We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere

Save Saved
You added Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sauze, 14, Sestriere, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 24 hotels in Sestriere
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here in February 2012 and came back in April 2013 'cause we loved the place: very well located (practically ski-in ski-out), big enough rooms/mini-flats, and an excellent restaurant (even my mother-in-law was happy with the food!). On top of that, my kid liked a lot the evening entertainment organised by the staff. I will definitely go back to the Villaggio Olimpico again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Mrs Morris
thank a lots for your opion!

The best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    133
    67
    35
    29
See reviews for
137
56
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed for one week in february and we were very pleased!A lot of open space, very clean, very good meal-italian style, everyone is very kind, especially blond girl in restaurant who was serving hot wine after a long sking day!Due to heavy snow fall, the team was working a lot to clean the coridors and walking sides.Rooms are nice and basic equiped for skitrip and the local shop also helps a lot!Keep up the good work there!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you very much !!
The best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hemsptead
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have just returned from another wonderful holiday. This was our fourth time staying here and intend to re book for next year. Our first trip four years ago was with Crystal but since then we have booked direct with the Hotel and sorted our own flights and car hire. This worked best for us but also spoke to some very happy crystal customers whilst there.

We booked a two bedroomed apartment for 6 although there were only four of us but then saves using the sofa bed. The apartments are massive and very clean. We dont usually cook as we llike to try different resturants and there are some lovely ones in the town which is a ten minute walk up hill but it is bearable even when its snowing! however we do usually like to go down to breakfast, there is a very large selection in self service style but be warned if there are eggs and bacon available at the same time then you have timed it right! The bar area is great for a quick beer or two after skiing or before heading out they sell some very strong lager or carlesberg for 4euros for a large one (just under a pint.) they do have entertainment on and someone commented on butlin style... maybe it is a little but it is good fun if theres a group of you there were 12 of us made up of 3 families so we had a good laugh and were quite happy when we beat Team Italy in the mad quiz!!!! Go team London! They also lay on free wine and hot chocolate as you arrive back from the slopes. The ski lockers are worth using as make life easier but not for my lot who board as there is nowhere to keep boards. They are trying to enforce the no ski boots in the corridors but I did see a few people just ignoring this. I think the blocks that the Crystal customers go in are based on long corridors which is why you hear people walking past at night or in their ski boots, but if you book direct then the rooms are on the other side of reception and seem to go off in smaller corridors so you dont hear any noise hardly. Oh and the views are amazing! They have slightly changed the layout of the slopes opposite and have done away with the button lift so you now have a chairlift to do some lovely small blue runs to get you started! or go straight to the top for a good few reds!

The ski school that is based in the hotel is really good all of our children over that last four years have learned to ski with them and on the Friday morning they hold a race on the slope and then there is a presentation in the evening at 6 pm. all the children got a medal and a ski school back pack and a trophy was given out to the fasted three skiers in each group... how ever our older children have switched to snowboarding and wwe wanted to book some lessons, we couldnt bok with the ski school as they were waiting to see how many crystal people were going to book when they all arrived the following day and by the time we got back to them they had filled the lesson, however on hindsight we booked with the YES Snowboard school which is just on the left at the end of the town...they were amazing and I would highly recommend them for any snowboardin including in the park!

The resort suits us as it has everything for a children the skiing is good the hotel is good the people are lovely. When we first went ( we have been three feb half terms and one new year) we were also a little worried about the reviews we read, and possibly the first year it was a little hard work with some of the staff, however there has been a real marked improvement over the years, our trip this year was possible the best ever, the staff were so helpful and greeted you with a smile, their English was very good...much better than my Italian and if they couldnt understand you they found a collegue who could! I can only think the people that complained before were maybe not making an effort...your in their country try learning a few phrases of good morning and thank you....its not hard!

I think if you look at the cost of this hotel / apartments and yes it is massive, you shouldnt be expecting the Ritz, there are staff continually cleaning the communal areas and they are smiling and happy and always ready to greet you. the skiing is doorstep and there is a new nice little bar next to the Gondola oposite the hotel for a lunchtime snack at the end of ski school.

Go ... and I hope you enjoy it as much as we have!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
thank a lots!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed in the Olympic Village hotel in the middle of January. We arrived early in the morning, and were check straight in and thankfully our rooms were ready. We did have to pay an additional city tax of 7euros per person, which we were advised of at the time of booking. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

The room was spacious and well equipped, with a twin bedroom to the left with a separating sliding door. There was plenty of storage in the bedroom, enough space for all 4 of us to store clothes. The bathroom area included a separate sink, leading to a toilet and shower room (also with a bidet). There was an open plan living and kitchen area, which was really spacious. This included a twin sofa bed, dining table and kitchenette, which was very clean. There was a fridge, with a small freezer also. Unfortunately there was no oven or even grilling capability in the microwave, which was a shame. The twin bedroom had a window onto the corridor, the curtains were not great so let quite a bit of light in during the night, we didn't have a problem with noise in the corridor, but I can imagine at busier times there might be an issue. We also found that the bedroom wasn't as segregated as first thought, there was a gap above the door of both the living area and the bedroom, so if anyone wanted to go to bed earlier, they were still disturbed by the noise from the communal area of the apartment.

The ski lockers were great, but only space for 2 pairs of boots in the boot lockers. The hotel layout was difficult to navigate on the first few days, but we soon got used to it and found the quickest route to the ski lockers and reception.

We booked a package deal through crystal, which, to our surprise included 2 vouchers (one for pizza, one for the buffet) to the restaurant in the complex. The food was good, not sure I would have enjoyed it as much if we had opted for a full board deal, there didn’t seem to be a massive variety in the 2 days we spent there.

The gym was well equipped, although I personally didn’t use it. The pool was small with lots of children and families using at peak times. It was almost impossible to swim lengths without being disturbed. It was also compulsory to wear a swimming hat, which I wasn’t aware of before we arrived. They have a shop selling on site which sells them for 6-8euros, however, the shop was out of stock on the day we required them.

The slopes were a 1 minute walk away, which was great! Ski lessons were slightly further up the mountain, near to the centre of Sestriere so it was either a 10 minute walk up the road, or a ski lift and run down which was no problem. There was ski hire available in the complex, however the one included in our package deal was located in the centre, a 10 minute walk away. There was also a mini supermarket on site which didn’t seem to be too expensive and stocked everything we needed to cook for 4 nights of our stay. All in all, a great stay in the Olympic village, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Mr Kim
thank a lot for white your opion.

The best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawdesley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Two friends and I had a self catering apartment in block F of the hotel which could not have been located any better. Reading other reviews before we went gave us mixed feelings but the staff were all friendly and efficient, the apartment was far better than similar we have stayed in in France and the price was incredibly good value. There was a perfectly good supermarket within the complex, once found it was easy to get there and back within 5 minutes, and the short walk up the hill to the other shops, bars and restaurants was no trouble and well worth it. Everyone was so friendly, the food and service was excellent and the prices are very reasonable. I can't recommend enough, I am a very happy skier!

Room Tip: You can ski to block F but you can also end up near to reception too so all areas seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Mr Steve
thank a lot for opion , )

The best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otterburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

A Group of 10 of us stayed here from 19th Jan 14, we only paid £169 each Self Catering through Crystal so werent expecting much at that price and after reading the bad reviews werent hopeful but how wrong we were!

Check in was a little slow but with 50 or 60 people all checking in at the same time it wasnt going to take 2 minutes, the directions to the rooms werent great but we found our room after a slight detour. We also didnt have to pay the 100 euro room deposit we had heard about only the 7 euro per person local tax which was a bonus.

We were in Block F on the 5th Floor (rooms 353, 354, 355), which is the far right of reception as you look at the hotel from outside but there is a door at the bottom of the internal lift so you dont have to walk to the main part of the hotel to get out. I can understand how some rooms could be noisy because of the long corridors and the noise does carry but I would advise to choose the above rooms numbers in block F on any floor because its the end of a corridor so you dont have lots of people walking past your door, it was only our group in our case.

The rooms were clean, modern and well maintained, the only thing I could say was missing was a kettle but you have pans and a microwave so its not the end of the world, I would maybe take a travel kettle next time.

The Gondola to Sauze and one of the 4 Man chair lifts to the Sestriere Ski area are 100 yards from the hotel and if you ski back into the Sestriere side you can virtually ski to the door you just have to take off your skis to walk across the road.

We got 2 free meal vouchers from Crystal to eat in the hotel 1st night was a pizza, salad bar, sweet/ ice cream and drink, the 2nd night was a buffet style, both we couldnt fault and was even better that it was free.

Only 1 room out of our group used the ski lockers as you only had 1 key and having 4 people in a room that didnt necesarily ski together all day meant this wasnt convenient and we heard it was cold and wet so just put your skis on the balcony or the cleaning cupboard which was far easier.

The main part town is up quite a long hill and was the only downside to the location really but reception would ring a taxi if you couldnt manage this, it didnt really cause us a major issue but if your ski school was up the hill it wouldnt be a nice walk. With regards to ski hire, dont book through Crystal they use a shop up the hill in the centre of the town not the hotel ski hire, some our our group used the hotel one and it was cheaper than Crytsal anyway and far less hassle.

The resort does not have a huge apres scene and is quieter than Sauze but theres plenty of bars and our favourite Apres spot was a place called Caffe/Bar Bistrot which was just up the steps from slopes and the other Sestriere lifts and before the hotel du col. William the owner is lovely and as the week went on the drinks got cheaper, the measures got bigger and the free food more often, its well worth a visit. Its also worth doing the Crystal pub crawl to find the good bars but dont have too many free shots or you wont remember where they were like us!

With regards to Skiing we loved the long wide reds on the Sauze side from the top of the Gondola, but to the honest the slopes were good everywhere, the Sestriere side got busy with locals on our last day which was the saturday but the top of sauze was still quiet and I only think we queued once for a couple of minutes this day for the lifts. in general the slopes and lifts are really quiet as the area is so big. Some of our group went on the Crystal bus trip to France where the Blacks are Blacks but theres a lot of green roads to get to these so they wouldnt bother going again as theres more than enough skiing in the other areas.

Our group has skied for many years visiting Italy, France and Austria and this was my favourite holiday, we plan to return to the same hotel and resort in March and will possibly visit again next year.

Room Tip: Choose Block F end of corrior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Lesley
thank a lots for your opion .)

The best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed in the Villaggio for 4 nights in C Block. It was really close to the chair lifts and there was a ski room at the bottom of the block. The rooms were quite spacious and the deal we got came with half board (breakfast and dinner). The staff were really friendly and many spoke English so we never had any language problems. There is free wifi in the reception area and in the wine bar and a supermarket in the building. Free indoor parking was a bonus.

The only real downside was that you need to pay 5 Euro per night for the Olympic card (which gives you access to the indoor pool and gym) however they wouldn't let you into the pool if you didn't have a bathing cap or a pair of thongs (flip-flops).

Room Tip: Most of the blocks are close to the ski lifts - C, D, E and G especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere

Address: Via Sauze, 14, Sestriere, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sestriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Sestriere
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Sestriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sestriere Olympic Village is a unique space built in order to remember that Sestriere has had an hystorical role as Olympic venue. Perfectly ensconced in the natural landscape that surrounds it, the Olympic Village overlooks the breathtaking scenery of Argentera Valley and Monti della Luna Mountains. The resort has been conceived in full respect of the surrounding territory and includes 7 different buildings named from A to F plus a last block named G, easy to identify because of its big window tunnel roof. Here, it is set the global polyfunctional area which overlooks the newly open sky slopes for beginners. THE SERVICES: The Sestriere Olympic Village guarantees fabulous vacations, whether you wish to practice sports or simply to relax in the summer as well as in the winter. A fully equipped health spa fitted out with saunas, steam bath, jacuzzi, massage area; a swimming pool (12 m x 6 m) and a gym is at disposal of the guests. Our little guests have a special children recreation area which includes a mini club and entertainment activities (3-12 years old) Security is guaranteed 24 hours a day thanks to the reception and surveillance service. Each apartment is provided with a reserved indoor parking place; Ski school, ski storage, rental and maintenance are available within the premises of the Village. The other services at disposal of our guests are located in a global multifunctional area: 2 bars, self service, restaurant, pizzeria, bar Risto Grill on the roof top, wine-shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Olimpico Hotel Sestriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.