We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hardly a business hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Tirrenia
Varna, Bulgaria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hardly a business hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on a business trip with a group. The room was booked by our local counterparts and we got substantial discount from the rack rate.
The hotel is conveniently located just 20 minutes drive from Pisa Airport. It looked a bit outdated on outside. The rooms were not small but the furniture and equipment reminded of 80ies. It was clean and quiet. There was just one socket with a 3 socket extension. Two of these were taken by TV and fridge, so you had to choose one to stop if you want to charge both computer and cell phone.
Internet was available by purchasing prepaid cards from reception. A 12 euro card provided 24 hours access with only time logged counting. This sufficed for 3 days after work private e-mails and some surfing, but would be pricey for in room working.
Breakfast was typical for Italian hotels with nice croissants, sweets and meats, but lacking vegetables and natural juices. Coffee was OK as almost anywhere in Italy.
We did not eat in the hotel restaurant and instead visited numerous small restaurants around. I would specially recommend “Lo Qualo” for fresh fish and seafood at reasonable prices. The Piropo pizzeria is also an option for pizzas and pasta on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    101
    60
    19
    12
See reviews for
74
82
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I was a tourist and a guest in June 2011 and feel financially raped by the Grand Hotel Continental.

Three months after being a guest at the hotel I received certified mail parking ticket for 86€ from STADT PIZA for parking in front of the hotel.

Fact is I was never informed nor did the reception staff clearly communicate any parking fee requirements for parking in front of the hotel. This is highly unethical and implies that the Hotel is not interested in taking care or their tourist guests.

Several times the officials from the city of Piza have requested for you " The Hotel Continental" to contact the local police and resolve this. Hotel Continental refused to help. I ended up paying a 86€ parking ticket. I RECOMMEND STAYING AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS – OR IT WILL COST YOU IN THE END: MANAGEMENT IS UNETHICAL AND MORE INTERESTED IN PROFIT THAN IN CUSTOMER SERVICE:

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is situated very close to the beach, which in true Italian style is sectioned off with lines of coloured parasols, each colour belonging to a different hotel. Nice clean beach with calm sea - good for children.
The room was fairly uninspiring but quite large and very clean. There is an olympic sized swimming pool which again is kept beautifully clean - bathing hats are supplied and insisted upon!
The food was especially good which was very handy as my partner slipped her disc on day 1 and couldn't move out of the room all week. The staff were brilliant and bought all the meals up to the room - even adding a tray of deserts when we hadn't requested anything. The seafood pasta was really tasty!
Although we couldn't manage to go on them - the tours of the area looked really good. Sienna, Florence, Pisa (we did see the latter briefly by blue lighted ambulance)!
I would recommend this hotel for those looking for a quiet spot to totally relax, long sandy beaches, a large swimming pool and reasonably situated for taking trips around the local area.

Room Tip: Over looking the pool gives a better view than the front of the hotel which just overlooks a road an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Less than 30 minutes from Pisa, a beautiful hotel on the beach with a great breakfast. I left the windows open at night to my patio so I could hear the waves crashing all night long. There is 5 good restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel with great fresh seafood. Also great places to get pedicures, massages, etc. The bar in the hotel makes a great cappucino! I'm sure it's crazy busy in the summer time.

Room Tip: Ask for a patio close to the beach. I've the rooms closer to the main street aren't as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We have just returned from Grand Hotel Continental and had a wonderful time. I am very fussy about where I stay, the standards and the food and I can fault none of it. OK the hotel isn't the best looking from outside but who it going to stare at that all day long. The rooms (no balcony for us) were big and bright and everything was clean, including the ample bathroom. I was pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews which were absolutely rubbish. I have stayed in many 4* hotels and this definitely was also a 4*. The staff were so kind and helpful especially the dining room staff (|Nadia). Food was excellent, so much of it and superbly cooked and presented. I like fish and I was more than satisfied and my husband likes meat and he too thought it was excellent. There was a cook in out group and he gave it top marks. Tirrenia itself was fine for a smallish town. Of course the shops closed between 1 - 4 as all continental countries do but they open again until 8 pm. Bus into Pisa was frequent and so were the trains. Easy to get to Pisa, Lucca and Florence on public transport and staff at station helpful and speak some English. Only 2 things weren't as we would have wanted - no tea/coffee making facilities in room and therefore it worked out quite expensive to buy drinks. Should have taken travel kettle but limited due to 15kg weight restriction. Also on the last day a "Spinning" group (latest craze) - all 200 of them - took over the hotel and the noise throughout the hotel (even though it was by the pool was awful all day with the noise of the music (?) and the coach shouting out instructions. Far too loud and I understand it was going on all weekend. Glad we went home. Apparently they come every year so beware going that date. All in all a lovely holiday and have no fear at all going to this hotel. Last of all, the Thompson rep, Brenda was brilliant and so very helpful - a medal for her!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel is excellent to stay. Front Office staff very polite and helpful.
Rooms were excellent and had view of the sea.

We were vegetarian and there was not much choice on the Menu. One of the waiters, who is a tall slim gentleman, he made sure we di have a good meal. He requested the chef and
everyday without ordering from the Menu, he brought us very good food and we do not have words how to appreciate this lovely service.

If we plan to go to Italy again we are sure to stay at this hotel again because of the service. Excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel is located in a very small town which as other reviews say has seen better days. However, it is reasonably close to Pisa (an easy bus trip) and also well placed for Florence and other key cultural centres.
The hotel itself is a bit of a mixed bag. It's close to the beach and in the Italian style has a jealously guarded private beach area with free towels and two deck chairs (try and take a spare extra one and you will earn the surly attention of one of the staff). We stayed on half board and buffet breakfast was fine but the formal dinner each night a little unvaried in menu and not obviously offering fresh local produce though fish was regularly on the menu. The room was fine with a decnt size extra bed in the room for our 10 year old. I would recommend you bring your own tea making facilities given the cost of this at the bar.
One point to note when visiting the Uffizi in Florence - we had a very unpleasant experience at the entrance where although we had purchased tickets in advance the assistant insisted on seeing ID (passport) for our ten year old to prove he was a child and could get in free! We had not brought our passports and were informed that in Italy we had to carry ID around with us in a very rude manner! In England of course galleries are free (not £50 to get in) and don't require any form of ID which she seemed not to appreciate!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Continental 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tirrenia
Grand Hotel Continental Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.