We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Umbrian dream holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Borgo di Messenano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spoleto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Borgo di Messenano
Save
You added Il Borgo di Messenano to your Saves list
Frazione Messenano, 06049 Spoleto, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Uffculme
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Umbrian dream holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

When we discovered Casa Giovanni on the internet we immediately fell in love with the idea of taking a holiday there. We came with high expectations and were not disappointed. The owner, Emanuela, was so helpful with everything, from booking to instructions on how to get there. On arrival, we were impressed - the house has been furnished and equipped with loving care, and we immediately felt 'at home'.
Messenano itself did not disappoint, either. We soon felt as though we belonged, and it was nice to see what life in a small Umbrian village is like. We listened to birds and cicadas and, on one occasion, to an owl hunting at night !
Messenano was a superb base for excursions in Southern and Eastern Umbria. Spoleto, Narni, Todi, the huge waterfall at Marmore, the Valnerina, the Fonti del Clitunno and numerous beautiful villages were within easy reach for us to explore - which we did, of course. We were sorry when the time came to leave Messenano and return to England again. Casa Giovanna, the village Messenano, the scenery, the sights and to be immersed in the Italian way of life - it was a privilege to experience all these and we enjoyed every minute of it.
Grazie mille to Emanuela who provided this opportunity to us. We can only recommend Casa Giovanna without any reservation.
For us, this holiday was a dream come true

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    13
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked a last minute holiday to Italy and enquired about one of the main properties in Messenano and when Emanuela advised they were full she offered their smaller personal cottage on the edge of the village. It was perfect! Full of character and personal charm, we felt priviledged to have been offered this idyllic home away from home. The property felt very traditional, finished to a modern high standard and serviced immacuately. The private pool was spotless and, although a little cool at this time of year, we were determined to make best use of it and the gorgeous weather after Renzo had so kindly cleaned it for our stay.
The surrounding area is beautiful and very accessible; we enjoyed evening meals in Spoleto and drove over to Norcia and across the Piano Grande which was breathtaking.
Emanuela and Renzo - thank you for being such generous and welcoming hosts. We had a wonderful holiday and your cottage is a gem. We hope to enjoy Messenano again one day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skanderborg, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you really want to experience living in the country with Italiens,in a typical Italien house, this is the best place to do so.The place is so quiet and the country sorrounding is so beautiful. The people here, of all ages are so nice and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay here with our 3 sons age 16, 20 and 23. They made friends with the young Italiens here, and have contact with them on FB. The host family is so nice and friendly and almost everything here has a magic of tranquillity that really relaxes your mind. The swimming pool is sorrounded by spectacular scenery. It is easy to reach other destinations in Perugia from here, which makes the place even more attractive. We would love to go there again..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We loved staying here. The location is great: very easy to get to numerous hilltop towns in Umbria and even Tuscany from here. We (two parents with kids, 9 and 12) would go out for the day and bring food home for dinner and eat in on the small terrace which overlooks the other medieval buildings in the tiny town. The pool is great and the restaurant by the pool was surprisingly good. The house had nice sizable bedrooms and a kitchen well-enough equipped to suit our purposes. We travelled to a few different parts of Italy on this trip including Rome, Venice, and Florence. What we liked about Massenano was that we could go see towns during the day and retire to the country in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Messenano is like Brigadoon....a magical little village that you can't quite believe is real. The village is like a tiny community that you are immediately part of. There are less than 50 people in the town, so our family of four increased the population by almost 10%, which might make one feel self conscious but couldn't have been further from our experience in this pristine village seemingly a million miles from everywhere and yet accessible and accommodating.
I can honestly say that not a day goes by when my family doesn't reference our week in Messenano. The comfortable apartment in the medieval village, the great family-run restaurant specializing in regional dishes LOADED with truffles, the beautiful pool overlooking the most pastoral countryside, the easy access to major sites....wine and olive oil tasting, Spoleto and small towns a short drive in any direction!
I felt like we were let into a world that was so far from my own "big city" reality and yet there was so much of a real connection with the people, the town, the land and the region. It was an honor to experience this life-style in this lovely town with these beautiful people.
Whether you stay a week or a few days, this town and Emanuela's house will make a lasting impression, it has for us!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Me and my family stayed there in August 2009, we found the place not really cleaned, poorly maintained in general. Owners were not that helpful

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Borgo di Messenano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borgo di Messenano

Address: Frazione Messenano, 06049 Spoleto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering house, rooms and cottage into the medieval hamlet of Messenano.Relax walking reading pool great food and wine.Great spot to visit Umbria its wonderful towns, Marmore Falls, and so onUsually our Guest stay by us ome week or more. They could decide to rent self catering house or B&b or hal borad.Our home are for 2/4/6/8 peopleService: Pool, Open space; parking; reception; ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Borgo di Messenano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.