We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at this small family hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aurora Hotel to your Saves list
Aurora Hotel
Via Apollinare 3, 06049 Spoleto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Spoleto
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at this small family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a conference about a year ago and never got around to leaving that good review for this lovely place, great value for money. This is a fairly small family hotel with lots of character, the rooms are classic and very clean. They don't have a restaurant but one of the best in Spoleto is just outside (next to the Roman amphitheatre). Breakfast is the typical Italian selection of pastries, etc and was served in a nice vaulted room. The staff is very nice and helpful, I really enjoyed my stay even though it was business rather than leisure. The old town Spoleto is very nice and worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    57
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
52
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A lovely hotel on a secluded courtyard in the center of Spoleto. The breakfast, with hot croissants, was excellent. The rooms are a bit small, but perfectly nice. The only criticism would be the lack of bed-side lights/tables in our room: I don't know whether the problem is generalized.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This small hotel is just off Piazza della Libertà in the old part of Spoleto. We arrived by train and took the local minibus (Route D) that climbs the mountain through ancient narrow streets and stops in the Piazza. Arriving by car is more difficult because of traffic restrictions, the terrain and lack of parking spaces.

The staff were friendly and helpful. They don't speak a great deal of English so you'll need either some basic Italian or a lot of patience. The room was clean and functional although the decoration was tired, especially in the bathroom. It was a reasonable size by European standards although Americans might find it rather small. A buffet breakfast of coffee with bread and pastries was included. There's a pizzeria/bar directly across the road for anyone requiring a more substantial breakfast.

The hotel is set back from the road with a courtyard so that the rooms at the front are the quietest. Those at the back overlook the outside tables of the restaurant next door and tend to be noisy before midnight.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I enjoyed staying at this small hotel in the historical center. The rooms are tiny, but clean and modern.
Pros: location, friendly staff, no free wifi, minibar, nice soap
Cons: parking (we parked quite far away because the area is ZTL), breakfast, shower (no water power)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We have stayed at this charming hotel many times, the staff are wonderful and the food in their restaurant is stunning.
The views from the upper rooms are stunning.
I hope we return soon

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Don't expect luxury but enjoy a clean, spacious room. Some have balconies. My 2nd stay here. Great place and would stay here again. Nicely located in the upper town. Friendly service but don't expect a lot of English. I enjoyed using my limited Italian. Breakfast was basic but well done in the Italian way. Drive to the hotel, back into the alley, park, drop your luggage, get the parking pass, and go to the parking lot. My only issue this time was that the parking pass never worked. It was graciously replaced by the hotel but even after replacement, it did not work at the big parking lot. When I left, it even stumped the parking staff.

Room Tip: There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

3* hotels in Italy are hit or miss. The Aurora is a very good one. The hotel is clean, bright, and obviously well-cared for. I found the rooms to be nice, clean and quiet. The included breakfast is pretty standard...rolls, cold cereal, ham and cheese. Cable TV, but no channels in any language other than Italian. Don't expect much from the bar...we were told they only had red or white wine to offer when we asked for a drink, even though all the other bottles of alcohol were plainly visible! You can't beat the location in the center of town.

Room Tip: Room 56 has a double bed and a separate twin bed in its own alcove.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Address: Via Apollinare 3, 06049 Spoleto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Spoleto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.