We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best part of Terracina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town

Old Town
Municipal Square, 04019 Terracina, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Terracina
Attraction details
Fort William
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best part of Terracina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I'm biased - my father was born and grew up in the old town. On my annual visit, I always take time to walk around, visiting relatives - besides, my favourite bar is at the top of c. Anita Garibaldi.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    39
    9
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relax in the main piazza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The spatial layout of the piazza is lovely - enormous, fronting the cathedral, which itself is fascinating, with influences from the East. Other smaller churches in the winding streets are worth exploring - how many skeletons can you find? Very friendly people.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A nice walk through.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our first tour when we landed in Italy. You will need comfy shoes for the walk due to the cobbled roads. Very interesting -- take time to read plaques. Warning -- we thought we could walk to the top of the hill to see the old temple ruins. It's farther than it looks -- we turned around and got the car. LOL

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Even though it was a fairly bleak day in May, we enjoyed the large square surrounded on all sides by the Cathedral, other majestic and ancient ruins. We were unable to enter the Basilica because there was a wedding about the start but enjoyed seeing the bride arrive in a little white Fiat festooned with ribbons to climb the steep steps to meet her future husband. Before long, another bride arrived to celebrate a civil wedding in the Register Office nearby which was decorated with garlands of flowers.Pigeons bathed in the rainwater that had collected in the very ancient flagstones and there was a wonderful sense of peace away from the traffic of the modern town, heightened by the swelling organ music that heralded the start of the nuptials.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely town from middel ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Beautiful old city with a fantastic atmosphere. We stayed in an apartment for one week beside the Piazza del Municiopio in the old town. The piazza is lovely place. We enjoyed the piazza each day from breakfast to glass of wine in the evening. Visit Bar Grande, lovely bar where the locals visit. The best part to sit on the piazza is see the daily life of the locals.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town also viewed

Terracina, Province of Latina
Terracina, Province of Latina
 

Been to Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.