We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting evening's eating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Del Matto

Osteria Del Matto
Vicolo del Mercato da Filippo lu Mattu | Centro Storico, 06047 Spoleto, Italy
0743225506
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 124 restaurants in Spoleto
Price range: $30 - $38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting evening's eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Remarkable food in an eclectically designed and what appears to be a family run restaurant.

Food was a degustation menu of local specialities and got the taste buds buzzing.

Despite the great food more wait staff were needed the night we went which mafe things a bit frustrating. Some people got two or three more items than we did so that was a bit disappointing also.

Great food, the experience could have been a bit better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    229
    170
    44
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant in Spoleto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I like this restaurant very much.
The owner are very nice and also like they decorate the restaurant.

Food are very fresh and delicious and reasonable price.

I would recommend this restaurant to have Italian food here.
You can find this restaurant easy because it located in Spoleto downtown.

I am 100% for sure that I will go to this restaurant again if I go to Spoleto or Italy. :)

Staff they can speak English, So easy for me to oder food :D

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wondefull restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

we had a visit in Spoleto and were looking for something to have dinner. we came inside and the host invited us to sit. to our suprise we saw no menu card, but after the host gave us an article out of the "morgen" we knew what was coming. it was excellent and the fagioli were excellent (family recipe). the host explained us that with the help of local products he was giving the people a good treat at an honest price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Home cooking at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We felt as if we had been invited to dine as part of the family rather than as paying guests. Mama came from the kitchen to welcome us and to turn up the heating because she decided we were cold. Mama's son is the main man and took the responsibility of looking after us very seriously. There is no menu, only small course after small course of excellent home cooking. I doubt it would be possible to pay more than 30 euros a head in this restaurant even with add ons, remarkable!

An extremely warm and inviting experience with wonderful local cuisine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quirky, quaint and quite quintessential”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Translated literally as the hostelry of the madman this fun dining experience is not to be missed.
It has all the surrealism of Fawlty Towers but with great food. The choice is take it or leave it as there is no menu and everything is a mystery until it appears in front of you which just adds to the enjoyment – super.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Del Matto also viewed

Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Osteria Del Matto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Del Matto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.