We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A five star experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baia di Talamone

Hotel Baia di Talamone
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Baia di Talamone to your Saves list
Hotel Baia di Talamone
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Marina, 23, 58010 Talamone, Orbetello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Talamone
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A five star experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is definitely not a five-star hotel, but we had a five-star experience and would gladly return to the Hotel Baia di Talamone. Talamone is a bit off the beaten track - a small, harbor town with a few decent restaurants, some gelato shops (find the one off of the main street, hidden up one of the side streets - YUM!), a few bars and lots of local atmosphere.

We were warmly welcomed at the hotel and were given directions to park, when breakfast was, etc... and then shown to our room. Large, bright, clean and with a wonderful balcony looking over the harbor. The staff was incredibly friendly and very helpful.

Room: The room is not really modern or fancily furnished, but everything was very clean. We had a large bathroom (small shower stall), great ginger shampoo/soaps, mini-bar, flat screen tv, king bed (very comfortable), air conditioning, and, of course, the balcony with chairs, table and drying rack for clothes/swimsuits. NOTE: There is no wi-fi reception (maybe an internet computer, but we didn't ask). We found a little bar (go out to the right and it is just past the bar/gelato shop with the blue umbrellas) that had a wifi hotspot and reasonably priced drinks.

Location: We used the hotel as a base for driving into the surrounding villages (Pitigliano, Saturnia, Sorano, etc) and the Tarot Garden Sculpture Park near Capalbio. Not sure about the beach access. We loved the location!

Breakfast: Typical - bread, meat, cheese, yogurt, cereal, coffee, fruit, etc... Very filling.

Staff: Delightful and very helpful.

Bottom line: Loved Talamone and would stay again if given the chance.

Room Tip: Ask for a "sea view" room. Some rooms face the back. The sea view rooms face the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
8
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We'd been driving around Tuscany for 10 days staying in some nice places. We hadn't intended staying in Talamone but liked the place and found this hotel. It's great. Wonderful lady in charge, friendly , helpful, superb. Great secure parking, fantastic view , great room overlooking bay, we had a great time. Very relaxed easygoing attitude, warm comfortable room , we had great time in Talamone. NIce breakfast too. Wish we could have stayed longer. Wish some of our more expensive stays had been as enjoyable. Its a definite for next time!

Room Tip: Room overlooking bay is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We spent only one night there but it was lovely. The room was quite big and clean, fresh sheets and towels and aircon. It was situated opposite a very small port so the water was still clean. You can go to a public beach down to the rocks and walk up the hill in the evening to have a lovely dinner in a restaruant admiring amazing views. You should not also miss seeing the fort especially at the sunset.

What makes this little place so lovely though are the people. owners were absolutely wonderful and so helpful, going an extra mile to make sure we had a good time. They even bothered to go to the pharmacy to buy me gluten free cakes for breakfast and printed out instruction on how to get to the parking space in Rome.

Really lovely place and would recommend staying there!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

The hotel was normal. As we travelled around Italy for a short period of time, this was the worst and most expensive hotel we stayed in. There was nothing awful about it, simply in comparison to the others and value for money it was not great. The room was bog standard, the bathroom was large in size. The location was right next to the harbour which was great, especially if you enjoy seafood as all most of the resturaunts serve is indeed seafood! The staff spoke very little English which was fine because we had very little interraction with the staff. We had an entrance to our room that was at the side of the hotel so we never needed to actually go into the hotel apart from for breakfast. The breakfast was normal and average continental. I would advise anyone that wishes to stay here to ask for a harbour view as i think that if we had been given a harbour view, it would have been value for money. We were pretty much kicked out of the room one morning in order for the cleaner to come in which was a little annoying but nothing of an upset. The beach that is nearby is like a rocky beach and is not the beach get away my boyfriend and i were hoping for and had to travel to find a sandy beach (that we found at a campsite and it was magnificent!). Overall, the stay was not unpleasant but was not brilliant either and comparing it to hotels in rome, sienna and florence, which were cheaper to stay in, we were certainly disappointed by this hotel but i would not discourage peopke from staying there for a short period of time. There is also plenty of convenient parking too, free of charge.

  • Liked — Everything was plain average. The location was beautiful.
  • Disliked — The fact that it was our most expensive hotel and by far the worst. Not value for money unless guarenteed a view of the harbour.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Ab. Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

We stayed in this hotel on the second last night of a 9 day bike tour of Tuscany and, without a doubt , made our trip to Italy worthwhile. Situated right on the harbour in Tallamone it was the friendliest, cleanest, and most comfortable establishment we stayed in during our time in Italy. Attention to little details, like suprising us with champagne and flowers upon discovering it was our 25th wedding aniversary, to recommending restaurants and directing us to 'private beaches' made this the highlight of our trip to Italy. A beautiful place with beautiful people.

  • Liked — Friendliness, Location, Treatment
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baia di Talamone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia di Talamone

Address: Via della Marina, 23, 58010 Talamone, Orbetello, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Orbetello > Talamone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Talamone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baia di Talamone 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Baia di Talamone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baia di Talamone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.