We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I so wanted to love this place but” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Il Tartufo

Il Tartufo
Piazza Garibaldi 24, Spoleto, Italy
074340236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 130 Restaurants in Spoleto
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“I so wanted to love this place but”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Unfortunately, my main course was very disappointing (cold, tough beef). The primi was good and the staff pleasant. However, the cold steak, particularly at the price, was a let down.
I would not return.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    7
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We read mixed reviews and after walking around we decided to give it a try.. and am I glad we did! The food was so far the best overall food we've had in Italy. I had the "regional fare" and my husband had a home made pasta with black tartufo.. everything we had was very good.. my favorite was the young pork with a port wine reduction, but everything we tried was good. Some of the reviews commented on the price, but honestly, it's comparable to any other nice restaurant in Italy, and the food was well worth it. My only regret is not having one of the white tartufo dishes which we learned after have a very limited season and availability, and no shelf life.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hope we can go back again soon!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

The service was excellent (I believe it was the owner who served us). The food was outstanding and local and fresh. We sat outside and took in the sights and sounds of Garibaldi Piazza. The wine was great. It was my favorite meal in all our two week vacation in Italy. If we have a chance to ever go to Italy again, Spoleto and Il Tartufo WILL be on our agenda. Only this time we will stay there longer! Thank you Il Tartufo for a fabulous evening! :)

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quality cuisine in famous Spoleto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011 via mobile

a dinner in "il tartufo" was outstanding. From the anti pasta, the primi, the secondi to the finishing dolce. It was just excellent food. Subtle variety in tastes, surprising combinations of herbs and spices. The strangozza and the risotto with their speciality tartufo was sublime. Combined with great services and hospitality this restaraunt is well worth a visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a small gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We went to Umbria for a marriage of a friend and we spend few days around. The entire region deserves spending time around and Spoleto was a little gem we didn’t know. The restaurant was suggested to us from a common friend living in Rome that has the habit to spend weekends over there recharging his soul, that are exactly his words. We weren't disappointed at all from the choice and the food was well served and tasty. My wife fell in love for "strengozzi al tartufo" and we both had a “bis”. The choice of wine was vast and calibrated with the menu and furthermore I've particularly appreciated the possibility of taking just a glass without the obligation of burning an entire bottle because that gave us the opportunity to twin the wine with the main courses. Price in line with quality.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Tartufo also viewed

Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Il Tartufo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Tartufo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.