We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent lobster dish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Il Toscano

Ristorante Il Toscano
Viale del Tirreno 159, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
+3905037248
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 49 Restaurants in Tirrenia
Price range: $26 - $89
Cuisines: Pizza, Steakhouse, Chowder, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Il Toscano Restaurant ....the best restaurant on Tuscany's western coast, where you can find the real and typical Tuscan cuisine and Italian specialties.....where you can try our famous plate: "Sacchettini cheese and pears".... A very delicious pasta! Where you can organize what you like! ...for example....an anniversary dinner? A birthday party? A friends dinner!.....or simply ....a romantic tete-a-tete supper by candlelight?.....Come with us!! Our warm atmosphere will transform your events very special! Organize, moreover, cultural shows, live evenings music, collections and food tasting!! Our menu is translated into English, German, French and Russian. We speak English! You're welcome......we wait for you !!! Giovanni e Catia Leonardi
Moorsel, Belgium
1 review
“excellent lobster dish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

we were so enjoying this restaurant that we ended up eating there 5 times during our stay in tirrenia. We recommend the tagliatelle al'astice. It also provides great deserts and very nice pizza

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    117
    45
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This place is a legend although we do refer to it as the resturant at the filling station. We've been here quite a few times with friends, this time we were on a family holiday and brought our boys. The crust on the pizza's is amazingly thin. We find it hard to order anything other than the pizzas as they are so good. Reading these other reviews I will be more adventurous next time however it will be hard as in our family every time we eat pizza we comment that it's not as good as Il Toscano! The house wine is great and the service is always attentive.
My sons enjoyed the art work - some was rather revealing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“The best pizza ever!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Il Toscana is a lovely place to eat. Not only lovely pasta but the best pizzas in the world. Pictures on the walls were 'exotic' to say the least. As well as that the staff were very welcoming. To conclude the deserts are fantastic. Staff are very friendly. The manager was always very affable.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northallerton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food but music a bit too loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Dont let the adjacent petrol station put you off. The food here is excellent and so was the service. We had a mixed seafood grill and a pizza which were both excellent. The only down side was the music playing was just a bit too loud to have a conversation without shouting!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIOVANNI58, Proprietario at Ristorante Il Toscano, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear NorthallertonHarris,
Next time ask me to lower the music volume, or changing table. we will be happy if you stay quiet !
Bye bye and thanks for review!
G.L.58
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best pizza and steak we had on a week-long trip through Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a great restaurant and one our family voted as a hands-down favorite for pizza on our trip... Let me qualify this statement by saying we never ate a bad meal the whole 9 days we spent traveling across the country.

The Leonardi was less than a block from our hotel, and as we ate early for Italy (7:30), we had a great outdoor seat w/o a reservation. The atmosphere is casually dressy, and we were in a good spot for people watching as the outdoor seating was out front.

I had the pizza Ellen (highly recommend) and my son had the filet, which everyone at our table ended up sampling. Both were amazing; I don't know what they do to pizza crust here, but it was so light and flaky you could have eaten it plain and it would have been delicious. I read other reviewers comments on this same topic, and wondered how different a pizza could really be from the other great ones he had in Italy, but this one really did stand out. We actually had the crust as dessert with warm Nutella spread, which sounds kind of gross, but was very tasty and just the right amount of sweet.

I wish this restaurant was down the street from my house in the US! Seriously, they could start a place here with the menu they have in Tirrenia and never go out of business--highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIOVANNI58, Proprietario at Ristorante Il Toscano, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Roamingtheworld!!!!
Many Many Many Thanks for the beautiful review !!! I hope see you again !!! You are fantastic !!!
Bye bye!!
GL.58
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Toscano also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Il Toscano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Il Toscano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.