We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited 3 times in a row!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piropo Ristorante Pizzeria

Piropo Ristorante Pizzeria
Via delle Rose 17, 56018 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
+39 050.37657
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 49 Restaurants in Tirrenia
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sliema, Malta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Visited 3 times in a row!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This place is incredible. As it is not situated on the main road, we were extremely lucky that on a rainy day over Easter, we decided to look beyond the otherwise deserted streets of Tirrenia. Piropo is a Trattoria/ Pizzeria situated at the back of the main road. It is run by Michele Ferri and his family and on the 3 days that we visited it was packed. It must be very popular with the locals. I shall not try to explain the food as on each day that we visited we left it to Michele to present his recommendations. And we were never disappointed to the extent that we even accepted not to refuse deserts :)
Highly recommended to those who visit Tirrenia but I suppose one better book, especially over the summer months, when the place comes to life!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    20
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ockenheim, Germany
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“I would go back...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This wasn't the best restaurant in the area (see Chichibio), but it was good. I had the Bufala pizza, which was very good. It was extremely thin, and although the crust itself didn't have much taste, the inside (with sauce and cheese) was good. The house white wine was not as good as I expected.

Overall, a good place to eat, for a decent price. (Three people ate and drank for a total of €39.) Go to Chichibio first, but also try this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
“Very Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I was in Tirrenia last week-end with my family.
Dwellers of this little town recomended me to try this small Restaurant ("Trattoria").
I did it.
Food It's VERY GOOD (fresh fishes are exposed in a cabinet near the entrance).
Pizza it's VERY GOOD like (Tuscany) Wine.
Surely I'll come back in this nice place next time.
VERY GOOD!!! :-)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good pizza & pasta for a budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Like: Good pizzas and pasta, Fast service, Good price
Dislike: Looks a bit outdated

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlop
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good value Italian cooking.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

I have visited this restaurant 5 times, each time the service has been prompt but never rushed. The food has been very good, my wife & sons all enjoyed a varied selection off their menu. The prices are pretty good < £8 for a pasta dish, about £12 for a fish dish & £7 for a litre of the house wine which is pretty good. The seafood risotto is excellent, if you are visiting this area & would have no hestation in visiting this restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piropo Ristorante Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Piropo Ristorante Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piropo Ristorante Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.