We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Cavaliere Nero

Ristorante Cavaliere Nero
Viale del Tirreno 189, 56018 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
+39 050 37509
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 49 Restaurants in Tirrenia
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Ockenheim, Germany
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Decent Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a middle-of-the-road restaurant in Terrenia. Our group originally went on Valentine's Day, but left when we realized there was a limited menu. (A bunch of work colleagues didn't really care about the Valentine's scene or special menu.) We came back a few nights later.

The food was good, but as a few other people mentioned, the translations are a bit iffy. I'm not sure if this is on purpose, or just an honest mistake, but you may not get exact what it says on the English-translated menu. (So, if you're picky, pick something you know you'll eat; and if you have a question, ask.)

Service was good, but we were the only people in the restaurant since we were typical Americans and eating early. (And by early, I mean 7pm.) Food was decent, and I think everyone enjoyed their fares. Wine was good.

A solid four fo five. Not too good, but not bad. A little above average.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    86
    43
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Wend to this restaurant on our last night in the Pisa area. The food was good, but not fantastic. Service was slow. I ordered the pene with prawns (per the English translation on the menu). What I received was pene with crab claw tips. Although it was an enjoyable dish, it was not what I had in mind. It took about 2.5 hours to order, eat and get the bill paid. Although this is not unusual for Italy, I did think that the dining room was understaffed with only two servers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We visited here last week with a very large group. I have to say that I wasn't overwhlemed at first since the location seemed a bit dodgy and the menu too long to be good. My husband and I shared a pizza and caprese salad and it was phenomenal! Absolutely wonderful food. The house wine was decent and the prices were wonderful. I was extremely impressed and would definitely recommend it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced average cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Visited this place on the recommendation of a local. It wasbusy and we hadn't booked, but the food was pretty standard and portions under-generous. Wouldn't rush back, particularly as the waiter promised a food on the menu and then when we flagged someone down they advised it wasn't available so they hadn't brought it out. Average service, average food, not cheap. Interesting art on walls.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food & good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Our party of 12 ate here 4 times during our 10 day holiday in Tirrenia: always reliable & accommodating for our large party. The crab pasta dish is excellent.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Cavaliere Nero also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Cavaliere Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Cavaliere Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.