We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, bad location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Il Telamonio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Il Telamonio to your Saves list
Il Telamonio
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Piazza Garibaldi 4, 58010 Talamone, Orbetello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Talamone B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel, bad location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel is simple and very good. The bedroom is spacious, also the bathroom. Very good shower and bed. Great breakfast. Staff very helpful.

The problem is that there is no swimming beach at Talamone. You must drive 4km at least to be on the beach. It's a good location only for boat trips and to practice kylesurf.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    33
    51
    10
    5
See reviews for
12
70
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

we know very well the area, but this was the first time we stayed at this boutique Hotel. Overall we liked the great location, the friendliness of the staff, the selection offered for breakfast, the functionality of the WiFi and the terrace on the roof. I would recommend the Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

It was an incredible vacation and this hotel aded a significant percentage to it. This hotel was not easy to reach unless you have a car, and there was no internet in the rooms, only in the hall, but it was even better for the vacation. And these were the only inconveniences. For the rest hotel is absolutely amazing. Very good breakfast, incredible view from the windows and tge roof, big enough rooms with ac, even jacuzzi on the roof. Special thanks for the stuff of the hotel! Increadible hospitality, every day we were advised about the best places to go and were never disappointed! Thank you for fantastic vacation!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were driving along the west coast of Italy en route to Roma and needed a place to stay for one night. With the help of Trip Advisor and Expedia, we found Talamone and Il Telamonio Hotel. Talamone is a very nice, small town perched on a cliff overlooking the ocean. Il Telamonio is in the central Piazza Garibaldi. While you can only drive into the Piazza to leave off bags, parking up the hill is fairly easy and free. The Staff at Il Telamonio were friendly and efficient and helpful - although they did not offer to help carry our bags to our room on the third floor (that's fourth floor in Italian) and there is no elevator. The room was small but very clean, with two narrow twin beds next to each other but made up separately. The bathroom, which is a step up, was also clean and small but quite adequate. I don't know how it would be for an extended stay, but for the one night it was more than comfortable. We had a small balcony which looked out over the ocean and the town. There is a rooftop deck with a spa which is where most of the quests were in the afternoon. Most guests seemed to be Italian or at least European. The complimentary breakfast, which is served in the basement, was excellent and included fresh made cappucino. The wifi didn't really work and even the computer in the basement seemed a bit tempremental. Other reviewers have noted there is a staircase to a rocky beach from which one can swim. We enjoyed exploring the town and our stay at El Telamonio.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We arrived in Rome and drove about 2 hours north along the coast to Talamone for our first night's stay in Italy. The coastal town is quiet and beautiful (not many tourists), and the hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of town, for easy exploration. The hotel clerk helped us park our car in a free municipal parking area (short walk from hotel), since there is no parking in front of the hotel. Just below the town is a rocky shore where you can take a long staircase to sunbathe on the rocks and swim. The view is spectacular. Be sure to enjoy the rooftop terrace, too! Great breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

......might seem like the title of a horror movie but in this case it is not.
we paid 120 euro a day for a twin room (they got just twin rooms available, no double... so if you're willing to stay in this hotel get ready to sleep apart from your fianche...) located on the hotel basement with no light at all with the windows adjacent to the road that we could not open for too much noise and lack of privacy.
The room decor was very old and poor, no in-room safe and mini bar prices really expensives.
The free wifi was not working well, or rather did not work hardly at all.
the outdoor jacuzzi on the top floor was as wide as a normal bath and other images on the website were massively misleading because it wasn't specified that the pool was 1 km away from the town within a camping and the only bathing establishment of the village was booked throughout July and August...
There's no private parking facilities...
Just don't go there

Room Tip: ask to get
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicoutimi, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stopped in Talamone on the way down from Pisa. We loved the town, and the small hotel was clean but a little worn down. All in all we were satisfied, except for the coffee at breakfast which was a disaster. Not at all what you would expect in Italy. The staff went out of their way to help us find a good restaurant in town, and they were very friendly overall. That hotel added a lot of good memories to our trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Telamonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Telamonio

Address: Piazza Garibaldi 4, 58010 Talamone, Orbetello, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Orbetello > Talamone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Talamone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Telamonio 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Telamonio hotel is situated right in the old town centre of Talamone, in that small square where Garibaldi, a famous Italian hero, once stopped. It is ideally located for exploring a place characterised by a fairy tale atmosphere, with narrow alleys, evocative rocks and the enchanting "Rocca Senese" (Sienese Fortress), a place where history melts with tradition and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Il Telamonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Telamonio Hotel Talamone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Telamonio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.