We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in Tirrenia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lo Squalo

Lo Squalo
via delle rose, 56128 Tirrenia, Pisa, Italy
050 37305
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 49 Restaurants in Tirrenia
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Pisa, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Tirrenia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great people, great food. I have never had a bad experience in Lo Squalo. In a touristy beachside town where good food can be hard to find, Lo Squalo is always fantastic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    58
    22
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ockenheim, Germany
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“A solid 2.5, rounded to 3...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The restaurant was decent. The food was so-so, the service was so-so, and the ambiance was so-so.

The food: I travelled here with two business associates. One of us ordered the tuna filet, one ordered pizza, and another ordered shrimp. The tuna filet was over-cooked on the outside. Decent, but not the best tuna I've ever had. The pizza was spicy, and although he ordered a "hot" pizza, he didn't expect a mouth-burning pizza. The spiciness detracted from the taste. The shrimp were good, although she stated that there was a lot of work to get to the meat. Overall, the food was so-so. I wouldn't go back for the food.

Sidenote: The beer was very good. Home-brewed, and yummy. We tried the unfiltered light first, which was very good. We then tried the home-brewed honey beer. It was good also, but when we got the bill, we realized that the 0.75cl bottle was €18!! It wasn't THAT good. Stick with the €8 unfiltered light. It was the best part of the night.

The service was so-so. When the restaurant wasn't too busy, the service was good; but as the restaurant got busier, the two servers struggled with all the tables.

The ambiance was good; but again, as the restaurant got busier, there was a loud, obnoxious banging coming from the kitchen (which is RIGHT next to the eating area). It would come and go, and became a distraction from our experience.

Overall, I'd give this restaurant a 2.5, but I'll give them the benefit of the doubt, and award them 3 stars. Don't go out of your way to go here, but if you're in the area, perhaps worth a visit. Maybe. I'm still looking for that "write home about" restaurant in Tirrenia, and this wasn't it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great discovery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were intrigued about how busy Lo Squalo was the night before when we were going to the other place next door (which is alright, 3 out of 5 stars); busyness is always a great sign for a good restaurant. With the amount of customers inside, we thought Lo Squalo would be a place with average décor but good food which we tend to care a bit more than the décor. Surprisingly, the whole ambient was relaxing with a good amount of attention to details. Loved the custom-made mug-glass with an unique (yet ergonomically comfortable) shape by an artist from northern Italy. Absolutely fell in love with taglialini with truffles—wow, it is truly to die for! I can still taste the richness of truffle with a perfect combination with buttered taglialini in my mouth now 2 days later and keep wanting to go back for more. Our friends ordered 3 flavors of pizza, with shrimp and asparagus, Italian sausage, and pastrami—all wonderfully flavored, yet different in the combination of taste. The sampler of desserts was simply amazing—you need to try it! Will have another week here in Italy, would not be surprised that we decide to go back and try the freshly caught sea bass that they have displayed and the taglialini with truffle that I will never get tired of!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Really good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Excellent meal here but the penne arribbiata was not hot enough! only joking it was brilliant!! Good value and nice staff

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“very good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

we went three times quality food average price wines very good value . We thought the taster menus were a little over priced but certainly worth a visit

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Squalo also viewed

 

Been to Lo Squalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lo Squalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.