We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value... great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere to your Saves list
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sauze, 14, Sestriere, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Sestriere
Hemel Hemsptead
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“great value... great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Having just returned I wanted to advise people travelling what to expect. We travelled with Thomsons which is also part of Crystal the reps on site were brilliant. hotel check in was a pain and did seem to take forever which will happen when you are dropped of in a coach. Yes we had to pay 100 euro deposit but had no problem getting it back, the rooms were very large and very comfey. There are a few cracks and broken tiles, thats what happens when people walk around in ski boots even when asked not to. the linen and towels and beds were very very clean and the kitchen had more than enough equipment. The ski slopes were right outside the door and the hotel pool was lovely for the kids for a break, small but fun, there is also a gym and exercise classes and the on site supermarket was very good for bits and pieces. The place is a bit like a rabbit warren but like any where only takes a few days to work out the quickest routes. we have already booked to go back next half term. Oh also the extreme ski school is based there and they are fantastic for lessons. My one warning, don't go for the half board option we had a free meal there and would rather we had not bothered it was not to our liking there are lovely resturants in the town which is a walk up a steep hill rather walk up the hill at night and ski to the door than the other way round.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    157
    71
    38
    30
See reviews for
157
67
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We too were also dreading staying at this hotel after reading some reviews, but having stayed there this week we don't understand why it was criticed so badly and therefore felt the need to write a review.

The location of the hotel is brilliant. Ski in/out. Next to bubble over to Sauze D'oux, and next to chair lift to get to main area via red run. Its a 10-15min walk uphill, if beginner, to main area. All rooms overlook the slope and have a balcony. Staff were friendly and constantly cleaning the main corridors.

OK, we were the only people at check in whose room wasn't ready until after 5pm. Everyone elses from the coach was ready on arrival at 12pm.

In comparison to other skiing self catering apartments, the room was on the larger side and clean. Lots of clean towels, clean bed linen, complimentary toileteries and a toilet roll were provided. The kitchen area is a standard 2 hotplate, fridge and microwave set up. As with other French/Italian rooms, there is no kettle (British requirement). A pan is easily used to boil water for drinks. We stayed self catering, so you are expected to clean the kitchen area and take rubbish out before you check out. This again is the same requirement as all other apartments we have stayed in.

On site, we benefitted from free use of the pool (small but did the job, and take flip flops and hats with you), free table tennis, free pool table and 2 complimentary meals per person (food just ok, but get there on time as best things go quickly).

We only used the ski lockers for the big skis as small ones couldn't be locked up and neither would snow boards fit. Our boots we kept in our room, which wasn't a problem.

Check out was standard, with a room inspection of the kitchen area/rubbish emptied, before the 100 euro cash deposit was given back.

We rated our sleep as 3 star as the sofa bed was a little too hard and, yes, the room was very warm. (set at 21 degrees).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

I have never left a review on here before but felt I had to after being worried about the hotel before travelling there last week.

Myself and a friend stayed there last week, from the airport to checking in, getting skis and being in the room was 2 hours.

Issues we did not discover:
We didn't have to leave a depoit
Check in was quick
Room was clean
Room was serviced every day
Staff were friendly

Yes, the room had a cracked tile and could do with a lick of paint but I have stayed in £250 a night hotels which have the same issues

The staff were polite and helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Lets be clear this is not a 5 star hotel and should not reviewed as such, if you are on a skiing holilday you should be out on the slopes not inspecting your room.

We skiied out of the front door down to the lift and could ski back in in the afternoon.

The food is nothing to write home about but you can stay here all week without spending a penny which I was not expecting.

To sum up the hotel, for the money and the location this was an excellent hotel. We could not imagine having to walk 15mins from the other hotels to get to the slope.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Have been looking at the reviews and needed to put a few things in perspective for anyone else thinking of wanting to go somewhere close to the slopes and value for money.

I went here for Christmas with my wife and daughter and were met by incredibly polite staff, and a room which proved excellent value for money- our SC room was over £500 for the same period elsewhere in Europe! Furthermore, getting 2 free meals thrown in is great value and saved even more money!

So what about the complaints of others?

- Cracked tiles? Well people have said on here they kept ski equipment in their rooms, I saw this happening myself, so who's surprised that people walking around in ski boots have caused this?!
- Rude staff? Not my experience whatsoever, in fact the entertainment staff were amazing and so energetic. MY observation is, maybe Brits should at least TRY to speak the language! There were times I was embarrassed to be English.
- Build quality? Well it was put up for the Olympics, nuff said! (Let's see the accommodation in London in 2016!)

Not to everyone's taste I'm sure, but where is? The fact about the place is it has amazing slopes, almost deserted and friendly locals. I'll be going back there again- based on some reviews the slopes may be even quieter- GREAT!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

The services and the management are below any standard. The Villaggio Olimpico has enormous potential but not with the people currently leading it. We posted a complaint about cold water – yes the water was not warm – let's say it was about 40 degrees not more and about the heating which goes on warm air – it dries you out completely. The heating was supposed to be adjustable individually in the room but it is not true. The lower temperature was set to 23 degrees ad it was impossible to sleep with that. We never got a feedback for our complaints (every day – at the end in written) and nobody tried to solve the problems. Young people that work there are not professional and skilled.
Internet costs 2 euros per hour and it can be accessed only in the lobby.
Bed sheets had holes (remember this is a 4 star accommodation).
TV programmes are only Italian or Austrian.
The windows were dirty.
The swimming pool is poor and without any places where to sit or relax.
The whole complex is half finished – being built fast but never finalised. Bedrooms are not isolated from the living room. The lights in the rooms are halogen/neon – awful.
The director at the end couldn't explain the reason for the cold water and offered us a dinner which we refused of course. How can one expect to repay the cold water for the whole week with a dinner? Incompetence at a glance I must say.
Don't go there, there are lots of nicer places around for the same or less money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Good Points :
- Cleaned rooms every day
- Great location (Very Very close to the slopes, short walk into town)
- Good enough sized room for a week
- Great food in the restaurant (Something to suit everyones taste)
- No 100 euro deposit to pay
- Fast Check in (Even though check in was packed)
- arrived at the hotel in the morning were given room keys straight away no wait
- Very helpful and friendly staff
- Ski hire shop very helpful, we hired skis and boots and half way through the holiday they let us change our skis to snowboards with no extra costs.
- Good sized boot room with your own boot lockers and ski lockers.
- easy access to other resorts
- Excellent Gym

Bad points:
- Hotel had a few cracked tiles (But large hotel a lot to maintain especially when lots of people walking around with ski boots on)
- Bad design of bath room (Should get rid of the biday and make larger space for the toliet. But only there for 1 week so doesn't really matter)
- Walls were paper thin could hear everything outside of the room.
- Beauty spa was expensive (15 euros for the spa and 25 euros for Jacuzzi)
- The pool was a bit small and cold.

Overall great hotel for the money, would def visit again and recommend to others!!!!
DO NOT LISTEN TO THE BAD REVIEWS!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Having read the reviews on this hotel before we went we were dreading it, we need not have worried, we were on a half board basis so did not have to pay a deposit, we had maid service to our room every day and had clean linen and towels. And we had plenty of loo rolls too. The location of the hotel is excellent right across the road from the piste - I would rather be close to the slopes and have a little walk into the village anyday!!. The food was fine we always found something and if all else fails you can order a pizza. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly and the ski rental service on site was brilliant. Yes the hotel needs a bit of TLC but so do most in ski resorts at this price, the walls are very thin so you can hear your neighbours but we were so tired at night this wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere

Address: Via Sauze, 14, Sestriere, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sestriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Sestriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sestriere Olympic Village is a unique space built in order to remember that Sestriere has had an hystorical role as Olympic venue. Perfectly ensconced in the natural landscape that surrounds it, the Olympic Village overlooks the breathtaking scenery of Argentera Valley and Monti della Luna Mountains. The resort has been conceived in full respect of the surrounding territory and includes 7 different buildings named from A to F plus a last block named G, easy to identify because of its big window tunnel roof. Here, it is set the global polyfunctional area which overlooks the newly open sky slopes for beginners. THE SERVICES: The Sestriere Olympic Village guarantees fabulous vacations, whether you wish to practice sports or simply to relax in the summer as well as in the winter. A fully equipped health spa fitted out with saunas, steam bath, jacuzzi, massage area; a swimming pool (12 m x 6 m) and a gym is at disposal of the guests. Our little guests have a special children recreation area which includes a mini club and entertainment activities (3-12 years old) Security is guaranteed 24 hours a day thanks to the reception and surveillance service. Each apartment is provided with a reserved indoor parking place; Ski school, ski storage, rental and maintenance are available within the premises of the Village. The other services at disposal of our guests are located in a global multifunctional area: 2 bars, self service, restaurant, pizzeria, bar Risto Grill on the roof top, wine-shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Olimpico Hotel Sestriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.