We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupid building layout but very good room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere

Save Saved
You added Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sauze, 14, Sestriere, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 hotels in Sestriere
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stupid building layout but very good room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here last week with 2 mates and we were very impressed with the size of the room and the facilities in the room. Check in was a little slow and weren't aloud in our room until 5pm but all was well gave us time to collect our ski's and have a look around the town. Building layout was stupid got lost a few times in the first day before finding our bearings. Very impressed with the room though lots of room, very good shower, big balcony, lots of radiators to dry kit, own kitchen area with table to make own meals and breakfast etc, prob one of the biggest rooms i've stayed in on a ski holiday. Hotel provided 2 free meals which were both very good the only problem being the restaurant got a little busy. Hotel right next to Sestrieres main lift or the gondola to Sauze D'oulx which was perfect. Nightlife only really picked up the last couple of days and was all over the other side of town but apart from theses minor faults we had a cracking week and didn't need to complain once to the staff. Would recommend staying here and would for sure stay here again if we went back to Sestriere as it was very good value for money. Compared to what we got last year in Sauze D'oulx for the same money the room was like a mansion.

Room Tip: Booked through Crystal Ski and got an apartment in block F which sleeps 2-4 and we could not of aske...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Mr Danger,
thank you very much for sharing with the web community your past experience
My self and my team look forward to welcome you again at the Villaggio Olimpico during your winter holiday in Sestriere .

My warmest regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    146
    67
    36
    30
See reviews for
149
61
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bacau, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After a few days of vacation in the beautiful city of Milan decided to do a few days and in the mountains, where else if not in Torino Sestriere.I have no words to describe how beautiful, fun, inexpensive, and the food all the best and very cheap.We was treated very, very well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Mrs Simona,
thank a lots for your nice works .

The best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have just arrived back from a weeks family holiday and the check in was a nightmare.We arrived at midday and were told our room would be ready at 2.30 by rep when we got to hotel we were told 3.30 pm. When we went to collect key we were than told 5.30 pm. We had been travelling since 2.00am the previous day and with 2 young children this was totally unaccetable.
I then went to the rep to see if she could help out but the reception staff totally ingored her. They were very rude and when she finally got someones attention they responsed by saying that check in was after 5.00pm as their policy.However, all Italians were checkin in, it was complete chaos and when they were questioned again all I got was a shrug of the shoulders.The hotel room was basic and very noisy, skiing was great for all. However be careful to find out where the closest ski/boot locker is located as rep advised us on the wrong location which meant we were out of pocket as they would not return our money. The town itself is lovely and with plenty of amentities and is worth a visit but not at this hotel. I felt discriminated against by reception staff as they were totally rude and unhelpful however the rest of the hotel staff i.e bar staff and entertainers were very nice and accomadating but reception staff enough to put anyone off .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Mrs Helen
we are sorry about the check-in I'm speak with the reception manager about that because we are international village and I really sorry if your impression is negative.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Awful accommodation. Both apartments occupied by our group had numerous leak's in the ceiling. The apartments were dirty and and litterally falling apart with door claddings falling down and doors not closing.

The manager on site was aggressive and violent when a group of 8 did not place an order within 60 seconds. The manager removed his glasses and squared up to a member of our group and threatened to throw us out.

The only possitive was that it was easy to get out of and onto the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Gondola short walk away, this quickly gives you access to different ski areas/resorts. Enjoyed the numerous red runs of Sauze D'oulx, Sansicario & a little furthur in Claviere. At Sestriere enjoyed skiing on Motta side-furthest away from accommodation. Quiet ski area, Italian hols & virtually no queuing all week. For our party(intermediate skiers) location was great for skiing. Olympic village was better than expected! 2 free meals were good-all enjoyed pizza & buffet night entertaining!(food good aswell)
Location of appartments was timed at 12 mins to the main village area but there is the consolation of the walk back been downhill! Plenty of bars/pizzerias/restaurants in the village. The olympic village is a large complex & this can bring problems, we were on the top floor of block F(5) but were only disturbed once in the middle of the night(3am), but can appreciate others having a different experience.We received good service from staff although my son said wifi was very slow.Shop on ground floor was good. Would not hesitate to go back to Olympic Village next year we all had a great weeks skiing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

To start I have just returned from holiday with my wife and 2 children.
First day booking in was ok swift but only one key for the room and ski locker key which could only take skis. 3 of us were boarding so no locker for them it was a case of taking them to our room.
The room self catering not fully equipped but good enough to make a small meal pasta etc. no kettle you have to use a pan. The room was boiling but then went cold extra blankets were requested and received. The heating sorted but it stayed hot for the rest of the week. Like sleeping in an oven. The beds were not the best not a full night sleep all week. The heat and the noise from other guests who were up and down corridors most evenings, this was very annoying but you get what you pay for. The resort for skiing although on your doorstep not the best place but if you take the chair lift to the top and ski away it's much better. Had food twice in the hotel as they gave it free. First meal pizza. It was ok as was the second meal. But there are far better places to eat for better value. Recommend il caminetto 10058 sesteiere. We had 3 meals there and it was fantastic.
Back to the hotel it was very expensive for drinks and food so be warned.
The hotel was at the bottom of a hill which must be walked everyday for food etc think about it if you have children.
Most of the staff are friendly but there are good and bad everywhere you go.
Ski school. Well 3 boarders one ski. Lessons for boarders are all about getting you into the next group not for practising you technique etc. so they were ditched towards the mid week. If you struggle with boarding then you just get left behind as with my daughter. Not much tuition more go go go go. Skiing school for little children completely different experience 10-1300 well worth it gave my daughter plenty of confidence black runs by the end of the week.
Ski hire from the hotel school and crystal ski was at the top of the hill. Why the hire shop is not in the hotel I do not know plenty of room in there.
Swimming pool is in the gym and you have to walk through it to get to the pool. Not much else to do there pool table always occupied. Take some cards you are guaranteed to get a game then. Oh yes the Id thing. Everywhere you go to hire something like sledge or pool que you need id. Passport on hand as most of Europe has ID cards which we in the uk don't.
Think that covers it the resort is excellent maybe the apartment l is not up to parr.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The resort offers great skiing and the location is great for getting the chair lift in the morning.
Downside was that it is really noisy and the bedrooms are right onto the corridor - so you hear all the comings and goings - all night. If you are a light sleeper this is not the place for you. I have stayed at the hotel du col before and it is is lovely - but more expensive.

We also had a group of school kids staying on our floor and they were noisy - all night - and the hotel were useless at dealing with it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere

Address: Via Sauze, 14, Sestriere, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sestriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Sestriere
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Sestriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sestriere Olympic Village is a unique space built in order to remember that Sestriere has had an hystorical role as Olympic venue. Perfectly ensconced in the natural landscape that surrounds it, the Olympic Village overlooks the breathtaking scenery of Argentera Valley and Monti della Luna Mountains. The resort has been conceived in full respect of the surrounding territory and includes 7 different buildings named from A to F plus a last block named G, easy to identify because of its big window tunnel roof. Here, it is set the global polyfunctional area which overlooks the newly open sky slopes for beginners. THE SERVICES: The Sestriere Olympic Village guarantees fabulous vacations, whether you wish to practice sports or simply to relax in the summer as well as in the winter. A fully equipped health spa fitted out with saunas, steam bath, jacuzzi, massage area; a swimming pool (12 m x 6 m) and a gym is at disposal of the guests. Our little guests have a special children recreation area which includes a mini club and entertainment activities (3-12 years old) Security is guaranteed 24 hours a day thanks to the reception and surveillance service. Each apartment is provided with a reserved indoor parking place; Ski school, ski storage, rental and maintenance are available within the premises of the Village. The other services at disposal of our guests are located in a global multifunctional area: 2 bars, self service, restaurant, pizzeria, bar Risto Grill on the roof top, wine-shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Olimpico Hotel Sestriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.