We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a couple of nights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Ristorante La Macchia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Albergo Ristorante La Macchia to your Saves list
Albergo Ristorante La Macchia
Loc. Licina, 11, 06049 Spoleto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Spoleto
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ok for a couple of nights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights while on a cycling holiday in Umbria. The pool is lovely, the room was clean and comfortable but far to small for a 4 night stay - other rooms were larger. No sign of the hotel cat - it must have died or run away. The food was good and portions generous, but with one waitress and a very full restaurant on all nights service was sporadic...house wine is cheap but not that good, so go for a bottle. There is a patio for pre dinner drinks, if you can find someone to get you one. I am afraid we just didn't understand all the effusive comments about how friendly and helpful the owners were...just didn't experience this. Overall felt that while this was a three star hotel it was basing its service on an agriturismo. Breakfast was variable, fresh fruit salad two mornings, tinned peaches the next, and a little too much cake. Not sure we would return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    40
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
44
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I am writing this as I relax on my very comfortable bed after a full day of traveling in Umbria, starting in Assisi this morning. This hotel is a real find and I thank all the previous reviewers for alerting me to this hotel. I am traveling with my daughter but tonight we each have our own bedrooms as the price makes such an arrangement a very reasonable choice. As reported the staff is wonderful, the setting rural and beautiful; it is close to town. has a great restaurant.... I could go on and on. My daughter, who lives in Rome has already planned a return visit with her daughter. I hope to visit again when I visit from California next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a very nice family hotel, locates near Spoleto-this is very comfortable, if You travel by car-large free parking. Hotel offers great service and excellent restaurant! You feel Yourself like at home!!! Also in hotel lives Kiko-7-years old cat !!! ))))

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was our second visit in about five years, and we loved it all over again. The Sabatini family are superb hosts -- and we adore Chicco, the hotel cat. (He is not allowed into the rooms.) The grounds around the property are beautifully verdant and flowery, and the restaurant never disappoints. It's hugely popular with locals, and Saturday nights are a bit frantic--best to eat early then.

My only small critique is that breakfast is on the sweet side, with cakes predominating (albeit homemade). I opted for yogurt and fruit each morning. There are cheese and salami, too, but the breakfast bread is strictly white--would have preferred whole-grain.

One change since last time is the addition of the two donkeys (one is pregnant, so the number may be three by the time you visit). I'd never heard donkeys and so I had no idea of the loud and unearthly noises they make. Added to the roosters, there was often cacaphony at dawn--enough to wake me up, and I'm a very sound sleeper. My husband enjoyed feeding fig skins to one donkey from the tree near the corral.

Rooms are on the small side, but there's a pleasant covered area to sit outside. My husband and I are not swimmers, so we can't comment on the pool. The huge vegetable garden, which provides fresh goodies to the restaurant, is as neat as a pin.

It helps to have a car here since the property is not super-close to Spoleto's old city and the walk, while do-able, is along a very busy road. The location is a great base for day trips to other cities such as Assisi, since it's 2KM from the traffic circles with on-ramps for SS3 and local roads.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

La Macchia was a fantastic experience to stay in . It was the best of both worlds as you are out on an olive farm (complete with donkeys and chickens) but you are near enough to Spoleto town (fifteen minutes walk to the bus and then a five minute trip into the centre).

The hotel is a converted disused railway station with eleven rooms. The owners have cleverly kept a lot of the railway feel to the hotel with the decor being similar to being in an old railway carraige especially in the breakfast room,terrace and in the on site restaurant.

The owners two daughters (Roberta and Daniella) were so friendly and helpful and always ready to answer questions or to give advice. They arranged for a horse riding lesson in nearby Rubbiana and both dropped and collected us. They continuously told us it would be no problem to drop us into Spoleto or to collect us.

The triple room was quite spacious and cool with an outside balcony with a view over the olive goves. The hotel has a very nice restaurant where we ate every night apart from one night. The quality of the food was superb,(especially the antipasti courses ) and they also prepare beautiful thin based wood fired pizzas. The local wine was also fantastic.

There is also a really nice swimming pool just across from the hotel, very clean and cool, surrounded by olive and cherry trees, open from early morning to 8 at night. It was just the warmth of the family running this hotel that would encourage you to come back and stay there again. We would definitely like to visit this hotel again in the future and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel . If you are not driving just be aware that the walk to the bus stop is along country lanes and is not suitable for walking in darkness as most of the way is unlit.

The family also have information about the old train station and a brilliant photo album showing the construction and transformation of the old station to the new hotel.

My twelve year old daughter summed it up perfectly, she said it was a 'weird' holiday, but weird in a really good way as we normally don't stay in the midst of the countryside on holiday . She loved the owners very friendly cat, budgies,tortoises and also the four donkeys and the baby donkey on the olive farm.Our fitness levels definitely increased during our stay due to our walks in the countryside and the nearby beautiful but very steep town of Spoleto. This was a welcome counterbalance to the irresistible Umbrian cuisine and wine served up in the hotels restaurant. La Macchia is certainly one of the most relaxing and beautiful places that we have stayed on holdays.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

La Macchia is a gem! It is located in the midst of olive groves, only about 10 minutes from Spoleto city center, but it feels as if you are out in the countryside...it is quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed the pool and especially the cherries that had just ripened on the trees surrounding the pool. The ristorante is wonderful...pizza is excellent, but their gnocci is the best I've even had! We ate there all 7 nights of our stay and everything we ordered was delicious.
La Macchia has an interesting history--it was originally a train station.
I highly recommend La Macchia as a base for exploring Umbria.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

We had the pleasure of staying at the Albergo Ristorante La Macchia near Spoleto during our May 2008 visit to Italy. It is a charming, comfortable, clean and well-maintained little family-run hotel with a pleasant yard in a serene, country, “away-from-it-all” setting. We enjoyed strolling around the spacious grounds and sitting on our private balcony overlooking the garden below and the hillside beyond, covered in olive trees. We had a delightful, well furnished room with its own ensuite bathroom. The lovely owners and their staff provided warm and helpful hospitality, speaking fluent English. That evening we were treated to a wonderful meal in their own on-site restaurant.

  • Liked — Very quiet "get-away-from-it-all" setting
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Ristorante La Macchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante La Macchia

Address: Loc. Licina, 11, 06049 Spoleto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Ristorante La Macchia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Ristorante La Macchia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.