We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food very good, Location...eh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Il Toscano

Ristorante Il Toscano
Viale del Tirreno 159, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
+3905037248
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 50 Restaurants in Tirrenia
Price range: $22 - $74
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Chowder, Pizza, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Il Toscano Restaurant ....the best restaurant on Tuscany's western coast, where you can find the real and typical Tuscan cuisine and Italian specialties.....where you can try our famous plate: "Sacchettini cheese and pears".... A very delicious pasta! Where you can organize what you like! ...for example....an anniversary dinner? A birthday party? A friends dinner!.....or simply ....a romantic tete-a-tete supper by candlelight?.....Come with us!! Our warm atmosphere will transform your events very special! Organize, moreover, cultural shows, live evenings music, collections and food tasting!! Our menu is translated into English, German, French and Russian. We speak English! You're welcome......we wait for you !!! Giovanni e Catia Leonardi
stuttgart
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Food very good, Location...eh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I had seafood pasta and it was excellent. The bruschetta was good but not anything that I had not had before. Their soups were tasty and pizza looked very good.
Downside: the restaurant is basically in a gas station parking lot. To be fair, the gas station is in front of the restaurant but we watched many cars fill up while we ate. If the restaurant was anywhere else it probably would be rated higher. So to avoid this scene sit inside.
The service was slow and unresponsive. We arrived early and expected to be told they would open in 20 minutes. They said they were open but we sat for nearly twenty minutes until I finally asked for menus. I had to ask for my food, and finally for the check. While we were finishing our meals we saw our waiter crossing the gas station on his return from a local store.
They should do better.
My rating is based on the food but downgraded based on service and location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    126
    49
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good family-run joint!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Situated in Tirrenia, which is a sea-side resort just off Pisa, Il Toscano was a natural choice being one of a handful open for business over Easter. The food was good. My wife and I started off with a Ribollita Toscana and Fiochetti alla Pera. For mains we opted for meat. I had filetto Chianti and my better half opted for a Filetto Griglia. To compliment the meal we had a Chianti Classico. Price, including coperto (which I find quite irrational) and a tip, came to EUR40 a head.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gex, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average beach area restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Entering in later in the evening in May, the restaurant was still quite crowded, maybe due to the fact that all the restaurant were not open yet in Tirrenia. No highligths with the food, fried seafood with french fries, maybe we missed something in the menu. You get the dinner and can continue whenever you want. Cannot be easier.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ockenheim, Germany
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Good food, good ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This restaurant came highly recommended from a friend. Unfortunately, it didn't completely live up to the hype. It was good. The food was good, but not spectacular. The ambiance was good, although it was a little confusing between restaurant and art gallery.

The dessert left a little to be desired. The tiramasu was too creamy, which in turn made the wafers soggy. And there was a little too much cocoa on top for my taste. Not horrible, but not worth the money, at least to me. The creme brulee, on the other hand, was delightful!

Overall, a good restaurant, but not great. Eat there, but don't make a special trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good food but not as great as Lo Squalo next door”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Nice ambiance and the service was pretty good. A nice platter of grilled squid but the taste was not that special. If you like kareoke, they have live kareoke the whole evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Toscano also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Il Toscano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Il Toscano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.