We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, but not fancy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere

Save Saved
You added Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sauze, 14, Sestriere, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 hotels in Sestriere
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value, but not fancy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Basic and a bit institutional, but met our needs. The rooms were very large (great for keeping all your ski gear in) and had been renovated to remove the kitchens that were there during the Olympics. As mentioned in other reviews, the space between the toilet and shower is small but was fine for us. The rooms can be difficult to find though because the numbering system is not how we expected. ie. room 299 is on the third floor and 337 is on the fifth floor. The wine bar in the basement was excellent value and a nice place to spend a few hours. The food in the canteen-style restaurant was sufficient, but not fancy. The Bellagio it is not.. but it is clean, modern and practical. We got it cheaply on a last minute deal and weren't expecting much.

The most important thing for us was that it is right next to the slopes. The bubble to Sauze D'Oulx and the chair up to Sestriere slopes are literally right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    144
    67
    36
    29
See reviews for
145
60
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

A wonderful hotel right next the pistes. I went with my family and we all ha d a blast. We would leave the kids at the kids club and we were free to ski all day. The staff is amazing!
The structure is huge and the rooms are more like mini apartments rather than the usual hotel rooms. I have already booked for the Easter break and I got a great advanced discount. I would advise it to everyone…you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in June and had fantastic weather which made our stay excellent.

The hotel is a big concrete block, the room/apartment was not bad but somehow without atmosphere. Absolutely not problem for us as it was summer and we spent most of the time outside but it wouldn't be my choice for a winter stay. It was clean, big balcony, beautiful view. The bathroom a bit small, when you sit on the toilet you touch the shower with your knees. can't imagine "big boys".
The hotel was almost empty but I'm afraid that it's noisy when there are many people as there is echo in the halls and you can hear everything.
tha staff was very friendly and helpful.
there is an awesome public swimming pool in Sestriere and many walking tracks, don't mention nature.
The disadvantage of the summer stay is that you can hardly find any restaurant open and it's quiet a long way from other big city/town.
I would recommend if for its location and as a base for tracking. but only in summer

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Went on a ski/snowboard weekend with friends.

The room stated sleeps 4 but actuall consisted of 2 single beds in the same room and 1 pull out sofa which was supposed to sleep 2! Disgraceful.

The room was not cleaned at all, even though we paid for room only apparantly this didnt include cleaning or new towels or even new toilet roll! Disgraceful!

The internet consisted of 1 computer which was always busy and you had to pay for.

Reception can only be described as lazy and uninterested.

Questions to them such as 'excuse me, my phone doesnt have reception, do you have a hotel phone?' Replied...'No sorry'. No help at all.

'Excuse me the internets not working, when will it be fixed as i have important emails to read' 'I dont know, sorry'.

The breakfast was very average and the SAME thing EVERY day. BORING!

Eggs/Croissants/Worst bacon ever/Yoghurts/random salad things/cakes.

No toast. No cooked food apart from scrambled eggs.

Check in wasnt the best, no advice on the room or hotel, just heres your key etc. They tried to charge us 100 euro deposit for the room which we refused. Pretty much of an insult there is nothing in the room worth 100 euros!

The room has a hob, no oven, microwave and some kitchen utensils.

You could hear people walking outside and upstairs really badly!

Location was really good few metres away from nearest gondola and ski lift.

The local town a 5 min walk. Not the biggest town, takes a while to get the feel for the place...has a bank and a few cash points, some restaurants and bars.

If you want free wifi go to pinkys in the main town, decent restaurant and bar.

If you want terrible service but lovely food go to mamma lia.

If you want to be food poisoned go to costa del sur hotel in the main town. Terrible food.

Ski pass was 180 euros for 6 days

had some really good ski/snowboard hire from marcellin rent in the main town on the roundabout...all the best gear burton board, boots, helmet and bindings 100 euros for 6 days. bargain.

Overall a good place to visit but a terrible hotel.

They have the 'special' olympics there, basically for disabled people but i think they market it without reference to the disabled part...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Located right by two lifts and easy to ski to, this is a perfect location for a cheap and cheerful holiday. The standard of finish of the apartments is good and the whole place is clean and friendly. The food is wholesome and there's plenty of it. It has its own little supermarket to buy lunch and drinks. Okay it's a bit institutional - with cafeteria style catering, but if you just want to chill out, not get dressed up, and be close to the slopes, particularly if you have children, I would recommend it. If you can avoid going there during Italian school holidays and, for a good deal, book through something like lastminute.com.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

It took over an hour to check in standing in an overcrowded reception with 3 check in staff dealing with 100's of people, while at least 10 entertainment staff milling around scaring my kids. On the whole staff were unsmiling and unhelpful (shrug of shoulders was the response to most questions). Food was ok (better than the Arum where guests got food poisoning!) The hotel smelled terrible and i was horrified to learn that with four small children (including a baby) the apartments were unserviced and i had to find somewhere external to the hotel to take my rubbish. No clean towells or loo paper provided during 7 days stay and could not even get two broken lightbulbs replaced. The hotel needs a laundrette, staff with manners and a good overhaul of its check in / check out procedures. This was not the cheapest option but we certainly felt that it was a budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hemsptead
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Having just returned I wanted to advise people travelling what to expect. We travelled with Thomsons which is also part of Crystal the reps on site were brilliant. hotel check in was a pain and did seem to take forever which will happen when you are dropped of in a coach. Yes we had to pay 100 euro deposit but had no problem getting it back, the rooms were very large and very comfey. There are a few cracks and broken tiles, thats what happens when people walk around in ski boots even when asked not to. the linen and towels and beds were very very clean and the kitchen had more than enough equipment. The ski slopes were right outside the door and the hotel pool was lovely for the kids for a break, small but fun, there is also a gym and exercise classes and the on site supermarket was very good for bits and pieces. The place is a bit like a rabbit warren but like any where only takes a few days to work out the quickest routes. we have already booked to go back next half term. Oh also the extreme ski school is based there and they are fantastic for lessons. My one warning, don't go for the half board option we had a free meal there and would rather we had not bothered it was not to our liking there are lovely resturants in the town which is a walk up a steep hill rather walk up the hill at night and ski to the door than the other way round.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere

Address: Via Sauze, 14, Sestriere, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sestriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sestriere
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Sestriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sestriere Olympic Village is a unique space built in order to remember that Sestriere has had an hystorical role as Olympic venue. Perfectly ensconced in the natural landscape that surrounds it, the Olympic Village overlooks the breathtaking scenery of Argentera Valley and Monti della Luna Mountains. The resort has been conceived in full respect of the surrounding territory and includes 7 different buildings named from A to F plus a last block named G, easy to identify because of its big window tunnel roof. Here, it is set the global polyfunctional area which overlooks the newly open sky slopes for beginners. THE SERVICES: The Sestriere Olympic Village guarantees fabulous vacations, whether you wish to practice sports or simply to relax in the summer as well as in the winter. A fully equipped health spa fitted out with saunas, steam bath, jacuzzi, massage area; a swimming pool (12 m x 6 m) and a gym is at disposal of the guests. Our little guests have a special children recreation area which includes a mini club and entertainment activities (3-12 years old) Security is guaranteed 24 hours a day thanks to the reception and surveillance service. Each apartment is provided with a reserved indoor parking place; Ski school, ski storage, rental and maintenance are available within the premises of the Village. The other services at disposal of our guests are located in a global multifunctional area: 2 bars, self service, restaurant, pizzeria, bar Risto Grill on the roof top, wine-shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Olimpico Hotel Sestriere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.