We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Luca

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Luca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Luca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Interna delle Mura 21, 06049 Spoleto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in Spoleto
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just came from a trip to Umbria and stayed for one night in hotel San Luca. I wish we had planned to spend more time in Spoleto. We loved it there. The hotel has a great location being close to everything. Our room was lovely, it looked out on the courtyard, and it felt like you were brought back in time. The owners were very helpful. Federica gave us a lot of useful advice on what to see (in one day) and where to eat. And the breakfast buffet, including the ambiance, was great.
I am hoping to come back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Luca, Manager at Hotel San Luca, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Ms Larisa,
one day is not enough to enjoy the beauty and atmoshere of our magic town.
Now you found a place to come back, so we wait for you.
Federica Zuccari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    51
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
91
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in Hotel San Luca for the second time,and we were not disappointed ! Once again we were impressed by the quality and the service of this hotel. We had the executive room with the terrace and it was great to sit outside the room in the evening and gaze up at the stars ! The hotel is quiet and everything is perfectly clean and well maintained. The breakfast is very good with a wide choice of fruit, cheese and fruit juices, home made biscuits, ham omelette etc etc.As it was high summer, we had our breakfast in the lovely courtyard (with fountain !), a truly great start of the day.The lounge area with books, magazines and wooden furniture has a cosy feel to it, which makes this hotel also a good place for winter. There is a cute collection of old soup tureens. We especially appreciated the extra service for our rented car, which was delivered to the hotel and we could park it in the hotel car park, very practical. The service is attentive and discreet and of course there is the hotel cat which my son and I adored ! On top of that, Spoleto and Umbria are incredibly beautiful and interesting. We'll be back and we will definitely stay in Hotel SanLuca again !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Luca, Manager at Hotel San Luca, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Ms "Sultane",
thank you as first for coming back to Spoleto this summer, we really enjoyed you to be here with your son!
Thank you for observing and appreciating every particular: this makes us feel so good!
We hope to have you next year at Hotel San Luca once again!
Federica Zuccari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I am a leader for Zephyr Adventures and I have been staying with Carlo and Federica at their hotel in Spoleto for several years years with our groups and I always look forward to my return. We were there last month with travelers on our Hiking, Biking & Wine Adventure in Tuscany & Umbria and our visit was wonderful as usual. The rooms are lovely but it is truly their helpful, friendly and accommodating natures (including Giuseppe) that make our stays here so special. They have a large garage for our bikes, a great breakfast, beautiful furnishings, large (by European standards) and quiet rooms. And Carlo is indeed "the best bartender in the place" even if he didn't have a Bloody Mary for me (the Prosecco was a fine substitute). Federica's sister also did a cooking class for our group, where we learned how to make ravioli and stringozzi! I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel San Luca, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Zephyrgirl,
it is such a pleasure having your groups here,
that everything we can do to make you feel like home...is not enough!
Carlo promises to do his best for a great Bloody-Mary next year!
And we hope you will learn some new receipes as well...
Federica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craftsbury, Vermont
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights here and enjoyed our room with a terrace which had a quiet location at the back so we heard no other guests. The hotel is nicely decorated with beautiful common areas and even two pretty canaries. We were very comfortable at Hotel San Luca with a spacious room and large marble bathroom, all nicely kept and very clean. Breakfast offered a lot of tasty choices.

The staff was excellent, making (and changing) dinner reservations for us and giving us wonderful advice on places to go to see in the area. We were able to park right near the door making it easy to come and go. I would definitely recommend Hotel San Luca.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Luca, Manager at Hotel San Luca, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Solisue,
thank you for nice words about the room, the terrace and the bathroom as well!
The staff is always happy to share with guests even private experiences about restaurants or osterie, and even more ragarding the nicest and interesting places you might visit in our beautiful region! The parking, free outside or into our private garage is always a very positive plus of our hotel!
Federica Zuccari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My mother and I spent a few days in Umbria and were delighted to stay at Hotel san Luca.
Since it was a special occasion for my mother we were upgraded to a superior room. The room and the bathroom are spotless, the inner courtyard charming and the service attentive and not intrusive. the breakfast is a feast and the home made cakes delicious. Right in the centre. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Luca, Manager at Hotel San Luca, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear On the road traveller,
thank you for appreciating our efforts to make your stay with your mother even more special, if possible! We are proud of every single thing you mentioned, and happy you noticed them all!
We hope you to come back again,
Federica Zuccari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

A lovely hotel in Umbria with the most helpful staff. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. It is a very steep walk up to the old town so be beware!

It is a fraction noisy like many Italian hotels with other guests moving furniture around. It has a lovely courtyard and ambience.

If in Spoleto again I would definitely return and I would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Luca, Manager at Hotel San Luca, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Ms Danny,
we thank you for your nice words about the hotel and the staff.
Soon we will have the escalator close by, so the steep walk will be avoided!
We hope to have you here again!
Federica Zuccari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

It was a wonderful surprise to find the elegant SAN LUCA hotel just inside the city walls of SPOLETO. Our group from Australia stayed 4 nights and everyone commented on the charming rooms, excellent breakfasts and above all the extremely helpful staff. We enjoyed sitting in the sunny courtyard and walking through the adjacent private garden. I look forward to bringing another group to stay in May 2012.

Room Tip: There are 4 different room types.Rooms have different outlooks (courtyard, rose garden or the old to...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Luca, Manager at Hotel San Luca, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Ms Loma,
Thank you for your extremely nice words about San Luca!
The sunny coutyard to drink something, the garden, all the staff, are ready
to welcome you here again!
Federica Zuccari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luca

Address: Via Interna delle Mura 21, 06049 Spoleto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Spoleto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Spoleto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Luca 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel San Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Hotel
San Luca Spoleto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Luca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.