We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place in Italy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Del Matto

Osteria Del Matto
Vicolo del Mercato da Filippo lu Mattu | Centro Storico, 06047 Spoleto, Italy
0743225506
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 130 Restaurants in Spoleto
Price range: $27 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our favourite place in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We spotted this place in an alley and were drawn to the ivy covered facade. We sat down and were greeted by a friendly, upbeat waiter. The place was very cool and quirky and had a relaxed atmosphere - pinnochio figurines everywhere, garlic hanging from the ceiling, pictures and souvenirs on the walls.

There is no menu - it's a fixed price meal at 17 Euro (for either lunch or dinner...we tried it for both!) that includes all the food you can handle! The chef (the owner's mom, of course) keeps bringing out dish after dish of delicious, local food. We loved the stuffed vegetables, fried zucchini flowers (lightest, most delicious batter), spelt with sausages for my husband and with tomatoes and basil for me (vegetarian), fried ricotta (oh my, this was sinfully delicious), and the piece de resistance - STRANGOZZI. The pasta local to Spoleto, translates roughly to "strangle the priest", and pasta of the gods. We were so full by the time this came out and yet couldn't stop ourselves from eating the last strand that had fallen on the table. We are still talking/dreaming about this now that we're back home.

We also went over to the owner, Filipo's (aka Mato, which means "mad", but he is just delightfully eccentric), new bar/snack place located just around the corner. He was very generous and brought us out some snacks on the house with our wine.

We felt really welcome and like part of the family by the time we left. Will definitely come back next time we're in Italy!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    205
    50
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A journey into Umbrian food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

An inexpensive, fun gastronomic experience. Just don't expect to tell the owners what you would like to eat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quirky and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

What a cool little place, from the decor to the quirky fun staff... They serve you whatever they feel like that day, but don't fight it, it's all delicious!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“It offers a totally new dining experience - a very good one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We chose this restaurant without the prior knowledge offered by earlier TA reviews, it just looked very interesting so we gave it a try. It turned out to be a very good choice as we were immediately treated as long lost friends. As others have mentioned, a restaurant with no menu is certainly different but all the food that we had was excellent and there was a good variety. We were lucky as we were the first people in, so there was a recognised order in the the timing of the dishes. Late arrivers however may have been surprised to get melon and ham half way through their meal.
We couldn't manage everything as there was simply too much, but we will definitely return whenever we can.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Like eating with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

A quirky restaurant with a set menu of small courses cooked by Santina the mother of Filippo, Il Matto! It's a great atmosphere. We have been going there for years and you frequently end up in conversation with people at other tables. Everyone eats the same thing at, more or less, the same time although latecomers are always catered for if there's room. Filippo is a great host and makes a point of chatting to everyone. A great experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Del Matto also viewed

Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Osteria Del Matto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Del Matto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.