We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski trip to Sestriere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere to your Saves list
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sauze, 14, Sestriere, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Sestriere
Mawdesley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ski trip to Sestriere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Two friends and I had a self catering apartment in block F of the hotel which could not have been located any better. Reading other reviews before we went gave us mixed feelings but the staff were all friendly and efficient, the apartment was far better than similar we have stayed in in France and the price was incredibly good value. There was a perfectly good supermarket within the complex, once found it was easy to get there and back within 5 minutes, and the short walk up the hill to the other shops, bars and restaurants was no trouble and well worth it. Everyone was so friendly, the food and service was excellent and the prices are very reasonable. I can't recommend enough, I am a very happy skier!

Room Tip: You can ski to block F but you can also end up near to reception too so all areas seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Mr Steve
thank a lot for opion , )

The best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    157
    71
    38
    30
See reviews for
156
67
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Otterburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

A Group of 10 of us stayed here from 19th Jan 14, we only paid £169 each Self Catering through Crystal so werent expecting much at that price and after reading the bad reviews werent hopeful but how wrong we were!

Check in was a little slow but with 50 or 60 people all checking in at the same time it wasnt going to take 2 minutes, the directions to the rooms werent great but we found our room after a slight detour. We also didnt have to pay the 100 euro room deposit we had heard about only the 7 euro per person local tax which was a bonus.

We were in Block F on the 5th Floor (rooms 353, 354, 355), which is the far right of reception as you look at the hotel from outside but there is a door at the bottom of the internal lift so you dont have to walk to the main part of the hotel to get out. I can understand how some rooms could be noisy because of the long corridors and the noise does carry but I would advise to choose the above rooms numbers in block F on any floor because its the end of a corridor so you dont have lots of people walking past your door, it was only our group in our case.

The rooms were clean, modern and well maintained, the only thing I could say was missing was a kettle but you have pans and a microwave so its not the end of the world, I would maybe take a travel kettle next time.

The Gondola to Sauze and one of the 4 Man chair lifts to the Sestriere Ski area are 100 yards from the hotel and if you ski back into the Sestriere side you can virtually ski to the door you just have to take off your skis to walk across the road.

We got 2 free meal vouchers from Crystal to eat in the hotel 1st night was a pizza, salad bar, sweet/ ice cream and drink, the 2nd night was a buffet style, both we couldnt fault and was even better that it was free.

Only 1 room out of our group used the ski lockers as you only had 1 key and having 4 people in a room that didnt necesarily ski together all day meant this wasnt convenient and we heard it was cold and wet so just put your skis on the balcony or the cleaning cupboard which was far easier.

The main part town is up quite a long hill and was the only downside to the location really but reception would ring a taxi if you couldnt manage this, it didnt really cause us a major issue but if your ski school was up the hill it wouldnt be a nice walk. With regards to ski hire, dont book through Crystal they use a shop up the hill in the centre of the town not the hotel ski hire, some our our group used the hotel one and it was cheaper than Crytsal anyway and far less hassle.

The resort does not have a huge apres scene and is quieter than Sauze but theres plenty of bars and our favourite Apres spot was a place called Caffe/Bar Bistrot which was just up the steps from slopes and the other Sestriere lifts and before the hotel du col. William the owner is lovely and as the week went on the drinks got cheaper, the measures got bigger and the free food more often, its well worth a visit. Its also worth doing the Crystal pub crawl to find the good bars but dont have too many free shots or you wont remember where they were like us!

With regards to Skiing we loved the long wide reds on the Sauze side from the top of the Gondola, but to the honest the slopes were good everywhere, the Sestriere side got busy with locals on our last day which was the saturday but the top of sauze was still quiet and I only think we queued once for a couple of minutes this day for the lifts. in general the slopes and lifts are really quiet as the area is so big. Some of our group went on the Crystal bus trip to France where the Blacks are Blacks but theres a lot of green roads to get to these so they wouldnt bother going again as theres more than enough skiing in the other areas.

Our group has skied for many years visiting Italy, France and Austria and this was my favourite holiday, we plan to return to the same hotel and resort in March and will possibly visit again next year.

Room Tip: Choose Block F end of corrior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Lesley
thank a lots for your opion .)

The best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed in the Villaggio for 4 nights in C Block. It was really close to the chair lifts and there was a ski room at the bottom of the block. The rooms were quite spacious and the deal we got came with half board (breakfast and dinner). The staff were really friendly and many spoke English so we never had any language problems. There is free wifi in the reception area and in the wine bar and a supermarket in the building. Free indoor parking was a bonus.

The only real downside was that you need to pay 5 Euro per night for the Olympic card (which gives you access to the indoor pool and gym) however they wouldn't let you into the pool if you didn't have a bathing cap or a pair of thongs (flip-flops).

Room Tip: Most of the blocks are close to the ski lifts - C, D, E and G especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Just back from a fab week in the Olympic village apartments in Sestriere. We had read other reviews , so was nervous, of some comments, but in the end need not have worried. Check in, was super efficient by very friendly staff, deposit by credit card not cash, we were in our rooms by 1.30pm, which meant some of us were on the slope by 2pm, not bad on our first day. The walk up town is only 10 minutes max, and by our third day, even the beginner skiers in our group were getting on the nearby chairlift and skiing down to ski school from the midway point. Our group had 3 rooms all together in block F, which had great views. Room size was adequate, and never found them noisy, we quickly worked out the shortest route to reception. The building is kept in pristine condition, our two free meals were appreciated by everybody, while the après ski hot chocolate/ mulled wine was great. The location of the apartments is great for skiing, especially if you want to head to Sauze or Sansiciaro on the Gondola, or up the chairlift to ski in Seistriere. The only negative we found was the expensive sauna & hot tub at €15 per person. We all had a great week and would definitely say it is great value accommodation

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked this accommodation through Crystal due to the budget cost of staying here compared to almost all other accommodation. Having read the reviews before traveling we were slightly apprehensive about the accommodation. However, we were pleasantly surprised and relieved upon arriving. Our rooms were ready when we arrived at 3 pm and the check in staff very pleasant. We'd asked to have two apartments next to each other and we got this without any issue. The apartments were a good size and the kitchenette was adequate for cooking a few meals. It was very clean and while the furnishing were basic (as expected) the beds were comfy and everything was functional. There isn't a kettle provided so if you like drinking tea then a travel kettle is recommended.

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurants but there did always seems to be a good few people there. The shop in the block was pretty well stocked and quite reasonably priced.

The hotel pool (and the pool in the main village) are strict that swimmers do need a swimming cap and don't sell them so be prepared. There was a bit of noise from the corridors first thing in the morning that might disturb those wanting a lie in and this would probably be worse during busier times - there isn't much sound proofing between the rooms.

The access to the ski slopes was great from the accommodation with both the chair up Sestriere and the Gondola over to Sauze d'Oulx and San Sicario accessible in 2 minutes. It was a slightly longer walk up the hill to the main resort bars and restaurants but at least this meant it was downhill on the way back.

Overall we had a great trip here and think it was good value for the cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

If we start with the negatives this venue is noisy. Mainly because they have styled the hotel around the ex Olympic village which has concrete floors and uni hall style corridors. People who refuse to put ski boots in ski locker area really do make. Noise and you can't get away from it. It's above, to the side and below you. The bedroom is against the corridor so when people return in the evening the sensor lights come on and this can wake you and after a hardcore day skiing you don't want to be disturbed. It's rather butlin style with its approach to entertainment , karaoke , bingo , cabaret and if you are used to chalet style skiing accommodation where you have mountain views from your bedroom window , your own noise and continual wifi (wifi is only free in the bar area) then this will frustrate you. Everything has to be paid on a village hotel card. You load the card with cash which is not refunded at end of the vacation. Restaurant is self service style and an evening meal will cost euro 21 pp, with pizzas around 8 euros. You can do self catering though as there is a small kitchen with two ring hob and microwave. There is no oven or toaster. There is. A Mini market in the village which sells basics. If you want to go swimming make sure you bring a swim cap as otherwise you have to buy one. The jacuzzi / sAuna etc is not free and is around 15 euros pp for each thing.
If you book with a holiday company don't automatically take their ski hire deal. We booked with crystal and they have ripped us off. There is a Ski rental place at the village hotel that had deals and the crystal shop is a fifteen minute walk, up hill which when you return with your skis is not much fun. Also ski passes, check on line first. Crystal again suggested we book through them but you can get cheaper when there.
On the positives, the skiing is fabulous, having skied in other countries, I would definitely rate the skiing around 9 out of 10. Great wide runs, un crowded resort. Good mix of blue. Red and black runs that are great for all levels of skiing. You can ski straight onto the piste from hotel, just cross the road and you are there. The Area to ski around is vast, you can also ski to France in the day. The village is clean, perfectly suitable for families and a good base for visiting the many ski areas. If you are comfortable with a holiday camp style accommodation this is great for that. The rooms are really only 2 people unless you ask for family rooms. If accommodating 3 people, the 3rd bed is a sofa which is in middle of lounge area.
Would definitely return to serestriere but not stay at village .
Would add that the trip has been very good value for money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharm el sheik
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I booked this hotel in a rush back in August for a New Year family ski trip through Crystal as the offer price was so low, and then spent the next few months dreading going after reading some of the horrendous reviews on trip advisor especially the ones about room noise and rude staff. I am now back from our holiday and I can say with confidence that these reviews are wrong, or written by fussy, unrealistic visitors as this place is amazing value for money and provided us with one of our best ski holidays on record. We took our two children, 7 and 9, both of which are confident skiers, and so we didn't take the ski school option which meant the location of the hotel, next to a 4 man chair which takes you up to the main part of Sestrierre and the gondola which whizzes you straight up and over to the Sauze D'oz, Cesana and Sansicario resorts, was perfect.
On arrival we were dropped off first in resort, checked in immediately by pleasant staff (!)and were given our room keys and could access the room straight away (at 12.30pm). The apartment was plenty big enough for the 4 of us and was on floor 4 of block F with amazing views of the slopes and mountains behind. We then headed to the ski hire shop (a 10 minute walk which was fine, after all this is supposed to be an active holiday!!!) and were served straight away, so we were having lunch slope side by 1.30 that day, which I was seriously impressed with.
I did take ear plugs just incase after some of the terrible reviews on noise but didn't wear them after the first night as they just weren't required. We also requested fresh pillows from reception on the second night, these were delivered to the room 10 minutes later with so I cannot fault the staff. The two free meals provided were amazing value and totally unexpected, as they include wine or beer and the food quality there is good, the only downside is the canteen style of the restaurant but it is a large hotel so I guess this is the best way to serve large amounts of guests.
We also used the swimming pool with the kids and both my husband and I used the gym which was really well kitted out and a good size, we went after skiing each day at 5ish and both were quiet which was fab. Finally I have to mention the on site supermarket as it was brilliant, full of delicious Italian food at reasonable prices. Although we had planned to go out for dinner each night we ended up eating in a few times as they sold king prawns and entrecôte steak - better than our local shop at home! There was also a lovely wine bar on the lower level of the hotel which was great, serving an incredible selection of wines and prosecco along with tapas plates, which we visited most nights for a drink before dinner.
The only disappointment was the wifi, we found it hard to get on even in the communal areas, but this was apparently due to a usage issue as the hotel was so busy over New Year. In a way it was quite liberating to have a break from email and internet but my husband found it really frustrating as he had work to do.
I would recommend this hotel to families like us or groups that want good value easy access skiing, it would not be so good for those with young children that are beginners or beginner skiers of any age as the walk over to ski school each morning in ski boots could be annoying.
We are looking to book next year and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floor for a great view, block f is best in our opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere

Address: Via Sauze, 14, Sestriere, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sestriere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sestriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sestriere Olympic Village is a unique space built in order to remember that Sestriere has had an hystorical role as Olympic venue. Perfectly ensconced in the natural landscape that surrounds it, the Olympic Village overlooks the breathtaking scenery of Argentera Valley and Monti della Luna Mountains. The resort has been conceived in full respect of the surrounding territory and includes 7 different buildings named from A to F plus a last block named G, easy to identify because of its big window tunnel roof. Here, it is set the global polyfunctional area which overlooks the newly open sky slopes for beginners. THE SERVICES: The Sestriere Olympic Village guarantees fabulous vacations, whether you wish to practice sports or simply to relax in the summer as well as in the winter. A fully equipped health spa fitted out with saunas, steam bath, jacuzzi, massage area; a swimming pool (12 m x 6 m) and a gym is at disposal of the guests. Our little guests have a special children recreation area which includes a mini club and entertainment activities (3-12 years old) Security is guaranteed 24 hours a day thanks to the reception and surveillance service. Each apartment is provided with a reserved indoor parking place; Ski school, ski storage, rental and maintenance are available within the premises of the Village. The other services at disposal of our guests are located in a global multifunctional area: 2 bars, self service, restaurant, pizzeria, bar Risto Grill on the roof top, wine-shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Olimpico Hotel Sestriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.