We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good ambiance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Il Toscano

Ristorante Il Toscano
Viale del Tirreno 159, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
+3905037248
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 57 Restaurants in Tirrenia
Price range: $23 - $77
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Il Toscano Restaurant ....the best restaurant on Tuscany's western coast, where you can find the real and typical Tuscan cuisine and Italian specialties.....where you can try our famous plate: "Sacchettini cheese and pears".... A very delicious pasta! Where you can organize what you like! ...for example....an anniversary dinner? A birthday party? A friends dinner!.....or simply ....a romantic tete-a-tete supper by candlelight?.....Come with us!! Our warm atmosphere will transform your events very special! Organize, moreover, cultural shows, live evenings music, collections and food tasting!! Our menu is translated into English, German, French and Russian. We speak English! You're welcome......we wait for you !!! Giovanni e Catia Leonardi
Ockenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
231 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Good food, good ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This restaurant came highly recommended from a friend. Unfortunately, it didn't completely live up to the hype. It was good. The food was good, but not spectacular. The ambiance was good, although it was a little confusing between restaurant and art gallery.

The dessert left a little to be desired. The tiramasu was too creamy, which in turn made the wafers soggy. And there was a little too much cocoa on top for my taste. Not horrible, but not worth the money, at least to me. The creme brulee, on the other hand, was delightful!

Overall, a good restaurant, but not great. Eat there, but don't make a special trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
143 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good food but not as great as Lo Squalo next door”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Nice ambiance and the service was pretty good. A nice platter of grilled squid but the taste was not that special. If you like kareoke, they have live kareoke the whole evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GreatFoodisHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very accommodating for allergy sufferers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Ate here more than once. Funny loction sitting behind the central petrol station, but actually a little gem! Most of the restaurants serve up the same cuisine in Tirrenia,but this restaurant was eager to please from the outset. Asked about the possibility of gluten free chicken risotto, which proved to be no problem (unlike other places) and turned out to be lovely. As for the panna cotta, don't pass it up if you visit - very decadent. Service was also good. They also did a wonderful seafood pasta (local cuisine).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elisangary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harstad, Norway
1 review
“The best pizza ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

At Il Toscano they had the best pizza I have ever eaten. I really recommend this restaurant to everyone who's goint to Tirrenia, not only was the food great, but the portions were big, and the staff were very kind and welcoming.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MJEtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorsel, Belgium
1 review
“excellent lobster dish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

we were so enjoying this restaurant that we ended up eating there 5 times during our stay in tirrenia. We recommend the tagliatelle al'astice. It also provides great deserts and very nice pizza

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank family591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Toscano also viewed

 
 

Been to Ristorante Il Toscano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing