We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to SKI and to have fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere

Save Saved
You added Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sauze, 14, Sestriere, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 24 hotels in Sestriere
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice place to SKI and to have fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I have been to the Olympic Village in Sestriere twice already and I am happy to notice their effort to improve the service and the overall experience.
The apartments are very nice, full of light and with a lovely terrace overlooking the mountains.
They provide daily service (bathroom, vacuuming, bed making etc.) and the bad sheets are changed twice during the day. The common parts are spotless and pretty well kept.
Just a few steps from the departure of the chair lifts, the village is a big complex with several restaurants, bars, swimming pool, gym, supermarket and beauty center.
The ski experience it’s just amazing: you have access to an incredible number of slopes being a system of different ski station all linked together. All slopes are VERY well groomed and prepared.
We have tried the "a la carte" (DiVino Olimpo" restaurant to celebrate a friend's birthday and we were very surprised by the quality of the food, of the service and the prices. the bar and the WINE BAR are really good and the personnel nice and helpful.
Unfortunately, a friend had his ski-helmet and ski mask stolen in the ski-room after he forgot them for not more than 10 minutes and the receptionist we talked with couldn’t care less (a bit of sympathy is free and makes things MUCH easier)
The reception is the only part of the experience that deserve improvement: the lack of consistency of the level of service provided is quite frustrating: you need to be lucky and deal with a nice and helpful person, otherwise, as happened to us, you get a "don't know/don't care" attitude that will make you upset.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    133
    67
    35
    29
See reviews for
137
56
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

If you stay here make sure you have a bedroom not sharing and sleeping on the bed settee. Its hard. Accommodation is basic and free flow restaurant is poor the food already cold before you get to your table as you choose starter and main at the same time. Pizzas however are of a good quality. Location near gondola and chair to Alpette good but if you can afford a hotel in village providing good food do so. This is cheap and not so cheerful. On the plus side pool and gym is good and clean

Room Tip: Rooms quite hot and noise from corridors think youth hostel not hotel. Equipment in rooms also quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

My husband, my 2 years old and I, stayed in an apartment to sleep 4 people, self catering, for one week in December, before Christmas.

The apartment was spacious with living area, bedroom, kitchen area, bathroom, and balcony. It appeared clean on arrival, but walls were worn and marked., the shower was tiny, with missing tiles, the smoke/mould smell in the room, coming out from the heating system, was unbearable. Throughout our stay we did not have any maid service at all.

The staff in general is unprofessional and disinterested. They just look like they don’t want to be there! They were completely unhelpful; I had to ask for every small little detail of our stay, and I still received the wrong information for how to access to the parking, where our apartment was, our services. And the problem wasn’t the English language as I was speaking in Italian.

The hotel has a small gym and swimming pool, but it turned out that the Jacuzzi and sauna are not part of the Olympic Village package and you have to pay extra if you want to use them for half an hour.

The local town of Sestriere is a 10 min walk, all up hill. Not the nicest town that I have seen in Italy, takes a while to get the feel for the place...has a bank and a few cash points, some restaurants and bars. Overall I would say that Sestriere is a fairly good place where you can have a good time skiing (better if you are an experienced skier). But definitely there are better places in Italy like Sauze D’Oulx or Monginevro or the Trentino Alto Adige region.

Definitely we wouldn't go to the Olympic Village again and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenford Middlesex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

average hotel, long queue at check-in, good italian food, need to paid 100 euro deposit and remember to get this back, you need to clean your room and kitchen before check-out.
THE BIGGEST PROBLEM IS THAT YOU NEED TO WALK 20 MINUTES TO SKI SCHOOL MEETING POINT UP THE HILL - VERY DIFFICULT AND DISAPPOINTED. (specially with kids)
If you want to leave equipment where ski meeting point then it cost you extra 5 Euro per ski with boots per day.
Agent Thomson never said anything

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Basic and a bit institutional, but met our needs. The rooms were very large (great for keeping all your ski gear in) and had been renovated to remove the kitchens that were there during the Olympics. As mentioned in other reviews, the space between the toilet and shower is small but was fine for us. The rooms can be difficult to find though because the numbering system is not how we expected. ie. room 299 is on the third floor and 337 is on the fifth floor. The wine bar in the basement was excellent value and a nice place to spend a few hours. The food in the canteen-style restaurant was sufficient, but not fancy. The Bellagio it is not.. but it is clean, modern and practical. We got it cheaply on a last minute deal and weren't expecting much.

The most important thing for us was that it is right next to the slopes. The bubble to Sauze D'Oulx and the chair up to Sestriere slopes are literally right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

A wonderful hotel right next the pistes. I went with my family and we all ha d a blast. We would leave the kids at the kids club and we were free to ski all day. The staff is amazing!
The structure is huge and the rooms are more like mini apartments rather than the usual hotel rooms. I have already booked for the Easter break and I got a great advanced discount. I would advise it to everyone…you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in June and had fantastic weather which made our stay excellent.

The hotel is a big concrete block, the room/apartment was not bad but somehow without atmosphere. Absolutely not problem for us as it was summer and we spent most of the time outside but it wouldn't be my choice for a winter stay. It was clean, big balcony, beautiful view. The bathroom a bit small, when you sit on the toilet you touch the shower with your knees. can't imagine "big boys".
The hotel was almost empty but I'm afraid that it's noisy when there are many people as there is echo in the halls and you can hear everything.
tha staff was very friendly and helpful.
there is an awesome public swimming pool in Sestriere and many walking tracks, don't mention nature.
The disadvantage of the summer stay is that you can hardly find any restaurant open and it's quiet a long way from other big city/town.
I would recommend if for its location and as a base for tracking. but only in summer

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere

Address: Via Sauze, 14, Sestriere, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sestriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sestriere
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Sestriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sestriere Olympic Village is a unique space built in order to remember that Sestriere has had an hystorical role as Olympic venue. Perfectly ensconced in the natural landscape that surrounds it, the Olympic Village overlooks the breathtaking scenery of Argentera Valley and Monti della Luna Mountains. The resort has been conceived in full respect of the surrounding territory and includes 7 different buildings named from A to F plus a last block named G, easy to identify because of its big window tunnel roof. Here, it is set the global polyfunctional area which overlooks the newly open sky slopes for beginners. THE SERVICES: The Sestriere Olympic Village guarantees fabulous vacations, whether you wish to practice sports or simply to relax in the summer as well as in the winter. A fully equipped health spa fitted out with saunas, steam bath, jacuzzi, massage area; a swimming pool (12 m x 6 m) and a gym is at disposal of the guests. Our little guests have a special children recreation area which includes a mini club and entertainment activities (3-12 years old) Security is guaranteed 24 hours a day thanks to the reception and surveillance service. Each apartment is provided with a reserved indoor parking place; Ski school, ski storage, rental and maintenance are available within the premises of the Village. The other services at disposal of our guests are located in a global multifunctional area: 2 bars, self service, restaurant, pizzeria, bar Risto Grill on the roof top, wine-shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Olimpico Hotel Sestriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.