We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy holiday camp style location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere to your Saves list
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sauze, 14, Sestriere, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Sestriere
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Noisy holiday camp style location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

If we start with the negatives this venue is noisy. Mainly because they have styled the hotel around the ex Olympic village which has concrete floors and uni hall style corridors. People who refuse to put ski boots in ski locker area really do make. Noise and you can't get away from it. It's above, to the side and below you. The bedroom is against the corridor so when people return in the evening the sensor lights come on and this can wake you and after a hardcore day skiing you don't want to be disturbed. It's rather butlin style with its approach to entertainment , karaoke , bingo , cabaret and if you are used to chalet style skiing accommodation where you have mountain views from your bedroom window , your own noise and continual wifi (wifi is only free in the bar area) then this will frustrate you. Everything has to be paid on a village hotel card. You load the card with cash which is not refunded at end of the vacation. Restaurant is self service style and an evening meal will cost euro 21 pp, with pizzas around 8 euros. You can do self catering though as there is a small kitchen with two ring hob and microwave. There is no oven or toaster. There is. A Mini market in the village which sells basics. If you want to go swimming make sure you bring a swim cap as otherwise you have to buy one. The jacuzzi / sAuna etc is not free and is around 15 euros pp for each thing.
If you book with a holiday company don't automatically take their ski hire deal. We booked with crystal and they have ripped us off. There is a Ski rental place at the village hotel that had deals and the crystal shop is a fifteen minute walk, up hill which when you return with your skis is not much fun. Also ski passes, check on line first. Crystal again suggested we book through them but you can get cheaper when there.
On the positives, the skiing is fabulous, having skied in other countries, I would definitely rate the skiing around 9 out of 10. Great wide runs, un crowded resort. Good mix of blue. Red and black runs that are great for all levels of skiing. You can ski straight onto the piste from hotel, just cross the road and you are there. The Area to ski around is vast, you can also ski to France in the day. The village is clean, perfectly suitable for families and a good base for visiting the many ski areas. If you are comfortable with a holiday camp style accommodation this is great for that. The rooms are really only 2 people unless you ask for family rooms. If accommodating 3 people, the 3rd bed is a sofa which is in middle of lounge area.
Would definitely return to serestriere but not stay at village .
Would add that the trip has been very good value for money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    154
    69
    38
    30
See reviews for
154
65
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sharm el sheik
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I booked this hotel in a rush back in August for a New Year family ski trip through Crystal as the offer price was so low, and then spent the next few months dreading going after reading some of the horrendous reviews on trip advisor especially the ones about room noise and rude staff. I am now back from our holiday and I can say with confidence that these reviews are wrong, or written by fussy, unrealistic visitors as this place is amazing value for money and provided us with one of our best ski holidays on record. We took our two children, 7 and 9, both of which are confident skiers, and so we didn't take the ski school option which meant the location of the hotel, next to a 4 man chair which takes you up to the main part of Sestrierre and the gondola which whizzes you straight up and over to the Sauze D'oz, Cesana and Sansicario resorts, was perfect.
On arrival we were dropped off first in resort, checked in immediately by pleasant staff (!)and were given our room keys and could access the room straight away (at 12.30pm). The apartment was plenty big enough for the 4 of us and was on floor 4 of block F with amazing views of the slopes and mountains behind. We then headed to the ski hire shop (a 10 minute walk which was fine, after all this is supposed to be an active holiday!!!) and were served straight away, so we were having lunch slope side by 1.30 that day, which I was seriously impressed with.
I did take ear plugs just incase after some of the terrible reviews on noise but didn't wear them after the first night as they just weren't required. We also requested fresh pillows from reception on the second night, these were delivered to the room 10 minutes later with so I cannot fault the staff. The two free meals provided were amazing value and totally unexpected, as they include wine or beer and the food quality there is good, the only downside is the canteen style of the restaurant but it is a large hotel so I guess this is the best way to serve large amounts of guests.
We also used the swimming pool with the kids and both my husband and I used the gym which was really well kitted out and a good size, we went after skiing each day at 5ish and both were quiet which was fab. Finally I have to mention the on site supermarket as it was brilliant, full of delicious Italian food at reasonable prices. Although we had planned to go out for dinner each night we ended up eating in a few times as they sold king prawns and entrecôte steak - better than our local shop at home! There was also a lovely wine bar on the lower level of the hotel which was great, serving an incredible selection of wines and prosecco along with tapas plates, which we visited most nights for a drink before dinner.
The only disappointment was the wifi, we found it hard to get on even in the communal areas, but this was apparently due to a usage issue as the hotel was so busy over New Year. In a way it was quite liberating to have a break from email and internet but my husband found it really frustrating as he had work to do.
I would recommend this hotel to families like us or groups that want good value easy access skiing, it would not be so good for those with young children that are beginners or beginner skiers of any age as the walk over to ski school each morning in ski boots could be annoying.
We are looking to book next year and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floor for a great view, block f is best in our opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were a family group of 2 adults and 1 teenager and stayed here on a self-catering basis from 22-29 December 2013 booked through Crystal Ski. We have skied at various French Alpine resorts previously and will definitely return to Sestriere.
The accommodation at Olympic Village is clean and comfortable - the apartments are similar to university halls of residence and bigger than their French equivalent. There is a small supermarket, fashion shop, games area, good gym and small swimming pool (perfect for kids) all free on site. Sauna & steam room are extra. The bar and buffet restaurant are fine for occasional visits but other guests on full board bookings found the selection limited. The building is 50 metres from 2 lift stations and really convenient for skiing.
Sestriere as a resort is nice with a compact town of hotels, bars, ski shops & tourist shops. It is definitely the nicest town in the Milky Way Ski Area and well served by a full range of chair-lifts and button lifts. The restaurants, bars and shops in the Milky Way area were very reasonable and much cheaper than their french equivalents. We had a full 4-course Xmas Dinner and drinks on Xmas Day for 30 Euro each and, at the other end of the scale, 12" pizzas were from 6 Euro and 0.5 litre carafe of good house wine also 6 Euro!!
We found the skiing around Sestriere to be excellent for intermediate skiers - lots of easy and challenging long red runs. I wouldn't like to be learning there as although the nursery slopes were fine, there would be a big jump to the next stage. Plenty of off piste wooded areas but limited black runs - apart from 3 long Olympic blacks that (I understand) were really red/blacks. The Olympic Village is a 10 minute uphill walk from the town centre at altitude - fairly manageable.
All in all, we had a great time and would highly recommend this resort and ski area.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a bit of a walk from the reception so, if you want to be near the reception, r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed in Sestriere March 2013. Went for a cheapish ski holiday and got what we paid for basically. The complex is HUGE!! very clean tho and efficiently run. It was not the rustic Alpine decor that I have come to love from previous holidays. 3 of us were roomed in the most distant apartment in the building.(maybe originally assigned to the Albanian curling team??)...got lost a few times and we timed it at about 10 mins to get to reception! my friend forgot her gloves one day and i had to wait 20mins for her to make the round trip! if u get a good room u will have a fantastic stay. A very good bonus is not having to go outside it is like a 'Village'.... shops, restaurant, pool, spa etc. From what we saw of the rest of Sestriere ur not missing that much either so it was nice to have a wander round in my slippers! The prison analogy sounds harsh but the windowless hexagnol shaped,brightly colored corridors did remind me of a sci fi movie.Noticed a few people have commented on noise there was a baby in the next apartment and we thought 'uh-oh' didn't hear a peep from that side but upstairs we were disturbed by chair scraping on a few occasions. But for a nice pad to crash close to the lifts.... Excellent!

Room Tip: choose top floor not miles from reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for a week sharing a two bedroom apartment with friends. When we arrived there was an initial confusion as we were allocated a one bedroom apartment but this was quickly put right when we asked for the facilities we had booked. The bedrooms were of reasonable size with plenty of wardrobe space. The livingroom/kitchen had a good balcony and sitting area with just about room for six round the table. The kitchen has just two hotplates and a microwave, but was reasonably equipped. I was pleased to have taken our own travel kettle. Equipment did include a fold out clothes drier.

We were lucky enough to have an appartment at the front of the Villagio and the view from the balcony was superb. A couple of minor repairs were needed during our stay and these were very quickly done.

We had one breakfast and one evening meal in the restaurant, the breakfast was good, but the evening meal was just satisfactory.

The complex has an excellent gym and a good size swimming pool (no extra charges).
Car parking is in a basement garage.

The design of the building is unusual with long corridors at various levels which takes a bit of getting used to. Also the Vilagio is one of the lower buildings in Sestriere so the centre of the town is a ten minute walk uphill. It is close to the main telecabin up Mont Fraiteva which operates in summer as well as in winter and is well worth a trip. Sestriere is an excellent summer centre for the mountains and alpine meadows.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We came to spend a restful week from US and it turned out to be not pleasant at all.I think army barracks can be compared to the facilities here.Noise is loud all around with tons of young kid for activities camp.Bright lights fill the the bedroom even in the middle of the night when someone walks in the corridor,since drapings are flimsy.Beds creak,sinks do not drain well,AC makes a loud noise so you cannot sleep at night.Dishes are old in the kitchen and sparse,this is supposed to be a time share experience where I have so many good vacations in US and Canada.I had made 5 calls to this hotel before we showed up.Reception said they had a teapot since I am particular about my morning tea.Well there was a rusted battered cappuccino pot and when I asked where is my tea pot,they again sent me 2 tea cups.The furnishing is old and shower stall will not fit a mid West American.Noisy lobby till even midnight, where you cannot hear yourself speak.Staff are not helpful.The only way we could spend quality time here was when we went on walks with the entertainment staff.We were invited to a "welcome cocktail" where inspite of wearing wristbands which were supposed to be verification of our stay here,someone grabbed my glass of wine and again asked "do I really belong here?." Horrible demeaning experience.

Room Tip: do not come here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the last week of the 2013 season. We have skied all over Europe and Canada so the apartment was perfectly fine. Good size, decent fittings and all in a good state of repair. The while facility is odd in design but once you understand it it's a great place. It's right on the slopes but a hike up to the centre of town which makes it both excellent and poor at the same time for location. The staff were fantastic. Acted very quickly for things like additional quilts or busted light bulbs. The bar is excellent and a great place for a beer or a coffee at the end of the day. Staff put on silly quizzes at that time but there is no pressure to become involved. Prices were excellent for food and drink throughout The Milky Way. A smaller area than the likes of Avoriaz/Morzine or the the Valleys but more than enough to keep you skiing all day long on varied slopes. 1st visit and would happily come back to both the Villagio Olympico and Sestriere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Mr Marty
thank a lots

The best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere

Address: Via Sauze, 14, Sestriere, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sestriere
#3 Spa Hotel in Sestriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sestriere Olympic Village is a unique space built in order to remember that Sestriere has had an hystorical role as Olympic venue. Perfectly ensconced in the natural landscape that surrounds it, the Olympic Village overlooks the breathtaking scenery of Argentera Valley and Monti della Luna Mountains. The resort has been conceived in full respect of the surrounding territory and includes 7 different buildings named from A to F plus a last block named G, easy to identify because of its big window tunnel roof. Here, it is set the global polyfunctional area which overlooks the newly open sky slopes for beginners. THE SERVICES: The Sestriere Olympic Village guarantees fabulous vacations, whether you wish to practice sports or simply to relax in the summer as well as in the winter. A fully equipped health spa fitted out with saunas, steam bath, jacuzzi, massage area; a swimming pool (12 m x 6 m) and a gym is at disposal of the guests. Our little guests have a special children recreation area which includes a mini club and entertainment activities (3-12 years old) Security is guaranteed 24 hours a day thanks to the reception and surveillance service. Each apartment is provided with a reserved indoor parking place; Ski school, ski storage, rental and maintenance are available within the premises of the Village. The other services at disposal of our guests are located in a global multifunctional area: 2 bars, self service, restaurant, pizzeria, bar Risto Grill on the roof top, wine-shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Olimpico Hotel Sestriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.