We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tirrenia
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Fantastic base for a first trip to Italy. Very close to the main tourist interests Pisa, Lucca, Florence, Sienna etc. Grand Hotel Continental is superb, ok the rooms are a little dated but exceptionally clean as is the rest of the hotel. The pool is magnificent, room for everyone and even at the most busiest there were always sunbeds free. For an hour or so in the morning and late afternoon there are games and music around the pool, may be irritating to some but you can always use the deck chairs on the beach. Nearly always some evening music in the gardens but it always finished around midnight. The food was 100%, If you don't like pasta and fish or Italian food then go to Spain

Room Tip: Check that public transport isn't on strike before you use buses or trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    107
    62
    19
    12
See reviews for
78
85
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The ground floor, gardens, pool & beach (2 mins walk away) were all nice & well kept but the rooms were definitely not 4* standard. Small, dark bedrooms, small bathrooms. Hotel was reasonably clean. Overall it needs refurbishing. Staff were ok. Irritatingly they organised pool games each day at 10am and 5pm, though you were not badgered to join in. But the noise from the music was enough to drive my husband in each day. The Tompson rep Brenda was very good but the organised trips are way, way too expensive. We went to Pisa 2 euros on local bus took 20 mins stopped less than 50 yards from hotel door. You buy tickets in local tabbaconist then validate them on the bus - very easy. We went to Florence by bus to Pisa, then train - very easy and cost about 10 euros again validate ticket but this time before boarding train in machines on the platforms and concourse. The Tompson trip to Siena & San DiGimmiano (68 euros pp) was over-priced and disappointing. We spent more time on the bus than in either place (1hr in San DiGimmiano & 3 1/2 hrs in Siena) better to do these yourself on separate days. The food if you like oil, octopus, squid, rabbit, mussels, tripe, fatty ribs was fine but I would never book for half board again. Then again local restaurants not only very expensive also pretty average all selling the same dried up sandwiches, pizzas etc. Nothing much to do in the resort itself and it is very run down. The shops never seem to be open, there's a cheap market which sells expensive rubbish, a couple of bars, half a dozen restaurants (more like cafes really) and an ice cream parlour & we like a quiet holiday! This fact was the real reason I'd never return. Finally one thing Tompson seem not to mention until it's all too late and that is you have to wear useless, BATHING CAPS IN THE POOL, which look ridiculous, don't even keep your hair dry and fall off as soon as you jump in the water, I ask you what is the point of them? If you still want to go after all this don't bother taking beach towels or bags as these are provided.

Room Tip: Maybe those rooms overlooking the pool are the best on the top two floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 via mobile

Triennia is not the prettiest of locations but the facilities ae excellent, the beach is lovely and it's a fantastic base for exploring.
We stated in connecting rooms with our 2 children which were perfect for our needs. A balcony would have been nice though.
Dinner in the restaurant is very good and breakfast is pretty decent though the breakfast room is a but cramped.
Kids facilities / entertainment could have been better but my 2 spent most of their time in the pool and also had swimming lessons for 20 euros for 30 mins which were really good.
There was evening entertainment which if you had a room overlooking the garden Might disturb your sleep as it was pretty loud and went on until midnight. Overall a good holiday though expensive for the facilities and quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The outside is drab and grey looking and we wondered if we had made a terrible mistake but as soon as we went through the doors everything changed, big modern reception area with ornate Italian furniture, friendly efficient staff that made you feel like a VIP every time they spoke to you. The rooms are small dated and basic a lot do not have a balcony so make sure you pay for one before you go.The food was 100% 5 courses every night 3 courses served by the most charming waiters who could not do enough for you.
It's a shame that this hotel allows dogs, a lot of Italians bring dogs on holiday, dogs are not allowed by the pool or the restaurant so are left on the balcony and some barking is heard.
I also object to sleeping in a room that has had a dog in previously and it's the reason I will not return..

Room Tip: Book and pay for a balcony before you go .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The pool area and general facilities in this place are unreal. For the cost that i paid - about 60 per person, we wre thrilled with the place. It has a 50 metre pool, 2 table tennis tables, a gym and free access to the private area on the beach. I never ate in the hotel but it seemed quite good and breakfast was really good.

As the other reviews say, the rooms aren't 4 star but the rest of the hotel definitely is

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I would definitely recommend Grand Hotel Continental!!!
I enjoyed my stay very much everyone was very accommodating. We had a very nice room with sea view. The service and the food was amazing...we enjoyed the Italian kitchen very much. We definitely will be coming back!
Thank you for making my holiday special.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My daughter and I recently returned from our trip to Tirrenia on the Tuscan Riviera. We were very disappointed by the so-called 4* hotel "Grand Hotel Continental" which is the main hotel in the resort used by Thomsons. The hotel is a 60's concrete block and the rooms are tiny and extremely old-fashioned. Thomsons' customers don't get balconies which makes the rooms even more claustrophobic. We had half-board which is usual in Italy. Breakfast was OK. However the evening dinner choices were limited and very fish-oriented. Hotel mainly Italian clientele and the resort which is very small. A few local restaurants offering the usual pizza. Only redeeming part of holiday was good weather, great Olympic sized pool (even though we did have to wear a silly cap) and lots of ice cream parlours. Beach service offered by hotel marred by the fact that it was impossible to get an umbrella and deckchairs near the sea. Grand Hotel Continental reserved places were halfway up the beach. Proximity to Pisa and Florence very good.

Room Tip: Do ask if better room available - we asked politely and got a room with a part balcony so were able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Largo Belvedere, 26 | Tirrenia, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa > Tirrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tirrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Continental 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Otel, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tirrenia
Grand Hotel Continental Tirrenia, Italy - Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.