We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel! Wonderful Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Luca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Luca to your Saves list
Hotel San Luca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Interna delle Mura 21, 06049 Spoleto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Elon, North Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful Hotel! Wonderful Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I've brought groups to the San Luca in Spoleto during January for the past seven years. We keep coming back because the hotel is beautiful and the service is wonderful. The staff is always kind and has helped us organize cooking demonstrations for our groups that are fun and offer a chance to learn how to make some local specialities. I always look forward to sitting by the fire with a glass of wine as the hotel cat purrs and canaries chirp!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    61
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
110
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I called for a reservation the night before we arrived, Carlo was very helpful in making our reservation. He gave wonderful directions to the hotel which was quite helpful. And he spoke
great English...The room was very spacious and super clean. The courtyard had beautiful
flowers and was very inviting. We were there for only one night but wished we had more time
to spend there. We were able to walk to and from the hotel to the center of town. I had a broken
shoulder so he picked us up from the wonderful restaurant where he had previously made reservations for myself and husband and brought us back to the hotel. Such great service!
His staff very professional. I would definitely stay at the Hotel San Luca next time we are in
Spoleto and hopefully have more time to visit the city in more depth. ALSO a GREAT $$$ value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Luca, Direttore vendite at Hotel San Luca, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Mrs Cathy,
hopefully your broken shoulder is much better now... We really enjoyed you and you husband while you were here, and we really hope to see you again in Spoleto that, as you correctly wrote, deserves more time to be seen!
Thank you,
Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our family's stay at the Hotel San Luca could not have been better. The hotel is charming and the family who owns and runs it could not have been more accommodating or helpful. It is perfectly situated within walking distance to the town, but not in the hub or the activity of the town. It was a perfect halfway drive between Tuscany and Rome. Highly recommend both Spoleto for its charm and beauty and the Hotel San Luca which mirrored the history and charm of the city. Our 6 year old daughter was enchanted and we found a lot of activities to keep us all spirited and enthused. Highly recommend .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in mid October and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel.
Located on the fringe of the old town but within the walls. A good walk up into the main tourist areas but always pleasant.
Room very clean and spacious, with old style elegant furnishings. Large bathroom with all the right accessories.
Heated floor and towel rails, but unfortunately got turned off when the hotel was quiet after the weekend.
Staff welcoming and friendly and always ready for a chat.
Breakfast included and was a reasonable selection without going overboard.
We had a balcony that we could sit on in the evenings overlooking the courtyard with a relaxing view.
Old world charm in beautiful Spoleto.
Definitely a strong recommendation for the price

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrey, Utah
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Our room was surprisingly comfortable and roomie, compared to many other European hotels were we have stayed. There was a large closet, functional bathroom (with a real bath), nice bed and good WiFi. Everything was clean and orderly. The breakfast at the San Luca was excellent, with hot chocolate to die for! Frederica Zuccari and her staff are to be commended. We really enjoyed our stay in Spoleto at this wonderful boutique property!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Lovely building with a central courtyard. Furnished with a great deal of character. Rooms spacious, simply and elegantly decorated. Bed excellent, clean.

Breakfast spread was very good by Italian standard: good selection of breads, cake, savoury, cereal and fruits.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Nice and short (though uphill walk into town). Beware that finding it with a SatNav could be difficult as it is down end of a one-way street and to get to it you have to double back.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have recently returned from another wonderful stay at the Hotel San Luca; it's now beginning to feel like home!! This time I stayed for 6 nights and had a beautiful room with a balcony, facing into the courtyard. The bathroom was large, covered in grey marble. The room had a mini-bar, safe, TV. lot's of shelves for clothing, and a very comfortable bed. I love this hotel because it's beautiful and very elegant. Breakfast is lovely and has a large variety of fruit, yogourt, cheeses, meats, and cakes that are baked on the premises; it was never a bother for the kitchen to make me toast in the morning. The owners and staff were most accommodating. They helped organize last minute excursions for me, including an English speaking tour guide to take me to Assisi for the day. I am so grateful for the assistance I got in booking these outings!! Their dinner recommendations were perfect, based on what I was in the mood to eat each day.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone having the good fortune to stay in Spoleto!! Bring comfortable shoes for walking up steep paths to the town's centre.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the courtyard, second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luca

Address: Via Interna delle Mura 21, 06049 Spoleto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Spoleto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Spoleto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Luca 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel San Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Hotel
San Luca Spoleto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Luca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.