night - excellent value. Olympic size pool was fantastic. Initial issue with room - we booked partial sea view and was allocated room with tiny window overlooking dustbins - sea on other side of building. This was changed after one night. Word of warning - I booked hotel on strength of gym- big mistake! It's 3 sides glass. - spectacular view of sea. However it has NO air conditioning and doesn't open until 9 - we worked out one evening - it was close to 50 degrees - sauna conditions and dangerous. Next time, we might book but won't bother with the workout!

Room Tip: Press for the room you were allocated - desk staff are skilled at fobbing off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here 1 night in July. Got in late and found some kind of carnival finsihing up in front of the hotel with trash and drunken people everywhere. Check-in employee was very pleasant. One of our two rooms did not have the 3 beds like we reserved and the manager had no clue what rooms had what and sent us back 3 more times to check out other rooms and none of them had the proper bedding. He did give us a thrid single room to fit us in. The rooms were as clean as they could get them, but the furnishing were from the 1940's, bedspreads, carpets, furniture. Overall the hotel had a creapy feeling like something from a Freddy Kruegar film.... I can't remember the last time I slept with the lights on, I had the extra single room! We did not use the pool as we were anxious to just through this. Overall, we found Pisa failry run down I would not recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: None of the countless rooms we tried had any updated features....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tirrenia
Grand Hotel Continental Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.