We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peor hotel en Sudamerica!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belgrano

Hotel Belgrano
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perito Moreno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Belgrano
Save
You added Hotel Belgrano to your Saves list
San Martin 1001, Perito Moreno, Argentina   |  
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Peor hotel en Sudamerica!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

our room was stinky to the point that we couldnt sleep, a good thing they let us change it. the bad thing is that the tower i found in my double room wasnt even clean (signs of blood). the breakfast was expensive and poor (i gpt a better one included in price in a hostel in el calafate!) the owner is antipathic and the only good thing would be probably wifi! I Would never come back here !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    8
    18
See reviews for
6
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for a night as part of a package booked with Chalten Travel and we really wished we hadn't. The hotel doesn't seem to have any kind of no smoking policy so our room stank of cigarette smoke, there was a toilet along the corridor which didn't seem to have been cleaned for some time and the room wasn't very clean either.

The general sense of grimness was really cemented by the unfriendly manager who never returned our greetings or expressed any interest in whether the guests were comfortable, possibly because he knew they weren't. The only thing that wasn't dire was the bed which was relatively comfortable.

If you're travelling Route 40 then I suggest checking out the other hotels in Perito Moreno - I doubt they can be worse than this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perito Moreno hotels

Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here on our 2 day Route 40 bus trip from El Chalten to Bariloche. We booked dorm beds when we bought the ticket because we thought it would be easier, but wished we'd bothered finding somewhere else. The place is very run down, there was a hole in the bathroom floor where you could see all the water from the shower pooling, paint falling off the walls, old mattresses. The dorms are big so chances are you'll get a snorer, and people were talking right outside the room at night and early in the morning. The one positive was the restaurant actually had quite good coffee, surprisingly! Breakfast wasn't included with the dorm price though. Other people had trouble finding somewhere to stay if they hadn't booked as everything in town was full, but one group managed to do a home stay for the same price as our awful dorm by asking at the tourist office.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Disgusting place! You shouldn't go here. Some buscompanys recommend this place but there is a far nicer hotel just a few meters ahead in the streat!! The rooms were very dirty and the sheets were not changed! Also a lot of bugs in the shower.

Room Tip: don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

0 star hotel, dirty, old, small, creepy, etc, rooms & dormis.
The place to never sleep but you cant guess when you travel via ElChalten Travel this hotel has a deal with.

The breakfast is also as expensive as it is tiny.

Prefer other hotels less than 500m away on the same street towards downtown.

If you travel via ElChaltenTravel, dont book a room here with them...

Room Tip: Dont go there, that is the worse place to sleep in Perito Moreno. Rooms or dormis, all are unaccept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed one night here doing the 2 day Ruta 40 bus trip with Chalten travel, since this is the recommended hotel and the drop off/pick up point. We were told the rooms were basic but clean and that no other options in town really existed. They are not clean - they are utterly filthy and the rooms stink (musty, cigarette smoke, grease). It is no wonder that they make you pre-pay in El Chalten because we definitely would have not stayed on being shown our room. The bedding made my skin crawl - the bed spread was threadbare and filthy. Underneath the bedspread the blankets were covered in hairs and stunk, clearly not been washed in years. The only saving grace was that the sheets seemed clean - so we slept just with these and were freezing cold. The room is tiny, with only one power point. Bathroom is functional but dirt splattered up walls and mouldy shower curtain. Smoking in rooms is permitted - dirty ash tray provided. If this was a cheap room it still wouldn't be good enough, but at 350 pesos it's disgusting.

The owners have you over a barrel; having bus loads of pre-paid tourists shipped in every day so clearly there is no incentive to improve things. We stayed here as we thought it couldn't be that bad (it was) and that it'd be too much hassle to find somewhere else convenient for the bus pick up the next day. But in fact the town is tiny and there were a number of much nicer looking hotels just a few minutes walk down the main road from this hotel (we had a lovely meal at one). So if your doing the same Ruta 40 bus journey then I would urge you not to stay here because other options do exist.

Can't comment on breakfast (not included) as we declined to eat here based on the state of the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in this cozy hotel in Perito Moreno for 1 night on our way from Bariloche to El Chalten along the (in)famous Ruta 40.
It is a little bit of a hassle to organize your accomodation in a place like this (if you want to pre-book your hotel) so we chose to go for the easy option and book the Belgrano as part of our bus trip package with Chalten Travel. There are a few other hotels in Perito Moreno, but as far as I know you can’t book them on the website of an online travel agent.
Hotel Belgrano is an old-style family run hotel. The interior hasn’t changed for ages. So we had f.i. a room with a carpet that was at least 25 years old. You can barely turn around in the bathroom (you had to stand in the shower to be able to use the toilet) which has not been updated neither for many years. The beds are fine.
So the quality of the room is not really great, but I would still advise to stay in this hotel if you accept some of the mentioned negative points, because it has a good atmosphere. You can eat in the restaurant between the locals who are sitting at the bar or have a simple diner with their family. It all adds to the feeling of being far from the beaten paths which is the charm of travelling on the Ruta 40.
The only ‘downside’ to this hotel is that they offer wifi (free), which isn’t adding to the “middle of nowhere”-feeling.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belgrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belgrano

Address: San Martin 1001, Perito Moreno, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > Perito Moreno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Perito Moreno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belgrano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.