We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel on the edge of town next to Roman Theater” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dei Duchi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dei Duchi to your Saves list
Hotel Dei Duchi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale G. Matteotti, 4, 06049 Spoleto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Spoleto
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 187 cities Reviews in 187 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Fine hotel on the edge of town next to Roman Theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The hotel is on the edge of the city centre next to the Roman Theatre , in summer part of the famous festival. The hotel is overlooking a small valley and is very quiet. There is a private car park which may fill up quickly.

My room was nice with a desk, flat screen TV and a clean bathroom with a shower..

Free WiFi internet worked well with sufficient speed for streaming media.

The breakfast buffet was typical Italian with lots of sweets and pastries but also some bread,ham, cheese, yoghurt, etc. Coffee is made to order. The view from the breakfast room over the valley is nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    94
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
119
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
forked river, nj
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed four nights at this hotel during our visit to Spoleto. What a great location! It's in the upper town and a few steps away from the center with a parking lot. The hotel is very nice and the breakfast was the best during our 17 day trip through Italy. The beds are comfortable and the staff cordial. A very good price for a hotel of such standards and again.....location!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spoleto in a great place to start exploring Southern Umbria and the Hotel Dei Duchi is a fantastic place to stay. It is a relatively modern hotel compared to many of the older ones in the town but its ideal situation, at the top of the town with wonderful far reaching views over a gardens and a very pretty valley, means it is quiet. The rooms are large and well furnished and very comfortable and restful. The breakfast really must have been one of the best buffet breakfasts we have ever enjoyed. An unbelievable and generous variety of fruits, juices, cheeses, hams, breads, cakes and preserves. I could go on! All the staff were very friendly, kind and welcoming. Thank you!
It is also a conference hotel, and if booking, you be aware of this. When we stayed it was not full. We would certainly return. PS - there really is parking available!

Room Tip: I booked a junior suite which was very good value. Although there is a small road outside which can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

On our arrival at the town of Spoleto we decided to try the first hotel with a car park we came across for our one night's stay. I have no idea if all the hotels in Spoleto are as lovely as this, but we felt welcomed from the start when someone arrived to help to take our luggage to our room. He was so friendly and chatted all the time as we checked in. Our room was beautiful, comfortable and tranquil with a view over the surrounding countryside.

We dined in the hotel's restaurant, taking advantage of their set meal of local cuisine and it too was perfect, in the dining room with a view. We enjoyed our breakfast after a quiet night and hope that our future visits to Italy can include this great hotel. We'd love to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place was perfect. I loved every minute of my stay. The best surprise when I arrived...I had paid for what I thought was the cheapest room and it came with a balcony and a breathtaking view. It does turn out that there are some cheaper rooms downstairs in the 'basement' (it is not really a basement as it is not underground); these have windows but no balcony. There also do not seem to be very many rooms with balconies, but there is a terrace accessed from the first floor (That is the second floor to Americans). It has a fantastic location for exploring this lovely hilltop town of Spoleto. It is right next door to a Roman amphitheater and a park. At night, the park was playing a movie. It was lovely. (BTW, I left my balcony doors open several nights and it was perfectly quiet enough to sleep later at night. I also closed them a few nights and I couldn't hear anything outside.) Just a few steps away is the post office and a few more steps to Piazza della Liberta. In Piazza della Liberta, you will find a couple little cafes and a tourist office with very helpful people. Really, everything in Spoleto is within walking distance from the hotel. If you don't feel like walking, though, the hotel has two great pluses: 1) it has its own parking lot, and 2) there is a bus stop just a few steps away. I didn't have a car during my stay. I only used the bus twice, to and from the train station. It was very easy and convenient.

The entire staff was friendly and helpful. There was one technical problem with the toilet one day that was fixed immediately. The room was kept spotless by the lovely cleaning ladies. The people at the desk were always helpful when asked any questions. As with most places, the people make the biggest difference.

The food was fantastic from the included amazing breakfast in the dining room overlooking the beautiful hills to the lunch and dinner I enjoyed in the garden. I would definitely eat at the restaurant again.

Ok, I'm getting too long-winded now...a few technical things before I quit writing. Despite the fact that I left the balcony doors open a couple nights, there is air conditioning; it was lovely. I'm glad I changed hotels from one that was near Piazza Garibaldi; I walked by it and it looked nice, but there are a lot more people and tourists around Garibaldi. It seemed much quieter near Liberta. Also, Piazza della Mercato is nice with more restaurants and closer to Liberta. As a semi-solo traveler (I was solo, but I went to Spoleto because a friend was working there), dei Duchi, and really all of Spoleto, felt very safe. Since my friend was working a couple of nights, I went walking around Spoleto alone. Even walking around at midnight in the upper part of town I never felt unsafe.

I loved this place and people. If I ever have the good fortune to return to Spoleto, I will most definitely stay at dei Duchi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

A clean, comfortable, quiet room; an ample breakfast in a dining room with spectacular views; a location at the head of the Corso in the historic district -- with an actual Roman amphitheater right next door, visible from the patio dining area; and a staff that is more attentive than any I can remember elsewhere. How can this be beat?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I just spent another 2 weeks at this excellent hotel located in the Historic Center of Spoleto, a block from the tourist office, and in the heart of this most charming medieval hilltop town. This is now the 4th year that dei Duchi is our hotel of choice for our 12 day summer program. All my program participants, all 45 of them had an extraordinary experience at this hotel. Tullia and her professional staff did not disappoint, and made our stay in Umbria a memorable one. The breakfast buffet is bountiful; the wait staff's attention to detail is impeccable, not to mention the breakfast room's incredible view of the rolling hills of Umbria. The hotel's garden is a perfect place to have dinner; the lobby and bar area great to have a lovely conversation with friends. Restaurant is fantastic and food is exquisite - had several meals there. Thank you, Hotel dei Duchi for once again being extraordinary! We look forward to coming back next year!

Room Tip: While the views facing the hills are stunning, rooms facing the garden are slightly more secluded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dei Duchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Duchi

Address: Viale G. Matteotti, 4, 06049 Spoleto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Spoleto
#5 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
#5 Family Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Duchi 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dei Duchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Duchi Hotel
Dei Duchi Spoleto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dei Duchi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.