We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly great food at a pleasant location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria ai Gechi

Trattoria ai Gechi
Vico Salina 12 - Isola di Stromboli, Sicily, Italy
3383577559
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Stromboli
Price range: $37 - $67
Cuisines: Chowder
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Mostly great food at a pleasant location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Ai Gechi is tucked away behind an alleyway and some stairs, lending it a peaceful, relaxed atmosphere. It's not at all touristy, with menus exclusively in Italian and many locals (or at least Italians) frequenting it. The staff was very helpful and friendly though explaining the different courses for us, even if their English wasn't great.

The four dishes my girlfriend and I tried were mostly very good, with one which was excellent and one a bit of a let-down. The pasta with smoked tuna is a must-try explosion of flavour, and the fish rolls were subtle and delicious. We were less taken with the plate of admittedly fresh and well-cooked prawns, which were a bit plain - being accompanied only by wedges of lime and a sprinkling of parsley and olive oil - but this may have been a matter of personal taste.

Ai Gechi is slightly pricey but not excessively so. We paid €90 for 2 people, each taking a primo and secondi piatti plus dessert and a relatively cheap but very nice bottle of wine (as recommended by the staff). Taking into account that Stromboli is generally a bit more expensive than Sicily or mainland Italy, this didn't seem unfair.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    59
    22
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Could improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The food was just OK, not outstanding and prices a little too high. The decor is nice, but still needs attention if they want to establish themselves ad the destination to be.
It lacks the cool factor, but it is still a lovely place to go.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Have been travelling in Sicily for 3 weeks and this was one of the best meals we've had. The tuna was very tasty and the marinated fish for entree was great. Definitely recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It's ok - if you're a local!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

First visited this restaurant in 2007, when there was no menu as such but the owner back then would have a chat with you about what he could cook that particular night, depending on what he had that day, and would also come over and chat during your meal. It was a great experience.
Very different now, the current owner does chat to customers but it appears only to be only with those that he knows. It's a bit stuffy compared to other restaurants on the island and probably the least enjoyable meal we had while on the island. Not that the food was bad, just not quite the 'wow' factor of some other places. Preferred it the way it used to be.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Recommendation from a local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I have a house in Stromboli but she's been spending summers there for years. We cook at home most nights or eat w friends at theirs, as is the local custom. When we do go out, our favorite is Gechi, run by Niño and his assistant, Emilia. You work up an appetite walking up the hill but then you have the view from the open front room. Good pasta, lovely fresh fish and always some Niño creations. Warm and friendly, nice wine list, good value. Clearly the class of the island!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria ai Gechi also viewed

Stromboli, Aeolian Islands
Stromboli, Aeolian Islands
 
Stromboli, Aeolian Islands
Stromboli, Aeolian Islands
 

Been to Trattoria ai Gechi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria ai Gechi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.