We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Tirrenia
Ilford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel is excellent to stay. Front Office staff very polite and helpful.
Rooms were excellent and had view of the sea.

We were vegetarian and there was not much choice on the Menu. One of the waiters, who is a tall slim gentleman, he made sure we di have a good meal. He requested the chef and
everyday without ordering from the Menu, he brought us very good food and we do not have words how to appreciate this lovely service.

If we plan to go to Italy again we are sure to stay at this hotel again because of the service. Excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    95
    59
    19
    12
See reviews for
69
81
5
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Banbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel is located in a very small town which as other reviews say has seen better days. However, it is reasonably close to Pisa (an easy bus trip) and also well placed for Florence and other key cultural centres.
The hotel itself is a bit of a mixed bag. It's close to the beach and in the Italian style has a jealously guarded private beach area with free towels and two deck chairs (try and take a spare extra one and you will earn the surly attention of one of the staff). We stayed on half board and buffet breakfast was fine but the formal dinner each night a little unvaried in menu and not obviously offering fresh local produce though fish was regularly on the menu. The room was fine with a decnt size extra bed in the room for our 10 year old. I would recommend you bring your own tea making facilities given the cost of this at the bar.
One point to note when visiting the Uffizi in Florence - we had a very unpleasant experience at the entrance where although we had purchased tickets in advance the assistant insisted on seeing ID (passport) for our ten year old to prove he was a child and could get in free! We had not brought our passports and were informed that in Italy we had to carry ID around with us in a very rude manner! In England of course galleries are free (not £50 to get in) and don't require any form of ID which she seemed not to appreciate!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seubersdorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I have stayed here a few times...once with my family and once by myself on a short business trip. It's a bit on the expensive side, so I think it is much more ideal for business or couples rather than a "family" hotel.

It's in a very loud part of Tirrenia which was a bit irritatiting trying to sleep at night especially since the air conditioning wasn't working properly.

A few positive notes, it has one of the best breakfasts in Tirrenia and it is right on the beach and if I remember correctly, it was included in the price of the room. The swimming pool is very plain, but nice and well kept.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

My family of four used this a base for a 5 day tour of Tuscany. It is a fairly standard Mediterranean Hotel to look at but clean and tidy with very attentive and friendly staff all of whom appear to speak very good English which helps when, like me, you don't speak any Italian! We had a family room which was of ample size with a nice bathroom with a shower. Decor was fine. Air conditioning works and the pillows are good! The breakfast was very good with a continental buffet which included scrambled egg with sausage or bacon, lots of fruit, cakes, sweet pastries, cereals and good quality fruit juices and bottled water in plentiful supply. There is a magnificent 50m swimming pool which is very clean with good furniture. There is also access to a private beach of standard Italian format. We used buses and trains to get around. The bus stop to Pisa is at small square next to the Hotel. Tickets can be bought at the tabac nearby. Buses are regular and cheap- 4.60 Euros return and tickets last 90 mins after you have validated them on the bus so you can take other buses once you arrive at the bus station which is also close to the rail station. Rail tickets are also good value, but, like the bus tickets, you must validate them before you travel using machines on the platform. Our first day landed us a 5 Euro fine for not doing this! (Should have been 40 but nice ticket inspector!) Anyway, back to the Hotel. We would be happy to return. Not the Ritz but then they don't pretend to be. All in all very good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Fantastic base for a first trip to Italy. Very close to the main tourist interests Pisa, Lucca, Florence, Sienna etc. Grand Hotel Continental is superb, ok the rooms are a little dated but exceptionally clean as is the rest of the hotel. The pool is magnificent, room for everyone and even at the most busiest there were always sunbeds free. For an hour or so in the morning and late afternoon there are games and music around the pool, may be irritating to some but you can always use the deck chairs on the beach. Nearly always some evening music in the gardens but it always finished around midnight. The food was 100%, If you don't like pasta and fish or Italian food then go to Spain

Room Tip: Check that public transport isn't on strike before you use buses or trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The ground floor, gardens, pool & beach (2 mins walk away) were all nice & well kept but the rooms were definitely not 4* standard. Small, dark bedrooms, small bathrooms. Hotel was reasonably clean. Overall it needs refurbishing. Staff were ok. Irritatingly they organised pool games each day at 10am and 5pm, though you were not badgered to join in. But the noise from the music was enough to drive my husband in each day. The Tompson rep Brenda was very good but the organised trips are way, way too expensive. We went to Pisa 2 euros on local bus took 20 mins stopped less than 50 yards from hotel door. You buy tickets in local tabbaconist then validate them on the bus - very easy. We went to Florence by bus to Pisa, then train - very easy and cost about 10 euros again validate ticket but this time before boarding train in machines on the platforms and concourse. The Tompson trip to Siena & San DiGimmiano (68 euros pp) was over-priced and disappointing. We spent more time on the bus than in either place (1hr in San DiGimmiano & 3 1/2 hrs in Siena) better to do these yourself on separate days. The food if you like oil, octopus, squid, rabbit, mussels, tripe, fatty ribs was fine but I would never book for half board again. Then again local restaurants not only very expensive also pretty average all selling the same dried up sandwiches, pizzas etc. Nothing much to do in the resort itself and it is very run down. The shops never seem to be open, there's a cheap market which sells expensive rubbish, a couple of bars, half a dozen restaurants (more like cafes really) and an ice cream parlour & we like a quiet holiday! This fact was the real reason I'd never return. Finally one thing Tompson seem not to mention until it's all too late and that is you have to wear useless, BATHING CAPS IN THE POOL, which look ridiculous, don't even keep your hair dry and fall off as soon as you jump in the water, I ask you what is the point of them? If you still want to go after all this don't bother taking beach towels or bags as these are provided.

Room Tip: Maybe those rooms overlooking the pool are the best on the top two floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 via mobile

Triennia is not the prettiest of locations but the facilities ae excellent, the beach is lovely and it's a fantastic base for exploring.
We stated in connecting rooms with our 2 children which were perfect for our needs. A balcony would have been nice though.
Dinner in the restaurant is very good and breakfast is pretty decent though the breakfast room is a but cramped.
Kids facilities / entertainment could have been better but my 2 spent most of their time in the pool and also had swimming lessons for 20 euros for 30 mins which were really good.
There was evening entertainment which if you had a room overlooking the garden Might disturb your sleep as it was pretty loud and went on until midnight. Overall a good holiday though expensive for the facilities and quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Continental 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tirrenia
Grand Hotel Continental Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.