We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort, Good Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Pune, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Resort, Good Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

I stayed here for 15 days on a business trip to Livorno. The hotel was quite convenient from my work place and though not really in a city you have quite a handful of restaurants, bus stop and utilities within 2 mins walk from the resort in center of Tirennia. Being winter the pool was closed and we really could not explore the beach much which was just outside the resort. The staff was lovely and very accommodative in our needs with respect to dietary needs and others. The only issue was the hotel is not really meant for business travelers and lacked few facilities like electric kettle, iron and access to gym was after 7:30 AM which meant I could not use it before leaving for work. Breakfast can be improved its mostly cold and does not change even a bit and it got quite boring after a while as I stayed for 15 days.

  • Stayed December 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sujaysup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

I only stayed here as Pisa Airport was closed by Fog and the Airline booked me in here, but what a great place it is. Rooms were lovely and well equipped, the Restaurant was great, Reception Staff were friendly and multi-lingual, and in the morning we found that we were a stones throw from the Beach! Nice to stay in Winter, but I bet it's amazing in Summer. Only 30 minutes by local bus from both Pisa and Livorno.

  • Stayed December 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarnianVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

We stayed there 3 nights the places looks good, our room was clean and we had a bed well 2 mattress together making a Queen bed (terrible for the price we paid). The view from or room Was beautiful tho, but since we were here after summer everything was close: every single service they have they don't let you have it, you better off paying something else if you go around fall or winter.
Other think I did not like: front desk service was a litter rude, we ask about the airport shuttle on Sunday morning she said no, next day we ask another person he said yes, well we ended up having it.

Stayed October 2015, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yalitza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Our stay at this hotel was very pleasant. We traveled from Florence to Pisa by train, then took the bus to the hotel. The bus stops practically in front of the hotel.
The hotel is located near the beach, it has it's private beach as well as a large swimming pool. The staff are friendly and speak English quite well. To get a ticket to Pisa, don't go to the Tobacco shop next to the hotel. (I know the receptionist will point you there). The lady of the shop simply tells you to buy at the bus. However, you don't always get a ticket on the bus. Because the driver may say that you need to get it from the Tobacco shop... very confusing, I know. So if you don't want to miss the bus... instead go to the street at the opposite of the bus stop. Next to a fuel station is another Tobacco shop who will gladly sell you a ticket. More about the hotel. Some things with the staff were a bit confusing: During our stay we wanted to to go the beach. According to the papers in the room you need to ask for a Beach-pas at the reception to get a towel from the hotel. However, the lady didn't give us one, saying that we would be the only ones with a Beach-pas. So we head on outside towards the lifeguard who should give us the beach towel. However, he asked for the beach-pas. We simply told him that we asked for one, but didn't get one because of the reason mentioned above. He replied that we should get one next time... The silly thing about this whole argument is that the swimmingpool + beach had a lot of people on there with the hotel towels. Shouldn't he ask inside then if nobody showed up with a beach-pas? Since the lady at the reception said nobody was given one... Very confusing...
Anyway, the rest of our days there were good. The breakfast was very nice. They had a minibar where they served all kind of drinks, cocktails, beers, long drinks, etc.
The lunch wasn't that great there. We only had it the first day of our arrival. For dinner i would recommend one of the restaurants at the opposite side of the street. For example the one in front of the fuel station, just sit inside of-course, the food is very nice there.
The Wifi is very good as well, the relog that people mentioned before is only if you don't use the internet the whole time. For example, you use it in the morning, go sightseeing, back in the evening, you need to log in again. Not a big issue.

If you want to go to the beach for a walk in the evening, which is kinda not allowed. There is a 'hidden' passage going there.
You could either go to the resort next door and walk passed the parked cars which will lead you to the outside of the restaurant area of the resort, you'll find it shortly after that.
Another way, how we did it was, walk pass the reception to go outside at the back of the hotel. There's a bar-kind of area for this hotel. It's quite dark but has a few lights on and benches for people to sit on. Continue straight ahead, there's a small dark alley with bushes on each sides that will lead you to the before mentioned car park. From there you can go to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view. We had a view on the parking lot on the side of the hotel. Not a biggy, we sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moenbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

We returned to this seaside hotel and were very satisfied. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were good, although furnishings were certainly somewhat out of date. Breakfast buffet was varied and good, with the availability of outdoor seating in sunny Tirrenia with a nice breeze coming off the sea. Our balcony had a great view of some of the beaches along the coast and the shoreline and islands beyond. It was relaxing just staring out from the balcony. The pool is large with lanes in which to swim, and plenty of seating for relaxing around the pool. The beach was also wonderful.
The hotel is is located in the center of Tirrenia with close access to Marina di Pisa and Pisa, and to the highway leading to Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony; facing north even better than south
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015 via mobile

The rooms are fairly basic if you're used to staying at a 4/5 star in the UK. However the beach and restaurants surrounding are fantastic and made the holiday. The bus to Pisa is so handy and cheap. Overall the hotel was some where good to lie your head at night!

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015 via mobile

Booked with jet 2 for the first time would certainly go with them again
What a great hotel having read Some poor reviews but the hotel surprised us very clean friendly staff especially Mario at the bar
The pool was really big no need to go early to get sunbeds which were free which sometimes in Italy doesn't happen
Unusually we didn't need to pay for the safe deposit key which was a bonus
We were there for 14 nights and the food was never repeated
There was a great choice with really nice food especially the cakes
Although there is not a lot do do in terrenia the bus across the road took you to Pisa in 20 mins
Florence was excellent and the guide we had was very knowledgeable
It was a really chilled out two weeks if going back to Tuscany riviera would stay at the continental again

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank summerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tirrenia
9.2 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,102 reviews
1.9 mi away
Green Park Resort
Green Park Resort
#1 of 2 in Calambrone
3.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera Blu
Hotel Riviera Blu
#2 of 7 in Tirrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Golf
Grand Hotel Golf
#5 of 7 in Tirrenia
3.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tirrenia
Grand Hotel Continental Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing