We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lo Squalo

Lo Squalo
via delle rose, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
050 37305
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 49 restaurants in Tirrenia
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice place for a dinner with or without children. The food and service were very good and if you go there late, expect to wait as it is popular with tourists and locals. We were told to have the tiramisu and it is definitely worth it at 6 euros.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    33
    54
    15
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place for family dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Delicious fishes and frutti di mare, great wine, Very interesting desserts. A liittle to long waiting for risotto.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The food is delicious, and the owner speaks fluent english and is very friendly. A spot you shouldnt miss out on if in town.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Tirrenia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great people, great food. I have never had a bad experience in Lo Squalo. In a touristy beachside town where good food can be hard to find, Lo Squalo is always fantastic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ockenheim, Germany
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“A solid 2.5, rounded to 3...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The restaurant was decent. The food was so-so, the service was so-so, and the ambiance was so-so.

The food: I travelled here with two business associates. One of us ordered the tuna filet, one ordered pizza, and another ordered shrimp. The tuna filet was over-cooked on the outside. Decent, but not the best tuna I've ever had. The pizza was spicy, and although he ordered a "hot" pizza, he didn't expect a mouth-burning pizza. The spiciness detracted from the taste. The shrimp were good, although she stated that there was a lot of work to get to the meat. Overall, the food was so-so. I wouldn't go back for the food.

Sidenote: The beer was very good. Home-brewed, and yummy. We tried the unfiltered light first, which was very good. We then tried the home-brewed honey beer. It was good also, but when we got the bill, we realized that the 0.75cl bottle was €18!! It wasn't THAT good. Stick with the €8 unfiltered light. It was the best part of the night.

The service was so-so. When the restaurant wasn't too busy, the service was good; but as the restaurant got busier, the two servers struggled with all the tables.

The ambiance was good; but again, as the restaurant got busier, there was a loud, obnoxious banging coming from the kitchen (which is RIGHT next to the eating area). It would come and go, and became a distraction from our experience.

Overall, I'd give this restaurant a 2.5, but I'll give them the benefit of the doubt, and award them 3 stars. Don't go out of your way to go here, but if you're in the area, perhaps worth a visit. Maybe. I'm still looking for that "write home about" restaurant in Tirrenia, and this wasn't it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Squalo also viewed

 

Been to Lo Squalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lo Squalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.