We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperite need of a freshening” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Tirrenia
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Desperite need of a freshening”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here 1 night in July. Got in late and found some kind of carnival finsihing up in front of the hotel with trash and drunken people everywhere. Check-in employee was very pleasant. One of our two rooms did not have the 3 beds like we reserved and the manager had no clue what rooms had what and sent us back 3 more times to check out other rooms and none of them had the proper bedding. He did give us a thrid single room to fit us in. The rooms were as clean as they could get them, but the furnishing were from the 1940's, bedspreads, carpets, furniture. Overall the hotel had a creapy feeling like something from a Freddy Kruegar film.... I can't remember the last time I slept with the lights on, I had the extra single room! We did not use the pool as we were anxious to just through this. Overall, we found Pisa failry run down I would not recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: None of the countless rooms we tried had any updated features....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    105
    59
    20
    11
See reviews for
67
80
5
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We are on a family holiday for 7 nights half board here at the Grand Continental booked through Thomsons. Everything is going very well. Good sized family room, food and service are very good and the massive pool and private beach are superb. My kids love the mini club and animation. The girls who run it are genuinely interested in the kids and make sure everyone has a lot of fun. The weather is hot and sunny all the way, just right.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My family and I would like to say thank you to Ludmila at the informaion desk. She speaks english, russian and italian perfectly.So it was easy to understand her. She was very helpful with informing us what the cities to visit. Ludmila gave us citymaps and booklets. She was always very responsive and ready to help.
Grateful family from Moscow.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Lovely hotel in good location to combine a beach and site seeing holiday. Right on the beach with huge pool. First impressions were good in that our room was not ready and we had to wait for over 2 hours. Hotel laid on complimentory drink and snacks and luggage was locked away, giving us time to explore the hotel facilities. Use of beach was very confusing as you were not permitted to use any bed, but had to use designated deck chairs (2 per room) away from the beach front. Not good if you have young kids that you want to keep an eye on. Sea looked a bit suspect, so we stayed by the hotel pool for rest of the stay. Our room was brilliant, as we were a family of 4 adults. We had interconnecting room with twin beds in one and twin together for a king size in the other, but only one bathroom. This was a bit of a challange in the mornings an getting ready for the evening. Both had air con and thank god for that, as it was very hot.
We were half board. Breakfast was lovely, as there is a roof terrace, as well as inside tables. Very varied menu serves from 7am to 10:15am, catering for all tastes. Evening meal in restaurant was very special with linen table clothes and waiter service. Buffet to start and 3 further courses.
Tirrenia itself a bit boring, A few bars and restaurants and smattering of shops, but nothing to do really in the evenings. Opposite hotel was little stalls selling a wide range of stuff and enjoyed the dealing to get price down. The only downside was there were also 'looki looki' trying to sell illegal fake goods. Be aware not to buy from them!! Police kept moving them on, but they kept coming back. No promenade to walk along the beach and all locked off at sundown, Water park located 15mins walk from hotel, as is the nearest supermarket. it cost us 20 Euros each to getinto the water park and another 10 each for sunbeds. Lovely kept pools and gardens and the flumes were fun, but all very expensive. Took bus to nearby Pisa, which is a must. Also did Thomson trip to San Gimiano and Sienna. That was a very expensive trip and car hire would have been much better and would have been able to spend more time there. No doubt though this is a beautiful part of Italy and the hotel was oneof the best that we have stayed in. My only complaint is that the main bar tender was a little rude and one of the reception staff was definately rude!! The rest of the staff were brilliant,particularly our 2 waiters.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the pool would be quieter as our room overlooked a bar and could be noisy well in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

In the US, you just don't see any hotels with an Olympic-sized pool, and the one here was lovely. Our sons, ages 9, 12, and 15 loved it, even with the required swim cap. Plenty of beach chairs and pool loungers, even in June, and these were included in the cost of the room.

We had a family room on the first floor. The location would have been poor if our children were younger, as the lounge singer could be heard until 11:00 from the room, but it didn't impact us very negatively. The room was nice, and was a connector, which was an unexpected bonus.... We didn't stay in many hotels where, as a parent, you could close an interior door:).

There is not much public beach area; each hotel seems to maintain a stretch of its "own" beach, and you are encouraged to stay in this area. The water in June was marvelous; gentle tide and sand bottom. Also fairly shallow, which would make it great for even younger kids. Lots of merchants wandering the beach offering goods for sale, but they were polite. We ate on the beach at a a little open air restaurant, the Mary, and the service was very friendly. The woman at the counter told us weekends were kind of crazy, so I'm glad we we there on a Thursday, when the atmosphere was laid back. This hotel is a great spot to unwind right on the beach if you are sightseeing in Pisa and looking for an overnight on the water, which we were.

The number one rated restaurant in town is about 200 yards from the front of the hotel; we ate here and it was probably the best pizza I have ever eaten. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear evening music, ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while travelling around italy lately. It is a lovely hotel right on the beach .The room is a bit dated but very comfortable. The breakfast was great , lots to choose from .The area is lovely with shops and cafes. The private beach is super , had lovely long walk on it .We didnt eat in the restaurent , instead sampled the nearby resaurent .
We had a lovely relaxing time at this hotel and would recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at the grand hotel continental for 2 weeks in June, the decor of the hotel was ok nothing too grand but nice always clean and the rooms tho basic where very clean (cleaned on a daily basis if you wanted ) shower was fabulous , large beds. The one thing they only had 2 English chanels on the telly (news + music chanel with song from the 60's to late 80's.)

It does how ever only have 2 small lifts which you have to get in sharpish as they do not have sencors on them and they will close on you!!!! (dont press the floor you want till your inside).

The pool was absolutely freezing and took your breath when you got in it, but as the days warmed up abit so did the pool, very large very clean! plenty of sunbeds so no rushing down early in the morning to grab one.Life guard always there and it is conpulsory to wear a swimming cap (the hotel do supply these with a bag too bonus) and the life guard will tell you to wear it, to be honest i wasn't bothered i thought it's more hygienic.
They do have a small gym if your abit of a fitness fan im not so i didnt use it !!

We stayed half board and well worth the money, plenty to choose from at breakfast they would alternate sausage/bacon but always scrambled egg hard boiled egg -cereal-toast-continental-fruit-yoghurt as much as you like. At tea time which was served from 7.30pm i just couldn't fault it always very hot, upto 6 courses i was stuffed loved it and i'd try food i'd never eaten before, ( be aware that if you have bottled water on your table they charge 3.50 euro a bottle they do ask you first tho )
The bar staff where very nice but if you didnt have the right money they would moan, they never had enough change in the till, which got on my nervse as it made me feel as i didn't want to go get a drink, they would rather charge it to your room. (which we where told quite oftern).

There are plenty of restaurants close by to hotel, and few shops but once you'd seen them! There is a local shop only a 15min stroll away, Conads go there if you need anything. it cheap turn right at end of road from hotel!! ( not the COOP which Thomsons info told us to go it's miles away )
There are plenty of little stalls just outside hotel to buy prezzies from and they pretty much the same price every where. on a Tuesday they have another market just by the bus stop.
There is just one thing there where a lot of looki looki men tryin to sell you sunglasses /watches etc but this was mainly in the main towns DONOT buy anything as it's NOT illegal for them to sell it but it IS illegal to buy it so don't be tempted.

We went into Pisa few times very nice town (make sure you get your bus tickets BEFORE you get on the bus) these can be got from the paper shop just around the corner from hotel 2.30 euro each way, it takes about 20/25 mins get to Pisa and you have just got to go up the tower 15 euro
there are a lot of steps but worth it fantastic views from the top.
We went to Lucca its a must to hire a bike and ride around the wall, trust me i'm not very good on a bike but i really enjoyed it. Everyone rides around on a bicycle from 5 to 95 they are everywhere!! thats how the Italians keep thin!!!
Florence is beautiful and a shoppers paradise, easily got to by train from Pisa 7.10 euro each way some trains go straight thru, some stop at every station which puts an extra 40mins on the journey and when it's hot phew!!!! Also the buses dont count how many people they let on them and at busy times they can be rammed with far too many peolpe and again when it's hot it's Not pleasant at all.
It so easy to get around on public transport and lot cheaper just do a bit of research before you go .

Over all we did have fab holiday GO I THINK YOU'D LIKE IT, HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Continental 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tirrenia
Grand Hotel Continental Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.